Fiction / English literature

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Fiction

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

In category

Literary (545)

Short Stories (106)

Science Fiction (84)

Mystery & Detective (84)

Historical (63)

Fantasy (48)

Thrillers (27)

Horror (21)

Occult & Supernatural (17)

Espionage (6)

Humorous (4)

Media Tie-In (3)

Biographical (3)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (2)

Westerns (1)

Juvenile & Young Adult (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (750)

British (185)

Irish (31)

 

Language

English (976)

French (70)

German (1)

Spanish (149)

Italian (262)

 

Protection

All (976)

DRM Free (35)

DRM (941)

More options

The Country Girls: Three Novels and an Epilogue

by Edna O'Brien

A treasure of world literature back in print, featuring a new introduction by Eimear McBride

The country girls are Caithleen “Kate” Brady and Bridget “Baba” Brennan, and their story begins in the repressive...


Debriefing

by Susan Sontag

A collection of one of our most powerful intellectual’s short fiction

Debriefing collects all of Susan Sontag’s shorter fiction, a form she turned to intermittently throughout her writing life. The book ranges...


Future Home of the Living God

by Louise Erdrich

Louise Erdrich, the New York Times bestselling, National Book Award-winning author of LaRose and The Round House, paints a startling portrait of a young woman fighting for her life and her unborn child against...


Wonder Valley

by Ivy Pochoda

“Destined to be a classic L.A. novel.”—Michael Connelly

When a teen runs away from his father’s mysterious commune, he sets in motion a domino effect that will connect six characters desperate for hope...


A Natural: A Novel

by Ross Raisin

An exquisitely crafted coming-of-age novel set in the high-stakes world of English soccer—for readers of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding.

After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at...


Turtles All the Way Down

by John Green

A wrenching and revelatory novel. The New York Times

Green finds the language to describe the indescribable. . . . A must-read for those struggling with mental illness, or for their friends and family.”...


The Power

by Naomi Alderman

"The Power is our era's The Handmaid's Tale." --Ron Charles, Washington Post

"Novels based on premises like the one at the core of The Power can quickly become little more than thought experiments, but Alderman...


Queen of Spades

by Michael Shou-Yung Shum

  • Ann Patchett, at Powell’s in September 2016 during her Commonwealth tour, said she wants to read "a smart funny book that isn't tragic at the end but doesn't make you feel dumb. That book is one we can sell...

  • The Miranda

    by Geoff Nicholson

    The volunteer would complain, of course. I suppose he couldn’t help it. He felt angry or self-righteous or betrayed. He said this was not what he’d signed up for, this was breaking a promise, breaking the...


    Manhattan Beach: A Novel

    by Jennifer Egan

    LONGLISTED for the NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION

    The daring and magnificent novel from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad.

    “Immensely satisfying…an old-fashioned page-turner,...


    Dogs at the Perimeter: A Novel

    by Madeleine Thien

    The second novel by the Man Booker Prize shortlisted author Madeleine Thien is "beautiful, deeply moving, [and] addresses universal questions" (Independent).

    Set in Cambodia during the regime of the-Khmer Rouge...


    Her Body and Other Parties

    by Carmen Maria Machado

    Finalist for the National Book Award for Fiction

    “[These stories] vibrate with originality, queerness, sensuality and the strange.”—Roxane Gay

    “In these formally brilliant and emotionally charged tales,...


    Here in Berlin

    by Cristina Garcia

    Here in Berlin is a portrait of a city through snapshots, an excavation of the stories and ghosts of contemporary Berlin—its complex, troubled past still pulsing in the air as it was during World War II. Critically...


    Five-Carat Soul

    by James McBride

    “A pinball machine zinging with sharp dialogue, breathtaking plot twists and naughty humor... McBride at his brave and joyous best.” —New York Times Book Review

    Exciting new fiction from James McBride,...


    Provenance

    by Ann Leckie

    Following her record-breaking debut trilogy, Ann Leckie, winner of the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke and Locus Awards, returns with an enthralling new novel of power, theft, privilege and birthright.

    A power-driven...


    The Blackbird Season: A Novel

    by Kate Moretti

    “Exceptional…a deliciously sinister glimpse into the duplicity of small-town lives and the ease with which people turn on each other when tragedy comes calling. Moretti's tale of jealousy and obsession is...


    The Ninth Hour

    by Alice Mcdermott

    A magnificent new novel from one of America’s finest writersa powerfully affecting story spanning the twentieth century of a widow and her daughter and the nuns who serve their Irish-American community...


    Absolutely Golden

    by D. Foy

    “D. Foy is an American hero and this book will slay you.” —Sarah Gerard

    “Pure, mind-blowing enchantment.” —Nelly Reifler

    “Gyrates seamlessly between the hilarious and profound.” —Augustus...


    Solar Bones

    by Mike McCormack

    Longlisted for the 2017 Man Booker Prize

    Winner of the Goldsmiths Prize

    Winner of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Novel of the Year 

    An Irish Times Book Club Choice

    "With stylistic gusto, and in rare,...


    Bluebird, Bluebird

    by Attica Locke

    A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice A Washington Post 10 Best Thrillers and Mysteries of 2017 A Kirkus Best Mysteries and Thrillers of 2017

    "In Bluebird, Bluebird Attica Locke had both mastered the...