Social science

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Political science (30)

Sociology (28)

Feminism & Feminist Theory (19)

Agriculture and food (9)

Future Studies (7)

Criminology (3)

Military Science (3)

Espionage (2)

Social Work (2)

Slavery (2)

Regional Studies (2)

Disasters & Disaster Relief (2)

Discrimination & Race Relations (1)

Media Studies (1)

 

Language

English (110)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (90)

Italian (20)

 

Protection

All (110)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (110)

More options

The New Urban Crisis: How Our Cities Are Increasing Inequality, Deepening Segregation, and Failing the Middle Class¿and What We Can Do About It

by Richard Florida

In recent years, the young, educated, and affluent have surged back into cities, reversing decades of suburban flight and urban decline. And yet all is not well, Richard Florida argues in The New Urban Crisis...


Easternization: Asia's Rise and America's Decline From Obama to Trump and Beyond

by Gideon Rachman

From the winner of the 2016 Orwell Prize and the European Press Prize for Commentator of the Year, a provocative analysis of how a new era of global instability has begun, as the flow of wealth and power turns...


Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions

by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

New York Times Best Seller

A Skimm Reads Pick

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today--written as a letter to a friend.

A few...


Flâneuse

by Lauren Elkin

The New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

The flâneur is the quintessentially masculine figure of privilege and leisure who strides the capitals of the world with abandon. But it is the flâneuse who captures...


Why I Am Not a Feminist: A Feminist Manifesto

by Jessa Crispin

Outspoken critic Jessa Crispin delivers a searing rejection of contemporary feminism . . . and a bracing manifesto for revolution.

Are you a feminist? Do you believe women are human beings and that they deserve...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books...


WHAT WE DO NOW: Standing Up for Your Values in Trump's America

by Dennis Johnson & Valerie Merians

The National Bestseller

The election of Donald Trump to be the 45th President of the United States of America shocked and dismayed progressives across the country. What We Do Now, a collection of passionate manifestos...


Refinery Town: Big Oil, Big Money, and the Remaking of an American City

by Steve Early & Bernie Sanders

The People vs. Big Oil—how a working-class company town harnessed the power of local politics to reclaim their community

Home to one of the largest oil refineries in the state, Richmond, California, was once...


Tears We Cannot Stop

by Michael Eric Dyson

NOW A NEW YORK TIMES, PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY, INDIEBOUND, LOS ANGELES TIMES, WASHINGTON POST, CHRONICLE HERALD, SALISBURY POST, GUELPH MERCURY TRIBUNE, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED...


The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom

by John Pomfret

A remarkable history of the two-centuries-old relationship between the United States and China, from the Revolutionary War to the present day

From the clipper ships that ventured to Canton hauling cargos of American...


They Can't Kill Us All: Ferguson, Baltimore, and a New Era in America's Racial Justice Movement

by Wesley Lowery

LA Times winner for The Christopher Isherwood Prize for Autobiographical Prose

A New York Times bestseller

A New York Times Editors' Choice

"Essential reading."--Junot Diaz

"Electric...so well reported, so plainly...


Rebel Crossings: New Women, Free Lovers, and Radicals in Britain and the United States

by Sheila Rowbotham

The transatlantic story of six radical pioneers at the turn of the twentieth century

Rebel Crossings relates the interweaving lives of four women and two men as they journey from the nineteenth to the twentieth...


Dragons in Diamond Village: Tales of Resistance from Urbanizing China

by David Bandurski

“David Bandurski is a modern-day Marco Polo taking us into the heart of new China.” —Kevin Sites, author of In the Hot Zone

China’s explosive modernization has led to a unique phenomenon: voraciously-growing...


The Attention Merchants: The Epic Scramble to Get Inside Our Heads

by Tim Wu

From Tim Wu, author of the award-winning The Master Switch ( a New Yorker and Fortune Book of the Year) and who coined the term "net neutrality”—a revelatory, ambitious and urgent account of how the capture...


In Wartime: Stories from Ukraine

by Tim Judah

From one of the finest journalists of our time comes a definitive, boots-on-the-ground dispatch from the front lines of the conflict in Ukraine.

 

Ever since Ukraine’s violent 2014 revolution, followed by...


Future Sex

by Emily Witt

A funny, fresh, and moving antidote to conventional attitudes about sex and the single woman

Emily Witt is single and in her thirties. Up until a few years ago, she still envisioned her sexual experience “eventually...


My Own Words

by Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Mary Hartnett & Wendy W. Williams

The first book from Ruth Bader Ginsburg since becoming a Supreme Court Justice in 1993—a witty, engaging, serious, and playful collection of writings and speeches from the woman who has had a powerful and...


Timekeepers: How the World Became Obsessed With Time

by Simon Garfield

Not so long ago we timed our lives by the movement of the sun. These days our time arrives atomically and insistently, and our lives are propelled by the notion that we will never have enough of the one thing...


Trainwreck: The Women We Love to Hate, Mock, and Fear . . . and Why

by Sady Doyle

She’s everywhere once you start looking for her: the trainwreck. 

 

She’s Britney Spears shaving her head, Whitney Houston saying, “crack is whack,” and Amy Winehouse, dying in front of millions. But...


Rad Women Worldwide: Artists and Athletes, Pirates and Punks, and Other Revolutionaries Who Shaped History

by Kate Schatz & Miriam Klein Stahl

Educational and inspirational, this gift-worthy New York Times bestseller from the authors of Rad American Women A-Z, is a bold, illustrated collection of 40 biographical profiles showcasing extraordinary...