Literary

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

English (545)

Asian (25)

Hispanophone (22)

Germanophone (17)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (11)

Middle eastern (10)

African (10)

Francophone (10)

Nordic (8)

Slavic (5)

Italian (4)

Lusophone (4)

Hungarian (2)

Dutch (2)

 

Language

English (682)

French (67)

German (2)

Spanish (289)

Italian (167)

 

Protection

All (682)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (682)

More options

The Country Girls: Three Novels and an Epilogue

by Edna O'Brien

A treasure of world literature back in print, featuring a new introduction by Eimear McBride

The country girls are Caithleen “Kate” Brady and Bridget “Baba” Brennan, and their story begins in the repressive...


Future Home of the Living God

by Louise Erdrich

Louise Erdrich, the New York Times bestselling, National Book Award-winning author of LaRose and The Round House, paints a startling portrait of a young woman fighting for her life and her unborn child against...


Strange Weather in Tokyo

by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Markin Powell

  • This is a reissue of a poetic, compact novel by celebrated Japanese author, Hiromi Kawakami (the original 2012 Counterpoint edition was titled The Briefcase (9781582435992); Strange Weather in Tokyo is the title...

  • A Natural: A Novel

    by Ross Raisin

    An exquisitely crafted coming-of-age novel set in the high-stakes world of English soccer—for readers of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding.

    After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at...


    Turtles All the Way Down

    by John Green

    A wrenching and revelatory novel. The New York Times

    Green finds the language to describe the indescribable. . . . A must-read for those struggling with mental illness, or for their friends and family.”...


    The Power

    by Naomi Alderman

    "The Power is our era's The Handmaid's Tale." --Ron Charles, Washington Post

    "Novels based on premises like the one at the core of The Power can quickly become little more than thought experiments, but Alderman...


    Queen of Spades

    by Michael Shou-Yung Shum

  • Ann Patchett, at Powell’s in September 2016 during her Commonwealth tour, said she wants to read "a smart funny book that isn't tragic at the end but doesn't make you feel dumb. That book is one we can sell...

  • The Miranda

    by Geoff Nicholson

    The volunteer would complain, of course. I suppose he couldn’t help it. He felt angry or self-righteous or betrayed. He said this was not what he’d signed up for, this was breaking a promise, breaking the...


    Manhattan Beach: A Novel

    by Jennifer Egan

    LONGLISTED for the NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR FICTION

    The daring and magnificent novel from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of A Visit from the Goon Squad.

    “Immensely satisfying…an old-fashioned page-turner,...


    Dogs at the Perimeter: A Novel

    by Madeleine Thien

    The second novel by the Man Booker Prize shortlisted author Madeleine Thien is "beautiful, deeply moving, [and] addresses universal questions" (Independent).

    Set in Cambodia during the regime of the-Khmer Rouge...


    Here in Berlin

    by Cristina Garcia

    Here in Berlin is a portrait of a city through snapshots, an excavation of the stories and ghosts of contemporary Berlin—its complex, troubled past still pulsing in the air as it was during World War II. Critically...


    The Ninth Hour

    by Alice Mcdermott

    A magnificent new novel from one of America’s finest writersa powerfully affecting story spanning the twentieth century of a widow and her daughter and the nuns who serve their Irish-American community...


    The Dance by the Canal

    by Kerstin Hensel & Jen Calleja

    A tragicomic satire from the heart of East Germany.

    Gabriela grows up in the East German town of Leibnitz. Her father is a famous surgeon, her mother a respected society hostess. The girl, however, struggles...


    Go, Went, Gone

    by Jenny Erpenbeck & Susan Bernofsky

    An unforgettable German bestseller about the European refugee crisis: “Erpenbeck will get under your skin” (Washington Post Book World) Go, Went, Gone is the masterful new novel by the acclaimed German writer...


    Absolutely Golden

    by D. Foy

    “D. Foy is an American hero and this book will slay you.” —Sarah Gerard

    “Pure, mind-blowing enchantment.” —Nelly Reifler

    “Gyrates seamlessly between the hilarious and profound.” —Augustus...


    Solar Bones

    by Mike McCormack

    Longlisted for the 2017 Man Booker Prize

    Winner of the Goldsmiths Prize

    Winner of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Novel of the Year 

    An Irish Times Book Club Choice

    "With stylistic gusto, and in rare,...


    Forest Dark

    by Nicole Krauss

    National Bestseller

    A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2017

    "A brilliant novel. I am full of admiration." —Philip Roth

    "One of America’s most important novelists" (New York Times), the award-winning, New York...


    Norma: A novel

    by Sofi Oksanen

    From the internationally best-selling author of Purge and When the Doves Disappeared, a spellbinding new novel set in present-day Helsinki, about a young woman with a fantastical secret who is trying to solve...


    The Golden House: A Novel

    by Salman Rushdie

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A modern American epic set against the panorama of contemporary politics and culture—a hurtling, page-turning mystery that is equal parts The Great Gatsby and The Bonfire of the...


    Sourdough

    by Robin Sloan

    In his much-anticipated new novel, Robin Sloan does for the world of food what he did for the world of books in Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

    Lois Clary is a software engineer at General Dexterity, a San...