Social science

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Social science

 

In category

Political science (36)

Sociology (30)

Feminism & Feminist Theory (21)

Agriculture and food (9)

Future Studies (8)

Discrimination & Race Relations (3)

Military Science (3)

Criminology (3)

Social Work (2)

Espionage (2)

Slavery (2)

Media Studies (2)

Disasters & Disaster Relief (2)

Regional Studies (2)

Transportation (1)

Customs & Traditions (1)

 

Language

English (123)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (97)

Italian (21)

 

Protection

All (123)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (123)

More options

We Were Eight Years in Power: An American Tragedy

by Ta-Nehisi Coates

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In these “urgently relevant essays,”* the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me “reflects on race, Barack Obama’s presidency and its jarring aftermath”*—including...


Nasty Women

by Samhita Mukhopadhyay & Kate Harding

Twenty-Three Leading Feminist Writers on Protest and Solidarity

When 53 percent of white women voted for Donald Trump and 94 percent of black women voted for Hillary Clinton, how can women unite in Trump’s...


World Without Mind: The Existential Threat of Big Tech

by Franklin Foer

Franklin Foer reveals the existential threat posed by big tech, and in his brilliant polemic gives us the toolkit to fight their pervasive influence.

Over the past few decades there has been a revolution in...


Tales of Two Americas: Stories of Inequality in a Divided Nation

by John Freeman

Thirty-six major contemporary writers examine life in a deeply divided America—including Anthony Doerr, Ann Patchett, Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, Hector Tobar, Joyce Carol Oates, Edwidge Danticat, Richard...


Border

by Kapka Kassabova

“Remarkable: a book about borders that makes the reader feel sumptuously free.” —Peter Pomerantsev

In this extraordinary work of narrative reportage, Kapka Kassabova returns to Bulgaria, from where she...


Antifa: The Antifascist Handbook

by Mark Bray

The National Bestseller

“Focused and persuasive... Bray’s book is many things: the first English-language transnational history of antifa, a how-to for would-be activists, and a record of advice from anti-Fascist...


Ghost of the Innocent Man: A True Story of Trial and Redemption

by Benjamin Rachlin

"Intriguing . . . A gripping legal-thriller mystery . . . This is a story that profoundly elevates good-cause advocacy to greater heights--to where innocent lives are saved." --USA Today

"A crisply written page...


Making Trouble: Life and Politics

by Lynne Segal

What happens when angry young rebels become wary older women, raging in a leaner, meaner time: a time which exalts only the “new,” when the ruling orthodoxy daily disparages everything associated with the...


Vanishing New York

by Jeremiah Moss

"ESSENTIAL READING FOR FANS OF JANE JACOBS, JOSEPH MITCHELL, PATTI SMITH, LUC SANTE AND CHEAP PIEROGI."--VANITY FAIR

An unflinching chronicle of gentrification in the twenty-first century and a love letter to...


Have Black Lives Ever Mattered?

by Mumia Abu-Jamal

“This collection of short meditations, written from a prison cell, captures the past two decades of police violence that gave rise to Black Lives Matter while digging deeply into the history of the United States....


Angry White Men: American Masculinity at the End of an Era

by Michael Kimmel

"Kimmel has made a career out of being what you might call a man-translator."-The Atlantic

The white American male voter is alive and well--and angry as hell.

Sociologist Michael Kimmel, one of the leading writers...


The New Urban Crisis: How Our Cities Are Increasing Inequality, Deepening Segregation, and Failing the Middle Class¿and What We Can Do About It

by Richard Florida

"Richard Florida offers a brilliant assessment of the varied and evolving challenges facing our cities today.... The New Urban Crisis is essential reading for urban leaders and all city-dwellers." --Richard...


Easternization: Asia's Rise and America's Decline From Obama to Trump and Beyond

by Gideon Rachman

From the winner of the 2016 Orwell Prize and the European Press Prize for Commentator of the Year, a provocative analysis of how a new era of global instability has begun, as the flow of wealth and power turns...


Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions

by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

New York Times Best Seller

A Skimm Reads Pick

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today--written as a letter to a friend.

A few...


To Be a Machine: Adventures Among Cyborgs, Utopians, Hackers, and the Futurists Solving the Modest Problem of Death

by Mark O'Connell

“This gonzo-journalistic exploration of the Silicon Valley techno-utopians’ pursuit of escaping mortality is a breezy romp full of colorful characters.” —New York Times Book Review (Editor's Choice)

Transhumanism...


Flâneuse

by Lauren Elkin

A New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice

The flâneur is the quintessentially masculine figure of privilege and leisure who strides the capitals of the world with abandon. But it is the flâneuse who captures...


Why I Am Not a Feminist: A Feminist Manifesto

by Jessa Crispin

Outspoken critic Jessa Crispin delivers a searing rejection of contemporary feminism . . . and a bracing manifesto for revolution.

Are you a feminist? Do you believe women are human beings and that they deserve...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

**A New York Post Must-Read Book, a Newsweek Best New Book, one of The Week's 20 Books to Read in 2017, one of Bustle's 16 Best Nonfiction Books...


WHAT WE DO NOW: Standing Up for Your Values in Trump's America

by Dennis Johnson & Valerie Merians

The National Bestseller

The election of Donald Trump to be the 45th President of the United States of America shocked and dismayed progressives across the country. What We Do Now, a collection of passionate manifestos...


Refinery Town: Big Oil, Big Money, and the Remaking of an American City

by Steve Early & Bernie Sanders

The People vs. Big Oil—how a working-class company town harnessed the power of local politics to reclaim their community

Home to one of the largest oil refineries in the state, Richmond, California, was once...