English literature

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (527)

French (97)

German (4)

Spanish (179)

Italian (339)

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Fiction

Literary (273)

Short Stories (64)

Mystery & Detective (51)

Historical (45)

Science Fiction (41)

Fantasy (25)

Thrillers (20)

Occult & Supernatural (10)

Horror (10)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (3)

Humorous (2)

Biographical (1)

Westerns (1)

Juvenile & Young Adult (1)

 

Origin

American and canadian (413)

British (95)

Irish (14)

 

Protection

All (527)

DRM Free (38)

DRM (489)

More options

Mothers

by Chris Power

An “extraordinary” (The Sunday Times) debut of unnerving beauty, Chris Power’s short story collection Mothers evokes the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose.

Chris Power’s stories...


As Long as We Both Shall Live

by JoAnn Chaney

You can’t be married to someone without sometimes wanting to kill them...

As Long As We Both Shall Live is JoAnn Chaney’s wicked, masterful examination of a marriage gone very wrong, a marriage with lots...


Ghost Wall

by Sarah Moss

A Southern Living Best New Book of Winter 2019; A Refinery29 Best Book of January 2019; A Most Anticipated Book of 2019 at Huffington Post, Nylon, and Lit Hub; An Indie Next Pick for January 2019

Ghost Wall...


In Our Mad and Furious City

by Guy Gunaratne

Long-listed for the 2018 Man Booker Prize

Short-listed for the 2018 Gordon Burn Prize

Short-listed for the 2018 Goldsmiths Prize

Inspired by the real-life murder of a British army soldier by religious fanatics,...


Blood of Ten Kings

Guardians of Aandor #3

by Edward Lazellari

Blood of Ten Kings is the action-packed finale of Edward Lazellari's epic fantasy Aandor trilogy.

The Guardians return to their reality, ill-equipped to fend off Farrenheil's invading soldiers, which have saturated...


The Western Wind

by Samantha Harvey

  • The Western Wind has been singled out by the Guardian in a preview of “best fiction in 2018” and the books editor at The Bookseller chose it as her book of the year, the book that deserves to break out Harvey...

  • Fade Into You

    by Nikki Darling

    • This coming-of-age novel deals with growing up with a mix-raced identity in the San Gabriel Valley. Written in lush but irreverent prose, Fade into You—a reference to main character Nikki's love for marijuana—is...


    The Three Button Trick And Other Stories

    by Nicola Barker

    Nicola Barker weaves humor and tragedy through this fresh and original collection, as her characters struggle to find love, independence, and fulfillment in this new addition to the Ecco Art of the Story series...


    The Little Snake

    by A.L. Kennedy

    "Some time ago, perhaps before you were even born, a young girl was walking in her garden. She may have been called Mary - that's what most of the stories say. Mary was a little bit taller than the other girls...


    Evening in Paradise

    by Lucia Berlin

    "Berlin probably deserved a Pulitzer Prize." —Dwight Garner, The New York Times

    NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW EDITORS' CHOICE. Named one of the Best Books of 2018 by The Boston Globe, Kirkus, and Lit Hub. Named...


    The Feral Detective

    by Jonathan Lethem

    Jonathan Lethem’s first detective novel since Motherless Brooklyn

    “One of America’s greatest storytellers.” —Washington Post

    Phoebe Siegler first meets Charles Heist in a shabby trailer on the eastern...


    Northwood

    by Maryse Meijer

  • A sharp-edged modern fairy tale that reimagines a torrid romance as a kind of mythical monster story
  • A gorgeously designed literary object, Northwood is also a poetic novel-in-fragments; the book is packaged...

  • Family Trust

    by Kathy Wang

    Some of us are more equal than others....

    Meet Stanley Huang: father, husband, ex-husband, man of unpredictable tastes and temper, aficionado of all-inclusive vacations and bargain luxury goods, newly diagnosed...


    Everything Under

    by Daisy Johnson

    SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 MAN BOOKER PRIZE

    An eerie, watery reimagining of the Oedipus myth set on the canals of Oxford, from the author of Fen

    The dictionary doesn’t contain every word. Gretel, a lexicographer...


    Destroy All Monsters

    by Jeff Jackson

    “At some point, I began to think of it as an ancient folk tale. It’s fine work, with a kind of scattered narrative set within a tight frame. Fast-moving throughout—fragile characters who suggest a bleak...


    Melmoth

    by Sarah Perry

    “Masterful…scary and smart, working as a horror story but also a philosophical inquiry into the nature of will and love. Perry did as much in her richly praised novel The Essex Serpent, but this is a deeper,...


    Trinity

    by Louisa Hall

    From the acclaimed author of Speak comes a kaleidoscopic novel about Robert Oppenheimer—father of the atomic bomb—as told by seven fictional characters

    J. Robert Oppenheimer was a brilliant scientist, a...


    Unsheltered

    by Barbara Kingsolver

    New York Times bestseller

    An NPR pick for Best Books of 2018

    One of Christian Science Monitor's best fiction reads of 2018

    One of Newsweek's Best Books of the year

    The New York Times bestselling author of Flight...


    Godsend

    by John Wray

    Inspired by the story of John Walker Lindh, the “American Taliban,” Whiting Award–winning author John Wray explores the circumstances that could impel a young American to abandon identity and home to become...


    The Witch Of Willow Hall: A spellbinding historical fiction debut for Halloween 2018 perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches

    by Hester Fox

    ‘This debut recalls Georgette Heyer, with extra spookiness’ The Times ‘Beautifully written… The Witch of Willow Hall will cast a spell over every reader’ Lisa Hall, author of Between You and Me

    The...