Non-Fiction

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Non-Fiction

 

In category

Biography & autobiography (197)

Social science (108)

History (71)

Literary collections (56)

Arts (36)

Science and Technics (20)

News and investigations (18)

Literary essay (14)

Nature, recreation and sports (8)

Human Science (7)

Business & economics (6)

Health & fitness (5)

Religion (4)

Travel (4)

 

Language

English (529)

French (31)

German (0)

Spanish (759)

Italian (154)

 

Protection

All (529)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (529)

More options

The House of Memory: Reflections on Youth and War

by John Freely

An engaging, funny, and tender memoir from a man of ninety years: of growing up poor in a Brooklyn and Ireland that now exist only in memory, and of serving in the China/Burma/India theater during World War...


Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions

by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

New York Times Best Seller

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today--written as a letter to a friend.

A few years ago, Chimamanda...


South and West: From a Notebook

by Joan Didion

From the best-selling author of the National Book Award-winning The Year of Magical Thinking: two extended excerpts from her never-before-seen notebooks--writings that offer an illuminating glimpse into the...


Fallen Glory

by James Crawford

An inviting, fascinating compendium of twenty-one of history's most famous lost places, from the Tower of Babel to the Twin Towers

Buildings are more like us than we realize. They can be born into wealth or poverty,...


Flâneuse

by Lauren Elkin

Amazon Best Books of the Month (March 2017)

The New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

Financial Times, New Statesman and The Guardian Best Books of 2016

The flâneur is the quintessentially masculine figure...


Dear Friend, from My Life I Write to You in Your Life

by Yiyun Li

In her first memoir, award-winning novelist Yiyun Li offers a journey of recovery through literature: a letter from a writer to like-minded readers.

“A meditation on the fact that literature itself lives and...


Other People: Takes & Mistakes

by David Shields

An intellectually thrilling and emotionally wrenching investigation of otherness: the need for one person to understand another person completely, the impossibility of any such absolute knowing, and the erotics...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books...


300 Arguments

by Sarah Manguso

A brilliant and exhilarating sequence of aphorisms from one of our greatest essayists

There will come a time when people decide you’ve had enough of your grief, and they’ll try to take it away from you.

Bad...


Substance

by Peter Hook

Includes full set lists not included in the physical edition.

In this final installment of his internationally bestselling three-part memoir—including The Hacienda and Unknown Pleasures—British rocker Peter...


The Pen and the Brush: How Passion for Art Shaped Nineteenth-Century French Novels

by Anka Muhlstein & Adriana Hunter

A scintillating glimpse into the lives of acclaimed writers and artists and their inspiring, often surprising convergences, from the author of Monsieur Proust's Library

 

With the wit and penetration well known...


The Upstarts: How Uber, Airbnb, and the Killer Companies of the New Silicon Valley Are Changing the World

by Brad Stone

A look deep inside the new Silicon Valley, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Everything Store

Ten years ago, the idea of getting into a stranger's car, or a walking into a stranger's home, would...


The Men in My Life

by Patricia Bosworth

Acclaimed biographer Patricia Bosworth recalls her emotional coming of age in 1950s New York in this profound and powerful memoir, a story of family, marriage, tragedy, Broadway, and art, featuring a rich cast...


Creating Freedom: The Lottery of Birth, the Illusion of Consent, and the Fight for Our Future

by Raoul Martinez

The ideal of freedom is at the heart of our political and economic system. It is foundational to our sense of justice, our way of life, our conception of what it is to be human. But are we free in the way that...


Reality Is Not What It Seems: The Journey to Quantum Gravity

by Carlo Rovelli, Simon Carnell & Erica Segre

“The man who makes physics sexy . . . the scientist they’re calling the next Stephen Hawking.” The Times Magazine

From the New York Times–bestselling author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics, a closer...


The Spider and the Fly

by Claudia Rowe

“Extraordinarily suspenseful and truly gut-wrenching. . . . A must-read.”Gillian Flynn, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Gone Girl

In this superb work of literary true crime—a spellbinding...


WHAT WE DO NOW: Standing Up for Your Values in Trump's America

by Dennis Johnson & Valerie Merians

The National Bestseller

The election of Donald Trump to be the 45th President of the United States of America shocked and dismayed progressives across the country. What We Do Now, a collection of passionate manifestos...


Refinery Town: Big Oil, Big Money, and the Remaking of an American City

by Steve Early & Bernie Sanders

The People vs. Big Oil—how a working-class company town harnessed the power of local politics to reclaim their community

Home to one of the largest oil refineries in the state, Richmond, California, was once...


Tears We Cannot Stop

by Michael Eric Dyson

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED...


No Wall Too High

by Xu Hongci & Erling Hoh

"It was impossible. All of China was a prison in those days."

Mao Zedong’s labor reform camps, known as the laogai, were notoriously brutal. Modeled on the Soviet Gulag, they subjected their inmates to backbreaking...