Historical

Our selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (7)

Modern (<1799) (5)

Middle Age (3)

XXth century (<1945) (3)

1914-1918 (2)

1939-1945 (2)

Ancient History (1)

 

Language

English (68)

French (11)

German (0)

Spanish (77)

Italian (107)

 

Protection

All (68)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (68)

More options

The After Party: A Novel

by Anton DiSclafani

One of the Best New Books for Summer 2016 – Good Housekeeping

One of the 3 Beach Reads You Won’t Be Able to Put Down – O Magazine 

“DiSclafani’s story sparkles like the jumbo diamonds her characters...


The Rope: A Novel

by Kanan Makiya

From the best-selling author of Republic of Fear, here is a gritty and unflinching novel about Iraqi failure in the wake of the 2003 American invasion, as seen through the eyes of a Shi‘ite militiaman whose...


Half a Lifelong Romance

by Eileen Chang & Karen S. Kingsbury

Shanghai, 1930s. Shen Shijun, a young engineer, has fallen in love with his colleague, the beautiful Gu Manzhen. He is determined to resist his family’s efforts to match him with his wealthy cousin so that...


The Wake

by Paul Kingsnorth

"A work that is as disturbing as it is empathetic, as beautiful as it is riveting." —Eimear McBride, New Statesman

In the aftermath of the Norman Invasion of 1066, William the Conqueror was uncompromising and...


Last Bus to Wisdom: A Novel

by Ivan Doig

Named a Best Book of the Year by the Seattle Times and Kirkus Review

The final novel from a great American storyteller.

Donal Cameron is being raised by his grandmother, the cook at the legendary Double W ranch...


Landfalls

by Naomi J. Williams

The gripping story of a dramatic eighteenth-century voyage of discovery

In her wildly inventive debut novel, Naomi J. Williams reimagines the historical La Pérouse expedition, a voyage of exploration that left...


Crooked Heart

by Lissa Evans

Paper Moon meets the Blitz in this original black comedy, set in World War II England, chronicling an unlikely alliance between a small time con artist and a young orphan evacuee.

When Noel Bostock—aged ten,...


Death and Mr. Pickwick

by Stephen Jarvis

Death and Mr. Pickwick is a vast, richly imagined, Dickensian work about the rough-and-tumble world that produced an author who defined an age. Like Charles Dickens did in his immortal novels, Stephen Jarvis...


The Anchoress

by Robyn Cadwallader

England, 1255. What could drive a girl on the cusp of womanhood to lock herself away from the world forever?

Sarah is just seventeen when she chooses to become an anchoress, a holy woman shut away in a cell that...


The Revenant: The bestselling book that inspired the award-winning movie

by Michael Punke

THE BOOK THAT INSPIRED THE AWARD-WINNING MOVIE

Winner of 3 OSCARS including BEST DIRECTOR and BEST ACTOR

Winner of 5 BAFTAS including Best Actor, Best Director and Best Film

Winner of the 2016 Golden Globes...


Viper Wine: A Novel

by Hermione Eyre

“Using an alchemy all of her own, Eyre’s postmodern take on the 17th century renders it dazzlingly fresh and contemporary.” —Guardian (UK)

 

Venetia Stanley was the great beauty of her day, so dazzling...


The Sympathizer: A Novel

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2016, Edgar Allan Poe Award Best First Novel 2016, Center for Fiction First Novel Prize 2015

by Viet Thanh Nguyen

The winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, as well as five other awards, The Sympathizer is the breakthrough novel of the year. With the pace and suspense of a thriller and prose that has been compared...


John the Pupil

by David Flusfeder

“A superbly written and intellectually stimulating novel.”—The Independent (London)

Since he was a young boy, John has studied at the Franciscan monastery outside Oxford, under the tutelage of friar and...


A Small Circus: A Novel

by Hans Fallada

It is the summer of 1929, and in a small German town, a storm is brewing.

Tredup, a shabby reporter working for the Pomeranian Chronicle, leads a precarious existence . . . until he takes some photographs that...


The Boston Girl: A Novel

by Anita Diamant

New York Times bestseller!

An unforgettable novel about a young Jewish woman growing up in Boston in the early twentieth century, told “with humor and optimism…through the eyes of an irresistible heroine”...


A Map of Betrayal: A Novel

by Ha Jin

A Christian Science Monitor Best Book of the Year

From the award-winning author of Waiting and War Trash: a riveting tale of espionage and conflicted loyalties that spans half a century in the entwined histories...


Gutenberg's Apprentice

by Alix Christie

An enthralling literary debut that evokes one of the most momentous events in history, the birth of printing in medieval Germany—a story of invention, intrigue, and betrayal, rich in atmosphere and historical...


The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah...


The Story of Land and Sea

by Katy Simpson Smith

Set in a small coastal town in North Carolina during the waning years of the American Revolution, this incandescent debut novel follows three generations of family—fathers and daughters, mother and son, master...


August 1914

The Red Wheel #1

by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn & H. T. Willetts

In his monumental narrative of the outbreak of the First World War and the ill-fated Russian offensive into East Prussia, Solzhenitsyn has written what Nina Krushcheva, in The Nation, calls "a dramatically new...