Non-Fiction

Our selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Non-Fiction

 

In category

Biography & autobiography (194)

Social science (105)

History (71)

Literary collections (53)

Arts (35)

Science and Technics (19)

News and investigations (18)

Literary essay (14)

Nature, recreation and sports (8)

Human Science (7)

Business & economics (6)

Health & fitness (5)

Travel (4)

Religion (4)

 

Language

English (519)

French (31)

German (0)

Spanish (754)

Italian (168)

 

Protection

All (519)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (519)

More options

Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**One of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017**

**One of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**

Beth Macy, author of Factory Man...


Substance

by Peter Hook

Includes full set lists not included in the physical edition.

In this final installment of his internationally bestselling three-part memoir—including The Hacienda and Unknown Pleasures—British rocker Peter...


The Pen and the Brush: How Passion for Art Shaped Nineteenth-Century French Novels

by Anka Muhlstein & Adriana Hunter

A scintillating glimpse into the lives of acclaimed writers and artists and their inspiring, often surprising convergences, from the author of Monsieur Proust's Library

 

With the wit and penetration well known...


The Upstarts: How Uber, Airbnb, and the Killer Companies of the New Silicon Valley Are Changing the World

by Brad Stone

A look deep inside the new Silicon Valley, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Everything Store

Ten years ago, the idea of getting into a stranger's car, or a walking into a stranger's home, would...


The Men in My Life

by Patricia Bosworth

Acclaimed biographer Patricia Bosworth recalls her emotional coming of age in 1950s New York in this profound and powerful memoir, a story of family, marriage, tragedy, Broadway, and art, featuring a rich cast...


Creating Freedom: The Lottery of Birth, the Illusion of Consent, and the Fight for Our Future

by Raoul Martinez

The ideal of freedom is at the heart of our political and economic system. It is foundational to our sense of justice, our way of life, our conception of what it is to be human. But are we free in the way that...


The Spider and the Fly

by Claudia Rowe

“Extraordinarily suspenseful and truly gut-wrenching. . . . A must-read.”Gillian Flynn, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Gone Girl

In this superb work of literary true crime—a spellbinding...


WHAT WE DO NOW: Standing Up for Your Values in Trump's America

by Dennis Johnson & Valerie Merians

The election of Donald Trump to be the 45th President of the United States of America shocked and dismayed progressives across the country. What We Do Now, a collection of passionate manifestos by some of the...


Tears We Cannot Stop

by Michael Eric Dyson

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post •...


No Wall Too High

by Xu Hongci & Erling Hoh

"It was impossible. All of China was a prison in those days."

Mao Zedong’s labor reform camps, known as the laogai, were notoriously brutal. Modeled on the Soviet Gulag, they subjected their inmates to backbreaking...


In the Great Green Room

by Amy Gary

The extraordinary life of the woman behind the beloved children’s classics Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny comes alive in this fascinating biography of Margaret Wise Brown. Margaret’s books have sold...


Home and Away

by Karl Ove Knausgaard, Fredrik Ekelund, Don Bartlett & Seán Kinsella

Two world-class writers reveal themselves to be the ultimate soccer fans in these collected letters

Karl Ove Knausgaard is sitting at home in Skåne with his wife, four small children, and dog. He is watching...


The House of the Dead: Siberian Exile Under the Tsars

by Daniel Beer

A visceral, hundred-year history of the vast Russian penal colony.

 

It was known as 'the vast prison without a roof.' From the beginning of the nineteenth century until the Russian Revolution, the tsars exiled...


War Against War: The American Fight for Peace, 1914-1918

by Michael Kazin

The untold story of the movement that came close to keeping the United States out of the First World War.

This book is about the Americans who tried to stop their nation from fighting in one of history’s most...


The Wood for the Trees: One Man's Long View of Nature

by Richard Fortey

From the author of Earth: An Intimate History, an exuberant "biography" of four acres of woodland, evoking a cosmos of living and inanimate things and imagining its millennia of existence

A few years ago, award-winning...


Other Minds

by Peter Godfrey-Smith

Although mammals and birds are widely regarded as the smartest creatures on earth, it has lately become clear that a very distant branch of the tree of life has also sprouted higher intelligence: the cephalopods,...


Against Empathy

by Paul Bloom

New York Post Best Book of 2016

We often think of our capacity to experience the suffering of others as the ultimate source of goodness. Many of our wisest policy-makers, activists, scientists, and philosophers...


A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women: Essays on Art, Sex, and the Mind

by Siri Hustvedt

A compelling and radical collection of essays on art, feminism, neuroscience, psychology, and philosophy from prize-winning novelist Siri Hustvedt, the acclaimed author of The Blazing World and What I Loved....


The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom

by John Pomfret

A remarkable history of the two-centuries-old relationship between the United States and China, from the Revolutionary War to the present day

From the clipper ships that ventured to Canton hauling cargos of American...


The Feud: Vladimir Nabokov, Edmund Wilson, and the End of a Beautiful Friendship

by Alex Beam

The Feud is the deliciously ironic (and sad) tale of how two literary giants destroyed their friendship in a fit of mutual pique and egomania.

In 1940, Edmund Wilson was the undisputed big dog of American letters....