Non-Fiction

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Non-Fiction

 

In category

Biography & autobiography (202)

Social science (110)

History (73)

Literary collections (60)

Arts (37)

Science and Technics (20)

News and investigations (18)

Literary essay (14)

Nature, recreation and sports (8)

Human Science (7)

Business & economics (6)

Health & fitness (5)

Religion (4)

Travel (4)

 

Language

English (543)

French (31)

German (0)

Spanish (778)

Italian (156)

 

Protection

All (543)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (543)

More options

Dreaming the Beatles

by Rob Sheffield

Rob Sheffield, the Rolling Stone columnist and bestselling author of Love Is a Mix Tape offers an entertaining, unconventional look at the most popular band in history, the Beatles, exploring what they mean...


The New Urban Crisis: How Our Cities Are Increasing Inequality, Deepening Segregation, and Failing the Middle Class¿and What We Can Do About It

by Richard Florida

In recent years, the young, educated, and affluent have surged back into cities, reversing decades of suburban flight and urban decline. And yet all is not well, Richard Florida argues in The New Urban Crisis...


Too Much and Not the Mood

by Durga Chew-Bose

One of Vulture's "25 of the Most Exciting Book Releases for 2017"

One of Nylon's "50 Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2017"

An entirely original portrait of a young writer shutting out the din in order to find her...


Willoughbyland

by Matthew Parker

At the beginning of the 1650s, wrecked by plague and civil war, England was in ruins. Yet shimmering on the horizon was a vision of paradise called Willoughbyland.

When Sir Walter Raleigh set out to South America...


The Lowells of Massachusetts

by Nina Sankovitch

The Lowells of Massachusetts were a remarkable family. They were settlers in the New World in the 1600s, revolutionaries creating a new nation in the 1700s, merchants and manufacturers building prosperity in...


Sunshine State

by Sarah Gerard

Paris Review Staff Pick • A Chicago Tribune Exciting Book for 2017 • A Rolling Stone Culture Index Reccomendation • A Buzzfeed Most Exciting Book for 2017 • A The Millions Great 2017 Preview...


Easternization: Asia's Rise and America's Decline From Obama to Trump and Beyond

by Gideon Rachman

From the winner of the 2016 Orwell Prize and the European Press Prize for Commentator of the Year, a provocative analysis of how a new era of global instability has begun, as the flow of wealth and power turns...


The Draw

by Lee Siegel

A Publishers Weekly Book of the Week

The Draw is a coming-of-age story about a boy striving to make his way up through society and out of a family that has been emotionally and psychologically devastated by economic...


Somebody with a Little Hammer: Essays

by Mary Gaitskill

From one of the most singular presences in American fiction comes a searingly intelligent book of essays on matters literary, social, cultural, and personal. Whether she’s writing about date rape or political...


A Really Big Lunch

by Jim Harrison

“[A] culinary combo plate of Hunter S. Thompson, Ernest Hemingway, Julian Schnabel, and Sam Peckinpah . . . Harrison writes with enough force to make your knees buckle and with infectious zeal that makes you...


The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

by Ariel Levy

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention—for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion

When Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia...


Tell Me How It Ends

by Valeria Luiselli & Jon Lee Anderson

"Part treatise, part memoir, part call to action, Tell Me How It Ends inspires not through a stiff stance of authority, but with the curiosity and humility Luiselli has long since established." —Annalia Luna,...


The House of Memory: Reflections on Youth and War

by John Freely

An engaging, funny, and tender memoir from a man of ninety years: of growing up poor in a Brooklyn and Ireland that now exist only in memory, and of serving in the China/Burma/India theater during World War...


Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions

by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

New York Times Best Seller

A Skimm Reads Pick

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today--written as a letter to a friend.

A few...


South and West: From a Notebook

by Joan Didion

From the best-selling author of the National Book Award-winning The Year of Magical Thinking: two extended excerpts from her never-before-seen notebooks--writings that offer an illuminating glimpse into the...


Down City: A Daughter's Story of Love, Memory, and Murder

by Leah Carroll

Like James Ellroy's, My Dark Places, DOWN CITY is a gripping narrative built of memory and reportage, and Leah Carroll's portrait of Rhode Island is sure to take a place next Mary Karr's portrayal of her childhood...


Fallen Glory

by James Crawford

An inviting, fascinating compendium of twenty-one of history's most famous lost places, from the Tower of Babel to the Twin Towers

Buildings are more like us than we realize. They can be born into wealth or poverty,...


Flâneuse

by Lauren Elkin

The New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

The flâneur is the quintessentially masculine figure of privilege and leisure who strides the capitals of the world with abandon. But it is the flâneuse who captures...


Dear Friend, from My Life I Write to You in Your Life

by Yiyun Li

In her first memoir, award-winning novelist Yiyun Li offers a journey of recovery through literature: a letter from a writer to like-minded readers.

“A meditation on the fact that literature itself lives and...


Other People: Takes & Mistakes

by David Shields

An intellectually thrilling and emotionally wrenching investigation of otherness: the need for one person to understand another person completely, the impossibility of any such absolute knowing, and the erotics...