Fiction

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (573)

French (187)

German (3)

Spanish (963)

Italian (773)

 

Category

Delete Fiction

 

In category

Literary (252)

Short Stories (60)

Mystery & Detective (57)

Juvenile & Young Adult (48)

Science Fiction (41)

Historical (38)

Fantasy (24)

Thrillers (18)

Poetry (14)

Horror (10)

Occult & Supernatural (9)

Anthologies (multiple authors) (4)

Biographical (4)

Humorous (2)

Contemporary Women (2)

Travel writing (2)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (2)

Action & Adventure (1)

Media Tie-In (1)

Westerns (1)

 

Protection

All (573)

DRM Free (39)

DRM (534)

More options

The Invention of Ana

by Mikkel Rosengaard

Combining the infectious narration of Nick Hornby’s Funny Girl, the philosophical lyricism of Roberto Bolaño’s The Savage Detectives, and the mesmerizing power of Anna North’s The Life and Death of Sophie...


We Are Taking Only What We Need

by Stephanie Powell Watts

In these powerfully rendered, prizewinning stories, working-class African Americans across the South strive for meaning and search for direction in lives shaped by forces beyond their control

The ten stories...


Winterfolk

by Janel Kolby

This gorgeous and lyrical debut novel is perfect for fans of Nova Ren Suma, Laura Ruby, and Nina LaCour.

Rain doesn’t wish on stars anymore.

For as long as she can remember, her home has been among the Winterfolk,...


Theory of Shadows

by Paolo Maurensig & Anne Milano Appel

The strange circumstances surrounding the death of the world chess champion and alleged Nazi collaborator Alexander Alekhine, as investigated by a literary grand master

On the morning of March 24, 1946, the world...


Neon in Daylight

by Hermione Hoby

"What do you get when a writer of extreme intelligence, insight, style and beauty chronicles the lives of self-absorbed hedonists—The Great Gatsby, Bright Lights, Big City, and now Neon in Daylight. Hermione...


The Vanishing Princess

by Jenny Diski

The only story collection from the beloved Jenny Diski—darkly funny, subversive, sexy, and eccentric tales from one of the most original and intelligent voices of our time

 

“Mordant and talon-sharp.” —Dwight...


We the Dreamers

by Josefina Vázquez Mota

DREAMer: a young visionary, an undocumented immigrant, who wants

to achieve the American Dream.

As of August 2016 it was estimated that some 35 million Mexicans were living in the United States, 23.5 million...


The Country Girls: Three Novels and an Epilogue

by Edna O'Brien

A treasure of world literature back in print, featuring a new introduction by Eimear McBride

The country girls are Caithleen “Kate” Brady and Bridget “Baba” Brennan, and their story begins in the repressive...


Debriefing

by Susan Sontag

A collection of one of our most powerful intellectual’s short fiction

Debriefing collects all of Susan Sontag’s shorter fiction, a form she turned to intermittently throughout her writing life. The book ranges...


Future Home of the Living God

by Louise Erdrich

A New York Times Notable Book of 2017

Louise Erdrich, the New York Times bestselling, National Book Award-winning author of LaRose and The Round House, paints a startling portrait of a young woman fighting for...


Storm for the Living and the Dead

by Charles Bukowski

A timeless selection of some of Charles Bukowski’s best unpublished and uncollected poems

Charles Bukowski was a prolific writer who produced countless short stories, novels, and poems that have reached beyond...


Wonder Valley

by Ivy Pochoda

NPR Best Book of 2017

Los Angeles Times Best Fiction Pick

Refinery29 Best Book of the Year

BOLO Books Top Read of 2017

“Destined to be a classic L.A. novel.”—Michael Connelly

When a teen runs away from his...


Strange Weather in Tokyo

by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell

  • This is a reissue of a poetic, compact novel by celebrated Japanese author, Hiromi Kawakami (the original 2012 Counterpoint edition was titled The Briefcase (9781582435992); Strange Weather in Tokyo is the title...

  • Queen of Spades

    by Michael Shou-Yung Shum

  • Ann Patchett, at Powell’s in September 2016 during her Commonwealth tour, said she wants to read "a smart funny book that isn't tragic at the end but doesn't make you feel dumb. That book is one we can sell...

  • The Miranda

    by Geoff Nicholson

    The volunteer would complain, of course. I suppose he couldn’t help it. He felt angry or self-righteous or betrayed. He said this was not what he’d signed up for, this was breaking a promise, breaking the...


    Her Body and Other Parties

    by Carmen Maria Machado

    Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

    “[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

    “In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales,...


    Advice from the Lights

    by Stephen Burt

    Stephen is sometimes Stephanie and sometimes wonders how his past and her past are their own collective memory

    Advice from the Lights is a brilliant and candid exploration of gender and identity and a series...


    Manhattan Beach: A Novel

    by Jennifer Egan

    * Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

    * New York Times Bestseller

    * A San Francisco Chronicle Top 10 Book of the Year

    * A New York Times Notable Book and a Washington Post Notable...


    Here in Berlin

    by Cristina Garcia

    Here in Berlin is a portrait of a city through snapshots, an excavation of the stories and ghosts of contemporary Berlin—its complex, troubled past still pulsing in the air as it was during World War II. Critically...


    The Blackbird Season: A Novel

    by Kate Moretti

    “Exceptional…a deliciously sinister glimpse into the duplicity of small-town lives and the ease with which people turn on each other when tragedy comes calling. Moretti's tale of jealousy and obsession is...