Biography & autobiography

Our selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Biography & autobiography

 

In category

Personal Memoirs (60)

Literary (10)

Women (6)

True story (3)

Entertainment & Performing Arts (3)

Composers & Musicians (3)

Adventurers & Explorers (2)

Diary (2)

Artists, Architects, Photographers (2)

Military (2)

Science & Technology (1)

Historical (1)

Political (1)

Royalty (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (99)

French (3)

German (0)

Spanish (77)

Italian (29)

 

Protection

All (99)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (99)

More options

Special Deluxe: A Memoir of Life & Cars

by Neil Young

Neil Young's first memoir, Waging Heavy Peace, was an international bestseller and critical sensation. The Wall Street Journal wrote that it was "terrific: modest, honest, funny and frequently moving," while...


Salt, Sweat, Tears: The Men Who Rowed the Oceans

by Adam Rackley

A riveting first-person account and history of rowers who have attempted to navigate across the Atlantic

More people have climbed Mount Everest than have rowed across the Atlantic. For more than seventy days,...


The Prince of los Cocuyos

by Richard Blanco

Where am I from? Where do I belong? Who am I? These are the universal questions that have emerged from Richard Blanco's illuminating, story-rich poetry. Now Blanco explores these questions in this vivid account...


The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace: A Brilliant Young Man Who Left Newark for the Ivy League

by Jeff Hobbs

A heartfelt, and riveting biography of the short life of a talented young African-American man who escapes the slums of Newark for Yale University only to succumb to the dangers of the streets—and of one’s...


Fire Shut Up in My Bones

by Charles M. Blow

A  gorgeous, moving memoir of how one of America's most innovative and respected journalists found his voice by coming to terms with a painful past.


Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory

by Caitlin Doughty

A young mortician goes behind the scenes, unafraid of the gruesome (and fascinating) details of her curious profession. Most people want to avoid thinking about death, but Caitlin Doughty—a twenty-something...


Father and Son

by Marcos Giralt Torrente & Natasha Wimmer

"This is a story about two people, but I’m the only one telling it."Many authors have wrestled with the death of a father in their writing, but few have grappled with the subject as fiercely, or as powerfully,...


My Life as a Foreign Country: A Memoir

by Brian Turner

A war memoir of unusual literary beauty and power from the acclaimed poet who wrote the poem “The Hurt Locker.” In 2003, Sergeant Brian Turner crossed the line of departure with a convoy of soldiers headed...


Soldier Girls: The Battles of Three Women at Home and at War

by Helen Thorpe

From an award-winning, “meticulously observant” (The New Yorker), and “masterful” (Booklist) writer comes a groundbreaking account of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and how their military...


Going Somewhere: A Bicycle Journey Across America

by Brian Benson

Brian has a million vague life plans but zero sense of direction. So when he meets Rachel, a self-possessed woman who daydreams of bicycling across the States, he decides to follow her wherever she'll take him....


Out of Sheer Rage

by Geoff Dyer

Geoff Dyer had always wanted to write a book about D. H. Lawrence. He wanted, in fact, to write his “Lawrence book.” The problem was, he had no idea what his “Lawrence book” would be though he was determined...


Ghost Waltz

by Ingeborg Day

From the author of the classic erotic memoir Nine and a Half Weeks comes a moving and profound exploration of the legacy of war and hate as one woman courageously comes to terms with her family's painful past....


The Most Dangerous Book: The Battle for James Joyce's Ulysses

by Kevin Birmingham

"A great story-how modernism brought down the regime of censorship-told as a great story. Kevin Birmingham's imaginative scholarship brings Joyce and his world to life. There is a fresh detail on nearly every...


The Owl Who Liked Sitting on Caesar

by Martin Windrow

The story of an odd couple—a British military historian and the Tawny Owl with whom he lived for fifteen years

Martin Windrow was a war historian with little experience with pets when he adopted an owl the...


Take This Man: A Memoir

by Brando Skyhorse

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy’s turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers...


Good Hunting

by Jack Devine & Vernon Loeb

"A sophisticated, deeply informed account of real life in the real CIA that adds immeasurably to the public understanding of the espionage culture—the good and the bad." —Bob WoodwardJack Devine ran Charlie...


My Struggle: Book 3

My Struggle #3

by Karl Ove Knausgaard & Don Bartlett

The third volume—the book that made Knausgaard a phenomenon in the United States—in the addictive New York Times bestselling series

A family of four—mother, father, and two boys—move to the south coast...


Tibetan Peach Pie

by Tom Robbins

Internationally bestselling novelist and American icon Tom Robbins's long-awaited tale of his wild life and times, both at home and around the globe

Tom Robbins's warm, wise, and wonderfully weird novels–including...


A Chinaman's Chance: One Family's Journey and the Chinese American Dream

by Eric Liu

From Tony Hsieh to Amy Chua to Jeremy Lin, Chinese Americans are now arriving at the highest levels of American business, civic life, and culture. But what makes this story of immigrant ascent unique is that...


The Sea Inside

by Philip Hoare

A yearlong adventure through the world’s oceans with Philip Hoare, the award-winning author of The Whale

In colorful prose and lively line drawings, Hoare sets out to rediscover the sea and its islands, birds,...