Social science / Sociology

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (19)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (49)

Italian (14)

 

Category

Delete Sociology

 

Protection

All (19)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (19)

More options

Mother Is a Verb

by Sarah Knott

Welcome to a work of history unlike any other.

Mothering is as old as human existence. But how has this most essential experience changed over time and cultures? What is the history of maternity—the history...


Alienated America

by Timothy P. Carney

Respected conservative journalist and commentator Timothy P. Carney continues the conversation begun with Hillbilly Elegy and the classic Bowling Alone in this hard-hitting analysis that identifies the true...


Back to Black

by Kehinde Andrews

  • Definitive book on the roots and evolution of Black radicalism. 
    • Published at a time when race and racism are at the forefront of political discussion on both sides of the Atlantic. 
  • Highly readable account...


The View from Flyover Country

by Sarah Kendzior

NEW YORK TIMES and MIBA BESTSELLER

From the St. Louis–based journalist often credited with first predicting Donald Trump’s presidential victory.

"A collection of sharp-edged, humanistic pieces about the American...


Two Sisters

by Asne Seierstad & Seán Kinsella

The riveting true story of two sisters’ journey to the Islamic State and the father who tries to bring them home

Two Sisters, by the international bestselling author Åsne Seierstad, tells the unforgettable...


Have Black Lives Ever Mattered?

by Mumia Abu-Jamal

“This collection of short meditations, written from a prison cell, captures the past two decades of police violence that gave rise to Black Lives Matter while digging deeply into the history of the United States....


Flâneuse

by Lauren Elkin

FINALIST FOR THE PEN/DIAMONSTEIN-SPIELVOGEL AWARD FOR THE ART OF THE ESSAY

A New York Times Notable Book of 2017

The flâneur is the quintessentially masculine figure of privilege and leisure who strides the capitals...


Glass House

by Brian Alexander

For readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Strangers in Their Own Land

WINNER OF THE OHIOANA BOOK AWARDS AND FINALIST FOR THE 87TH CALIFORNIA BOOK AWARDS | NAMED A BEST/MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2017 BY: New York Post...


Future Sex

by Emily Witt

A funny, fresh, and moving antidote to conventional attitudes about sex and the single woman

Emily Witt is single and in her thirties. Up until a few years ago, she still envisioned her sexual experience “eventually...


The South Side

by Natalie Y. Moore

**One of Buzzfeed's 18 Best Nonfiction Books Of 2016**

A lyrical, intelligent, authentic, and necessary look at the intersection of race and class in Chicago, a Great American City

In this intelligent and highly...


Because of Sex

by Gillian Thomas

“Meticulously researched and rewarding to read…Thomas is a gifted storyteller.” —The New York Times Book Review

Best known as a monumental achievement of the civil rights movement, the 1964 Civil Rights...


The Social Sex

by Marilyn Yalom & Theresa Donovan Brown

From historian and acclaimed feminist author of How the French Invented Love and A History of the Wife comes this rich, multifaceted history of the evolution of female friendship.

In today’s culture, the bonds...


Headscarves and Hymens

by Mona Eltahawy

A passionate manifesto decrying misogyny in the Arab world, by an Egyptian American journalist and activist

When the Egyptian journalist Mona Eltahawy published an article in Foreign Policy magazine in 2012 titled...


Thrown

by Kerry Howley

A woman infiltrates the violent world of mixed martial arts and investigates the lives of two cage fighters.


Women on the Verge

by Susan Fox Rogers

In this lively, eclectic collection, veteran anthologist Susan Fox Rogers explores the passionate experiences of lesbians that exist outside of sex and/or romance. From an essay on "being" Superman as a kid...


Uprising

by Sally Armstrong

From Africa to Asia to the Americas, women are the key to progress on ending poverty, violence, and conflict. Award-winning humanitarian and journalist Sally Armstrong shows us why empowering women and girls...


Flappers

by Judith Mackrell

By the 1920s, women were on the verge of something huge. Jazz, racy fashions, eyebrowraising new attitudes about art and sex—all of this pointed to a sleek, modern world, one that could shake off the grimness...


Happy City: Transforming Our Lives Through Urban Design

by Charles Montgomery

A globe-trotting, eye-opening exploration of how cities can—and do—make us happier people

Charles Montgomery's Happy City will revolutionize the way we think about urban life.

After decades of unchecked sprawl,...


Last Night at the Viper Room

by Gavin Edwards

In Last Night at the Viper Room, acclaimed author and journalist Gavin Edwards vividly recounts the life and tragic death of acclaimed actor River Phoenix—a teen idol on the fast track to Hollywood royalty...