Social science / Political science

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (21)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (29)

Italian (6)

 

Category

Delete Political science

 

In category

City Planning & Urban Development (4)

Political Freedom & Security (4)

Economic Conditions (2)

Political Ideologies (2)

Labor & Industrial Relations (1)

Social Policy (1)

International Relations (1)

 

Protection

All (21)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (21)

More options

Fascism: A Warning

by Madeleine Albright

#1 New York Times Bestseller

Best Books of 2018 --The Economist

A personal and urgent examination of Fascism in the twentieth century and how its legacy shapes today’s world, written by one of America’s most...


American Fix

by Ryan Hampton

Nearly every American knows someone who has been affected by the opioid crisis. Addiction is a trans-partisan issue that impacts individuals from every walk of life. Millions of Americans, tired of watching...


The Poisoned City

by Anna Clark

When the people of Flint, Michigan, turned on their faucets in April 2014, the water pouring out was poisoned with lead and other toxins.

Through a series of disastrous decisions, the state government had switched...


Gigged

by Sarah Kessler

"With deep reporting and graceful storytelling, Sarah Kessler reveals the ground truth of a key part of the American workforce. Her analysis is both astute and nuanced, making GIGGED essential reading for anyone...


Towards a Gay Communism

by Mario Mieli

First published in Italian in 1977, Mario Mieli's groundbreaking book is an early landmark of revolutionary queer theory - now available for the first time in a complete and unabridged English translation. *BR**BR*Among...


Talking to My Daughter About the Economy

by Yanis Varoufakis & Jacob Moe

In Talking to My Daughter About the Economy, activist Yanis Varoufakis, Greece’s former finance minister and the author of the international bestseller Adults in the Room, pens a series of letters to his young...


Nasty Women

by Samhita Mukhopadhyay & Kate Harding

Twenty-Three Leading Feminist Writers on Protest and Solidarity

When 53 percent of white women voted for Donald Trump and 94 percent of black women voted for Hillary Clinton, how can women unite in Trump’s...


Border

Saltire Award for Scottish Non-Fiction Book of the Year 2017, Saltire Award for Scottish Book of the Year 2017

by Kapka Kassabova

“Remarkable: a book about borders that makes the reader feel sumptuously free.” —Peter Pomerantsev

In this extraordinary work of narrative reportage, Kapka Kassabova returns to Bulgaria, from where she...


Vanishing New York

by Jeremiah Moss

"ESSENTIAL READING FOR FANS OF JANE JACOBS, JOSEPH MITCHELL, PATTI SMITH, LUC SANTE AND CHEAP PIEROGI."--VANITY FAIR

An unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

WINNER OF THE OHIOANA BOOK AWARDS AND FINALIST FOR THE 87TH CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARDS | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: New York Post...


Tears We Cannot Stop

by Michael Eric Dyson

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED...


The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom

by John Pomfret

A remarkable history of the two-centuries-old relationship between the United States and China, from the Revolutionary War to the present day

From the clipper ships that ventured to Canton hauling cargos of American...


A Rage for Order

Lionel Gelber Prize 2017

by Robert F. Worth

The definitive work of literary journalism on the Arab Spring and its troubled aftermath

In 2011, a wave of revolution spread through the Middle East as protesters demanded an end to tyranny, corruption, and...


One of Us

by Asne Seierstad & Sarah Death

A harrowing and thorough account of the massacre that upended Norway, and the trial that helped put the country back together

On July 22, 2011, Anders Behring Breivik detonated a bomb outside government buildings...


No Man's Land

by Elizabeth D. Samet

As the post-9/11 wars wind down, a literature professor at West Point explores what it means for soldiers, and our country, to be caught between war and peace

Elizabeth D. Samet, a professor of English at West...


The Inevitable City

by Betsy Seifter, Scott Cowen & Walter Isaacson

After seven years of service as the president of Tulane University, Scott Cowen watched the devastation of his beloved New Orleans at the hands of Hurricane Katrina. When federal, state, and city officials couldn't...


No Place to Hide

by Glenn Greenwald

The New York Times Bestseller

In May 2013, Glenn Greenwald set out for Hong Kong to meet an anonymous source who claimed to have astonishing evidence of pervasive government spying and insisted on communicating...


Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China

National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2014

by Evan Osnos

Pulitzer Prize in General Nonfiction finalist

Winner of the 2014 National Book Award in nonfiction.

An Economist Best Book of 2014.

A vibrant, colorful, and revelatory inner history of China during a moment of...


No Good Men Among the Living

by Anand Gopal

Told through the lives of three Afghans, the stunning tale of how the United States had triumph in sight in Afghanistan—and then brought the Taliban back from the dead

In a breathtaking chronicle, acclaimed...


The Unwinding

National Book Award for Non-Fiction 2013

by George Packer

The 2013 National Book Award Winner

A New York Times Bestseller

Selected by New York Times' critic Dwight Garner as a Favorite Book of 2013

A New York Times Notable Book of 2013

A Washington Post Best Political...