Non-Fiction

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Non-Fiction

 

In category

Biography & autobiography (215)

Social science (112)

History (77)

Literary collections (68)

Arts (39)

Science and Technics (20)

Literary essay (20)

News and investigations (20)

Nature, recreation and sports (10)

Human Science (8)

Business & economics (6)

Health & fitness (5)

Travel (4)

Religion (4)

 

Language

English (579)

French (31)

German (0)

Spanish (826)

Italian (155)

 

Protection

All (579)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (579)

More options

Dying: A Memoir

by Cory Taylor

A deeply affecting meditation on dying and a wise tribute to life

At the age of sixty, Cory Taylor is dying of melanoma-related brain cancer. Her illness is no longer treatable: she now weighs less than her...


The Wrong Way to Save Your Life

by Megan Stielstra

From an important new American writer comes this powerful collection of personal essays on fear, creativity, art, faith, academia, the Internet, and justice.

In this poignant and inciting collection of literary...


What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women and the Food That Tells Their Stories

by Laura Shapiro

"Fascinating." Moira Hodgson, Wall Street Journal

"How lucky for us readers that Shapiro has been listening so perceptively for decades to the language of food.”

Maureen Corrigan, Fresh Air

Six  “mouthwatering”...


The Art of Death

by Edwidge Danticat

A moving reflection on a subject that touches us all, by the bestselling author of Claire of the Sea Light

Edwidge Danticat’s The Art of Death: Writing the Final Story is at once a personal account of her mother...


Woolly: The True Story of the Quest to Revive One of History's Most Iconic Extinct Creatures

by Ben Mezrich

Science fiction becomes reality in this Jurassic Park-like story of the genetic resurrection of an extinct species—the woolly mammoth—by the bestselling author of The Accidental Billionaires and The 37th...


Bugged

by David MacNeal

"Creepy, beautiful, icky and amazing." —Penny Le Couteur, author of Napoleon's Button

Insects have been shaping our ecological world and plant life for over 400 million years. In fact, our world is essentially...


The Genius of Jane Austen

by Paula Byrne

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that...


Housman Country

by Peter Parker

A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

A captivating exploration of A. E. Housman and the influence of his particular brand of Englishness

A. E. Housman’s A Shropshire Lad made little impression when it...


Blind Spot

by Teju Cole & Siri Hustvedt

In this innovative synthesis of words and images, the award-winning author of Open City and photography critic for The New York Times Magazine combines two of his great passions.

One of Time’s Best Non-Fiction...


You Don't Have to Say You Love Me: A Memoir

by Sherman Alexie

The Instant New York Times Bestseller

One of the most anticipated books of 2017--Entertainment Weekly and Bustle

A searing, deeply moving memoir about family, love, loss, and forgiveness from the critically acclaimed,...


The Songs We Know Best

by Karin Roffman

The first biography of an American master

The Songs We Know Best, the first comprehensive biography of the early life of John Ashbery—the winner of nearly every major American literary award—reveals the unusual...


Have Black Lives Ever Mattered?

by Mumia Abu-Jamal

“This collection of short meditations, written from a prison cell, captures the past two decades of police violence that gave rise to Black Lives Matter while digging deeply into the history of the United States....


1944 Diary

by Hans Keilson & Damion Searls

[1944 Diary] is a deeply personal account, made even more remarkable that it was written during World War II and the horrors of the Holocaust . . . A moving and fascinating read." —Library Journal

In 2010,...


We Crossed a Bridge and It Trembled

by Wendy Pearlman

Reminiscent of the work of Nobel Prize winner Svetlana Alexievich, an astonishing collection of intimate wartime testimonies and poetic fragments from a cross-section of Syrians whose lives have been transformed...


Black Detroit

by Herb Boyd

The author of Baldwin’s Harlem looks at the evolving culture, politics, economics, and spiritual life of Detroit—a blend of memoir, love letter, history, and clear-eyed reportage that explores the city’s...


Theft by Finding: Diaries (1977-2002)

by David Sedaris

One of the most anticipated books of 2017: Boston Globe, New York Times Book Review, New York's "Vulture", The Week, Bustle, BookRiot

David Sedaris tells all in a book that is, literally, a lifetime in the making...


Kingdom of Olives and Ash

by Michael Chabon & Ayelet Waldman

A groundbreaking collection of essays by celebrated international writers bears witness to the human cost of fifty years of Israeli occupation of the West Bank and Gaza.

In Kingdom of Olives and Ash, Michael...


Meet Me in the Bathroom

by Lizzy Goodman

Joining the ranks of the classics Please Kill Me, Our Band Could Be Your Life, and Can’t Stop Won’t Stop, an intriguing oral history of the post-9/11 decline of the old-guard music industry and rebirth of...


Murder In Matera

by Helene Stapinski

“A murder mystery, a model of investigative reporting, a celebration of the fierce bonds that hold families together through tragedies…Murder in Matera is a gem.” San Francisco Chronicle

"Tantalizing"...


Yawn

by Mary Mann

The incisive and often hilarious story of one of our most interesting cultural phenomena: boredom

It’s the feeling your grandma told you was only experienced by boring people. Some people say they’re dying...