Historical

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (38)

French (22)

German (0)

Spanish (81)

Italian (125)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (5)

Middle Age (3)

XIXth century (1)

Ancient History (1)

1914-1918 (1)

XXth century (<1945) (1)

1939-1945 (1)

 

Protection

All (38)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (38)

More options

Theory of Shadows

by Paolo Maurensig & Anne Milano Appel

The strange circumstances surrounding the death of the world chess champion and alleged Nazi collaborator Alexander Alekhine, as investigated by a literary grand master

On the morning of March 24, 1946, the world...


Golden Hill

by Francis Spufford

A Wall Street Journal Top Ten Fiction Book of 2017 * A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of the Year * A Seattle Times Favorite Book of 2017 * An NPR Best Book of 2017 * A Kirkus Reviews Best Historical Fiction...


The Essex Serpent

by Sarah Perry

A Kirkus Review Best Book of 2017 and a Washington Post Notable Work of Fiction. Winner of the British Book Awards Fiction Book of the Year and overall Book of the Year, selected as the Waterstones Book of the...


Isadora

by Amelia Gray

Using the scaffolding of Isadora Duncan’s life and the stuff of her spirit, Amelia Gray delivers an incredibly imaginative portrait of the artist

In 1913, the restless world sat on the brink of unimaginable...


The Adventures of John Carson in Several Quarters of the World

by Brian Doyle

"An affectionate homage...a loving reconstruction of an era of storytelling now lost." —The New York Times

"[A] triumph...If a writer is going to put on Stevenson’s voice, he’d better, as the poets say,...


Heretics

by Leonardo Padura & Anna Kushner

"Padura’s Heretics spans and defies literary categories . . . ingenious." —Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air

A sweeping novel of art theft, anti-Semitism, contemporary Cuba, and crime from a renowned Cuban author,...


The Cauliflower

by Nicola Barker

“Maddening, funny, playful and beautiful…Barker has once again invigorated an old form -- the historical biographical novel -- through electric wit and sheer bedazzlement.”

--The Washington Post

To the world,...


Margaret the First: A Novel

by Danielle Dutton

One of both Flavorwire and The Millions Most Anticipated Books of 2016

Margaret the First dramatizes the life of Margaret Cavendish, the shy, gifted, and wildly unconventional 17th-century Duchess. The eccentric...


The Wake

by Paul Kingsnorth

"A work that is as disturbing as it is empathetic, as beautiful as it is riveting." —Eimear McBride, New Statesman

In the aftermath of the Norman Invasion of 1066, William the Conqueror was uncompromising and...


Landfalls

by Naomi J. Williams

The gripping story of a dramatic eighteenth-century voyage of discovery from Naomi J. Williams

In her wildly inventive debut novel, Naomi J. Williams reimagines the historical La Pérouse expedition, a voyage...


Crooked Heart

by Lissa Evans

Paper Moon meets the Blitz in this original black comedy, set in World War II England, chronicling an unlikely alliance between a small time con artist and a young orphan evacuee.

When Noel Bostock—aged ten,...


Death and Mr. Pickwick

by Stephen Jarvis

Death and Mr. Pickwick is a vast, richly imagined, Dickensian work about the rough-and-tumble world that produced an author who defined an age. Like Charles Dickens did in his immortal novels, Stephen Jarvis...


The Anchoress

by Robyn Cadwallader

England, 1255. What could drive a girl on the cusp of womanhood to lock herself away from the world forever?

Sarah is just seventeen when she chooses to become an anchoress, a holy woman shut away in a cell that...


The Revenant: The bestselling book that inspired the award-winning movie

by Michael Punke

Winner of 3 OSCARS including BEST DIRECTOR and BEST ACTOR

Winner of 5 BAFTAS including Best Actor, Best Director and Best Film

Winner of the 2016 Golden Globes for Best Motion Picture – Drama, Best Actor –...


The Sympathizer: A Novel

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2016, Edgar Allan Poe Award Best First Novel 2016, Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Fiction 2016, Center for Fiction First Novel Prize 2015

by Viet Thanh Nguyen

The winner of the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, as well as six other awards, The Sympathizer is the breakthrough novel of the year. With the pace and suspense of a thriller and prose that has been compared...


John the Pupil

by David Flusfeder

“A superbly written and intellectually stimulating novel.”—The Independent (London)

Since he was a young boy, John has studied at the Franciscan monastery outside Oxford, under the tutelage of friar and...


Gutenberg's Apprentice

by Alix Christie

An enthralling literary debut that evokes one of the most momentous events in history, the birth of printing in medieval Germany—a story of invention, intrigue, and betrayal, rich in atmosphere and historical...


The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah...


The Story of Land and Sea

by Katy Simpson Smith

Set in a small coastal town in North Carolina during the waning years of the American Revolution, this incandescent debut novel follows three generations of family—fathers and daughters, mother and son, master...


August 1914

The Red Wheel #1

by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn & H. T. Willetts

In his monumental narrative of the outbreak of the First World War and the ill-fated Russian offensive into East Prussia, Solzhenitsyn has written what Nina Krushcheva, in The Nation, calls "a dramatically new...