English literature

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (500)

French (94)

German (4)

Spanish (180)

Italian (323)

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Fiction

Literary (257)

Short Stories (61)

Mystery & Detective (47)

Historical (42)

Science Fiction (42)

Fantasy (23)

Thrillers (20)

Horror (10)

Occult & Supernatural (10)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (3)

Humorous (2)

Westerns (1)

Biographical (1)

Juvenile & Young Adult (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (395)

British (86)

Irish (14)

 

Protection

All (500)

DRM Free (38)

DRM (462)

More options

Melmoth

by Sarah Perry

For centuries, the mysterious dark-robed figure has roamed the globe, searching for those whose complicity and cowardice have fed into the rapids of history’s darkest waters—and now, in Sarah Perry’s breathtaking...


Trinity

by Louisa Hall

From the acclaimed author of Speak comes a kaleidoscopic novel about Robert Oppenheimer—father of the atomic bomb—as told by seven fictional characters

J. Robert Oppenheimer was a brilliant scientist, a...


The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel

by Alyssa Palombo

"Marrying forbidden love, devoted friendship, and the supernatural with Palombo's signature passion for music, storytelling, and heartbreaking choices, The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel enchants with a concoction...


CoDex 1962

by Sjon & Victoria Cribb

Spanning eras, continents, and genres, CoDex 1962—twenty years in the making—is Sjón’s epic three-part masterpiece

Over the course of four dazzling novels translated into dozens of languages, Sjón has...


She Would Be King

by Wayétu Moore

A novel of exhilarating range, magical realism, and history—a dazzling retelling of Liberia’s formation

Wayétu Moore’s powerful debut novel, She Would Be King, reimagines the dramatic story of Liberia’s...


The Golden State

by Lydia Kiesling

LONGLISTED FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION'S FIRST NOVEL PRIZE. An Amazon Best Book of the Month and named a fall read by Buzzfeed, Nylon, Entertainment Weekly, Elle, Vanity Fair, Vulture, Refinery29 and Mind Body...


Housegirl

by Michael Donkor

Nominated for the Edinburgh First Book Award One of The Observer's "New Faces of Fiction" One of The Millions' "Most Anticipated Books of the Year" One of The Guardian's "Best Summer Books" (Selected...


French Exit

by Patrick Dewitt

A Recommended Book of the Season from

Vanity Fair * Entertainment Weekly * Vulture * The Millions * Publishers Weekly * Esquire

From bestselling author Patrick deWitt, a brilliant and darkly comic novel about...


Severance

by Ling Ma

Maybe it’s the end of the world, but not for Candace Chen, a millennial, first-generation American and office drone meandering her way into adulthood in Ling Ma’s offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire,...


The Third Hotel

by Laura van den Berg

"[A] future cult classic." —The New York Times Book Review

"There’s Borges and Bolaño, Kafka and Cortázar, Modiano and Murakami, and now Laura van den Berg." —The Washington Post

An August 2018 IndieNext...


Certain American States

by Catherine Lacey

Named a Summer Read by Vanity Fair, The Guardian, Nylon, Bustle and Literary Hub

One of Granta’s Best Young American novelists, Catherine Lacey, the Whiting Award-winning author of The Answers, showcases her...


Metamorphica

by Zachary Mason

A brilliant and daring novel that reimagines Ovid’s Metamorphoses

In the tradition of his bestselling debut novel The Lost Books of the Odyssey, Zachary Mason’s Metamorphica transforms Ovid’s epic poem...


Early Work

by Andrew Martin

"What a debut! Early Work is one of the wittiest, wisest (sometimes silliest, in the best sense), and bravest novels about wrestling with the early stages of life and love, of creative and destructive urges,...


The Girl From Blind River

by Gale Massey

A gritty tale of how far we’ll go to protect the ones we love for fans of Daniel Woodrell’s Winter’s Bone and Emma Cline’s The Girls from Gale Massey, a talented new name in crime fiction.

Everyone says...


A Long Island Story

by Rick Gekoski

It is 1953, a heat wave is sweeping across America and the Grossmans - Ben, Addie and their two children - are moving their lives from the political heart of Washington DC to suburban Long Island. Benny was...


The Pre-War House and Other Stories

by Alison Moore

From the Man Booker shortlisted author of The Lighthouse comes this uncanny collection of short fiction about the unhomeliness of home: fractured families, domestic claustrophobia, and the unseen menace of the...


Lucia

by Alex Pheby

“Her case is cyclothymia, dating from the age of seven and a half. She is about thirty-three, speaks French fluently… Her character is gay, sweet and ironic, but she has bursts of anger over nothing when...


Number One Chinese Restaurant

by Lillian Li

Named a Summer Must-Read by TIME, Buzzfeed, The Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Fast Company, The Village Voice, Toronto Star, Fortune Magazine, InStyle, and O, The Oprah Magazine

"A joy to readI couldn't...


The Iconoclast's Journal

by Terry Griggs

Interrupted during his preparations for the conjugal duties of his wedding night by a mysterious glowing ball of light, Griffith Smolders jumps out the window flees and across the countryside of Victorian Ontario....


Mad Boy

by Nick Arvin

Mad Boy is a rollicking, picaresque novel about family and perseverance set during America’s “forgotten war” of 1812.

Young Henry Phipps is on a quest to realize his dying mother’s last wish: to be buried...