Social science

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (73)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (119)

Italian (28)

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Political science (20)

Sociology (19)

Feminism & Feminist Theory (11)

Future Studies (5)

Slavery (3)

Agriculture and food (3)

Discrimination & Race Relations (2)

Criminology (2)

Military Science (2)

Disasters & Disaster Relief (1)

Regional Studies (1)

Media Studies (1)

Customs & Traditions (1)

 

Protection

All (73)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (73)

More options

Talking to My Daughter About the Economy

by Yanis Varoufakis & Jacob Moe

In Talking to My Daughter About the Economy, activist Yanis Varoufakis, Greece’s former finance minister and the author of the international bestseller Adults in the Room, pens a series of letters to his young...


Barracoon

by Zora Neale Hurston, Deborah G. Plant & Alice Walker

A major literary event: a newly published work from the author of the American classic Their Eyes Were Watching God, with a foreword from Pulitzer Prize-winning author Alice Walker, brilliantly illuminates...


Not That Bad

by Roxane Gay

New York Times Bestseller

Edited and with an introduction by Roxane Gay, the New York Times bestselling and deeply beloved author of Bad Feminist and Hunger, this anthology of first-person essays tackles...


The View from Flyover Country

by Sarah Kendzior

NEW YORK TIMES and MIBA BESTSELLER

From the St. Louis–based journalist often credited with first predicting Donald Trump’s presidential victory.

"A collection of sharp-edged, humanistic pieces about the American...


Two Sisters

by Asne Seierstad & Seán Kinsella

The riveting true story of two sisters’ journey to the Islamic State and the father who tries to bring them home

Two Sisters, by the international bestselling author Åsne Seierstad, tells the unforgettable...


Don't Call Me Princess

by Peggy Orenstein

The New York Times bestselling author of Girls & Sex and Cinderella Ate My Daughter delivers her first ever collection of essays—funny, poignant, deeply personal and sharply observed pieces, drawn from three...


The Rise of Yeast

by Nicholas P. Money

From breakfast toast to evening wine, yeast is the microscopic thing that we cannot live without. We knew what yeast did as an invisible brewer and baker long before we had a clue about the existence of microorganisms....


Eloquent Rage

by Brittney Cooper

Roxane Gay: "I encourage you to check out Eloquent Rage out now."

Joy Reid, Cosmopolitan: "A dissertation on black women’s pain and possibility."

Damon Young: "Like watching the world’s best Baptist preacher...


All About Love

by bell hooks

THE ACCLAIMED FIRST VOLUME IN HER "LOVE SONG TO THE NATION"

“The word ‘love’ is most often defined as a noun, yet . . . we would all love better if we used it as a verb,” writes bell hooks as she comes...


Bunk

by Kevin Young

Longlisted for the National Book Award for Nonfiction

“There Kevin Young goes again, giving us books we greatly need, cleverly disguised as books we merely want. Unexpectedly essential.”—Marlon James

Award-winning...


The Book of Resting Places

by Thomas Mira y Lopez

In the aftermath of his father's untimely death and his family's indecision over what to do with the remains, Thomas Mira y Lopez became obsessed with the type and variety of places where we lay the dead to...


Slaves in the Family

by Edward Ball

Fifteen years after its hardcover debut, the FSG Classics reissue of the celebrated work of narrative nonfiction that won the National Book Award and changed the American conversation about race, with a new...


Ghosts of the Tsunami

by Richard Lloyd Parry

Named one of the best books of 2017 by The Guardian, NPR, GQ, The Economist, Bookforum, Amazon, and Lit Hub

The definitive account of what happened, why, and above all how it felt, when catastrophe hit Japan—by...


Nasty Women

by Samhita Mukhopadhyay & Kate Harding

Twenty-Three Leading Feminist Writers on Protest and Solidarity

When 53 percent of white women voted for Donald Trump and 94 percent of black women voted for Hillary Clinton, how can women unite in Trump’s...


Border

by Kapka Kassabova

“Remarkable: a book about borders that makes the reader feel sumptuously free.” —Peter Pomerantsev

In this extraordinary work of narrative reportage, Kapka Kassabova returns to Bulgaria, from where she...


Vanishing New York

by Jeremiah Moss

"ESSENTIAL READING FOR FANS OF JANE JACOBS, JOSEPH MITCHELL, PATTI SMITH, LUC SANTE AND CHEAP PIEROGI."--VANITY FAIR

An unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to...


Have Black Lives Ever Mattered?

by Mumia Abu-Jamal

“This collection of short meditations, written from a prison cell, captures the past two decades of police violence that gave rise to Black Lives Matter while digging deeply into the history of the United States....


Flâneuse

by Lauren Elkin

FINALIST FOR THE PEN/DIAMONSTEIN-SPIELVOGEL AWARD FOR THE ART OF THE ESSAY

A New York Times Notable Book of 2017

The flâneur is the quintessentially masculine figure of privilege and leisure who strides the capitals...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

FINALIST FOR THE OHIOANA BOOK AWARDS AND THE 87TH CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARDS | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: New York PostNewsweek...


Tears We Cannot Stop

by Michael Eric Dyson

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED...