Social science

Our selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Political science (27)

Sociology (27)

Feminism & Feminist Theory (17)

Agriculture and food (9)

Future Studies (7)

Criminology (3)

Military Science (3)

Slavery (2)

Disasters & Disaster Relief (2)

Espionage (2)

Social Work (2)

Regional Studies (1)

Customs & Traditions (1)

Media Studies (1)

 

Language

English (105)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (86)

Italian (17)

 

Protection

All (105)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (105)

More options

Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**One of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017**

**One of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books Coming in February 2017**

Beth Macy, author of Factory Man...


WHAT WE DO NOW: Standing Up for Your Values in Trump's America

by Dennis Johnson & Valerie Merians

The National Bestseller

The election of Donald Trump to be the 45th President of the United States of America shocked and dismayed progressives across the country. What We Do Now, a collection of passionate manifestos...


Tears We Cannot Stop

by Michael Eric Dyson

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: The Washington Post •...


The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom

by John Pomfret

A remarkable history of the two-centuries-old relationship between the United States and China, from the Revolutionary War to the present day

From the clipper ships that ventured to Canton hauling cargos of American...


They Can't Kill Us All: Ferguson, Baltimore, and a New Era in America's Racial Justice Movement

by Wesley Lowery

A New York Times bestseller

A New York Times Editors' Choice

"Essential reading."--Junot Diaz

"Electric...so well reported, so plainly told and so evidently the work of a man who has not grown a callus on his heart."--Dwight...


Rebel Crossings: New Women, Free Lovers, and Radicals in Britain and the United States

by Sheila Rowbotham

The transatlantic story of six radical pioneers at the turn of the twentieth century

Rebel Crossings relates the interweaving lives of four women and two men as they journey from the nineteenth to the twentieth...


Dragons in Diamond Village: Tales of Resistance from Urbanizing China

by David Bandurski

“David Bandurski is a modern-day Marco Polo taking us into the heart of new China.” —Kevin Sites, author of In the Hot Zone

China’s explosive modernization has led to a unique phenomenon: voraciously-growing...


The Attention Merchants: The Epic Scramble to Get Inside Our Heads

by Tim Wu

From Tim Wu, author of the award-winning The Master Switch ( a New Yorker and Fortune Book of the Year) and who coined the term "net neutrality”—a revelatory, ambitious and urgent account of how the capture...


In Wartime: Stories from Ukraine

by Tim Judah

From one of the finest journalists of our time comes a definitive, boots-on-the-ground dispatch from the front lines of the conflict in Ukraine.

 

Ever since Ukraine’s violent 2014 revolution, followed by...


Future Sex

by Emily Witt

A funny, fresh, and moving antidote to conventional attitudes about sex and the single woman

Emily Witt is single and in her thirties. Up until a few years ago, she still envisioned her sexual experience “eventually...


My Own Words

by Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Mary Hartnett & Wendy W. Williams

The first book from Ruth Bader Ginsburg since becoming a Supreme Court Justice in 1993—a witty, engaging, serious, and playful collection of writings and speeches from the woman who has had a powerful and...


Timekeepers: How the World Became Obsessed With Time

by Simon Garfield

Not so long ago we timed our lives by the movement of the sun. These days our time arrives atomically and insistently, and our lives are propelled by the notion that we will never have enough of the one thing...


Trainwreck: The Women We Love to Hate, Mock, and Fear . . . and Why

by Sady Doyle

She’s everywhere once you start looking for her: the trainwreck. 

 

She’s Britney Spears shaving her head, Whitney Houston saying, “crack is whack,” and Amy Winehouse, dying in front of millions. But...


Rad Women Worldwide: Artists and Athletes, Pirates and Punks, and Other Revolutionaries Who Shaped History

by Kate Schatz & Miriam Klein Stahl

Educational and inspirational, this gift-worthy New York Times bestseller from the authors of Rad American Women A-Z, is a bold, illustrated collection of 40 biographical profiles showcasing extraordinary...


Homo Deus

by Yuval Noah Harari

Yuval Noah Harari, author of the critically-acclaimed New York Times bestseller and international phenomenon Sapiens, returns with an equally original, compelling, and provocative book, turning his focus toward...


Close to Home: A Materialist Analysis of Women's Oppression

by Christine Delphy, Diana Leonard & Rachel Hills

Classic analysis of gender relations and patriarchy under capitalism

Close to Home is the classic study of family, patriarchal ideologies, and the politics and strategy of women’s liberation. On the table...


How Everything Became War and the Military Became Everything: Tales from the Pentagon

by Rosa Brooks

The first serious book to examine what happens when the ancient boundary between war and peace is erased.

Once, war was a temporary state of affairs—a violent but brief interlude between times of peace. Today,...


The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks about Race

by Jesmyn Ward

National Book Award winner Jesmyn Ward takes James Baldwin’s 1963 examination of race in America, The Fire Next Time, as a jumping off point for this groundbreaking collection of essays and poems about race...


Sex Object

by Jessica Valenti

New York Times Bestseller

NPR Best Book of 2016

“Sharp and prescient… The appeal of Valenti’s memoir lies in her ability to trace objectification through her own life, and to trace what was for a long time...


Unforbidden Pleasures

by Adam Phillips

Much has been written of the forbidden pleasures. But what of the "unforbidden" pleasures?

Unforbidden Pleasures is the singular new book from Adam Phillips, the author of Missing Out, Going Sane, and On Balance...