Fiction

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (740)

French (264)

German (6)

Spanish (1065)

Italian (879)

 

Category

Delete Fiction

 

In category

Literary (349)

Short Stories (75)

Mystery & Detective (69)

Juvenile & Young Adult (56)

Historical (55)

Science Fiction (46)

Fantasy (28)

Thrillers (24)

Poetry (16)

Horror (14)

Occult & Supernatural (11)

Biographical (6)

Humorous (4)

Anthologies (multiple authors) (4)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (4)

Contemporary Women (2)

Travel writing (2)

Westerns (1)

Action & Adventure (1)

LGBT (1)

 

Protection

All (740)

DRM Free (44)

DRM (696)

More options

Fade Into You

by Nikki Darling

  • This coming-of-age novel deals with growing up with a mix-raced identity in the San Gabriel Valley. Written in lush but irreverent prose, Fade into You—a reference to main character Nikki's love for marijuana—is...


The Three Button Trick And Other Stories

by Nicola Barker

Nicola Barker weaves humor and tragedy through this fresh and original collection, as her characters struggle to find love, independence, and fulfillment in this new addition to the Ecco Art of the Story series...


Farewell, My Orange

by Iwaki Kei & Meredith McKinney

Winner of the Kenzabur? ?e Prize

Two immigrants, Salimah and Sayuri, navigate isolation, a new language, and devastating loss on their way to a lifelong friendship. Far from her native country of Nigeria and...


The Females

by Wolfgang Hilbig & Isabel Fargo Cole

What can an irascible East German tell us about how society shapes relations between the sexes? A lot it turns out. Acclaimed as one of Wolfgang Hilbig’s major works, The Females finds the lauded author focusing...


The Little Snake

by A.L. Kennedy

"Some time ago, perhaps before you were even born, a young girl was walking in her garden. She may have been called Mary - that's what most of the stories say. Mary was a little bit taller than the other girls...


Evening in Paradise

by Lucia Berlin

"Berlin probably deserved a Pulitzer Prize." --Dwight Garner, The New York Times

NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE. Named a Fall Read by Buzzfeed, ELLE, TIME, Nylon, The Boston Globe, Vulture, Newsday,...


Thirty Days

by Annelies Verbeke & Liz Waters

  • Protagonist Alphonse is a Senegalese immigrant who uproots his life in Brussels to become a handyman in a rural district in Flanders. Likeable and charismatic, people cannot help but reveal their secrets, desires...

  • The Feral Detective

    by Jonathan Lethem

    Jonathan Lethem’s first detective novel since Motherless Brooklyn

    “One of America’s greatest storytellers.” —Washington Post

    Phoebe Siegler first meets Charles Heist in a shabby trailer on the eastern...


    Family Trust

    by Kathy Wang

    Some of us are more equal than others....

    Meet Stanley Huang: father, husband, ex-husband, man of unpredictable tastes and temper, aficionado of all-inclusive vacations and bargain luxury goods, newly diagnosed...


    Silence is My Mother Tongue

    by Sulaiman Addonia

    A searing novel of immigration, judgement and sacrifice and the powerful bonds forged in the crucible of refugee camp life from an internationally-acclaimed writer

    Saba, the novel’s heroine, arrives in an East...


    Everything Under

    by Daisy Johnson

    SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 MAN BOOKER PRIZE

    An eerie, watery reimagining of the Oedipus myth set on the canals of Oxford, from the author of Fen

    The dictionary doesn’t contain every word. Gretel, a lexicographer...


    Destroy All Monsters

    by Jeff Jackson

    “At some point, I began to think of it as an ancient folk tale. It’s fine work, with a kind of scattered narrative set within a tight frame. Fast-moving throughout—fragile characters who suggest a bleak...


    Melmoth

    by Sarah Perry

    “Masterful…scary and smart, working as a horror story but also a philosophical inquiry into the nature of will and love. Perry did as much in her richly praised novel The Essex Serpent, but this is a deeper,...


    Trinity

    by Louisa Hall

    From the acclaimed author of Speak comes a kaleidoscopic novel about Robert Oppenheimer—father of the atomic bomb—as told by seven fictional characters

    J. Robert Oppenheimer was a brilliant scientist, a...


    Unsheltered

    by Barbara Kingsolver

    New York Times bestseller

    The New York Times bestselling author of Flight Behavior, The Lacuna, and The Poisonwood Bible and recipient of numerous literary awards—including the National Humanities Medal, the...


    The Witch Of Willow Hall: A spellbinding historical fiction debut for Halloween 2018 perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches

    by Hester Fox

    ‘This debut recalls Georgette Heyer, with extra spookiness’ The Times ‘Beautifully written… The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

    The...


    The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel

    by Alyssa Palombo

    "Marrying forbidden love, devoted friendship, and the supernatural with Palombo's signature passion for music, storytelling, and heartbreaking choices, The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel enchants with a concoction...


    The Flame

    by Leonard Cohen

    NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER

    Named a Fall Read by Vogue, Esquire, The Washington Post, TIME, Vanity Fair and O, the Oprah Magazine. One of Daily Mail and Financial Times's Best Books of 2018.

    “There are very,...


    Broken Things

    by Lauren Oliver

    With all the intensity and whiplash turns of Sharp Objects and One of Us Is Lying, this engrossing psychological thriller by New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver is an unforgettable, mesmerizing...


    Amreekiya

    by Lena Mahmoud

    Isra Shadi, a twenty-one-year-old woman of mixed Palestinian and white descent, lives in California with her paternal amu (uncle), amtu (aunt), and cousins after the death of her mother and abandonment by her...