Browsing

Our Selection

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (1190)

French (333)

German (6)

Spanish (2341)

Italian (1156)

 

Fiction

Literary (364)

Short Stories (74)

Mystery & Detective (65)

Juvenile & Young Adult (64)

Historical (56)

Science Fiction (47)

Fantasy (31)

Thrillers (22)

Poetry (16)

Horror (12)

Occult & Supernatural (11)

Humorous (7)

Biographical (5)

Fairy Tales, Folk Tales & Mythology (3)

Travel writing (3)

Anthologies (multiple authors) (3)

Contemporary Women (2)

Action & Adventure (1)

LGBTQ+ (1)

Media Tie-In (1)

 

Non-Fiction

Biography & autobiography (127)

Social science (75)

Literary collections (69)

History (45)

Arts (24)

Cooking (22)

News and investigations (17)

Literary essay (14)

Science and Technics (14)

Nature, recreation and sports (13)

Human Science (6)

Religion (4)

Health & fitness (3)

Medical (3)

Business & economics (3)

Travel (2)

Juvenile (2)

Reference (1)

Geography (1)

 

Audience

Adult (1130)

Young adult (51)

Teen (5)

Advanced reader (4)

 

Protection

All (1190)

DRM Free (48)

DRM (1142)

More options

FKA USA

by Reed King

“Mr. King looks at all our upcoming problems, and imagines a local reaction to each one. The result is often funny, usually sardonic, and always imaginative, what with all the mole rats, flesh drones, dimeheads,...


Flash Count Diary

by Darcey Steinke

“Many days I believe menopause is the new (if long overdue) frontier for the most compelling and necessary philosophy; Darcey Steinke is already there, blazing the way. This elegant, wise, fascinating, deeply...


A Primer for Forgetting

by Lewis Hyde

“One of our true superstars of nonfiction” (David Foster Wallace), Lewis Hyde offers a playful and inspiring defense of forgetfulness by exploring the healing effect it can have on the human psyche.

We live...


One Night in Georgia

by Celeste O. Norfleet

Set in the summer of 1968, a provocative and devastating novel of individual lives caught in the grips of violent history—a timely and poignant story that reverberates with the power of Alice Walker’s Meridian...


The Tenth Muse

by Catherine Chung

The first thing I remember being said of me with any consistency was that I was intelligent—and I recognized even then that it was a comment leveled at me with as much disapproval as admiration. Still, I never...


My Parents: An Introduction / This Does Not Belong to You

by Aleksandar Hemon

Two books in one in a flip dos-à-dos format: The story of Aleksandar Hemon’s parents’ immigration from Sarajevo to Canada and a book of short memories of the author’s family, friends, and childhood in...


The Sun on My Head

by Geovani Martins & Julia Sanches

A bestselling literary sensation in Brazil, a powerful debut short-story collection about favela life in Rio de Janeiro

In The Sun on My Head, Geovani Martins recounts the experiences of boys growing up in the...


Collected Fables

by James Thurber

Published to coincide with the 125th anniversary of James Thurber’s birth, this treasury combines, for the first time, Fables for Our Time and Further Fables for Our Time with Thurber’s unpublished preface...


Out of the Shadows

by Walt Odets

A moving exploration of how gay men construct their identities, fight to be themselves, and live authentically

It goes without saying that even today, it’s not easy to be gay in America. While young gay men...


Magic for Liars

by Sarah Gailey

Sharp, mainstream fantasy meets compelling thrills of investigative noir in Magic for Liars, a fantasy debut by rising star Sarah Gailey.

Ivy Gamble was born without magic and never wanted it.

Ivy Gamble is perfectly...


Aug 9 - Fog

by Kathryn Scanlan

A Paris Review Staff Pick, one of Chicago Tribune's 25 Hot Books of Summer, and one of The A.V. Club's 15 Most Anticipated Books of 2019

A stark, elegiac account of unexpected pleasures and the progress of seasons...


This Land Is Our Land

by Suketu Mehta

A timely argument for why the United States and the West would benefit from accepting more immigrants

There are few subjects in American life that prompt more discussion and controversy than immigration. But...


This Time Will Be Different

by Misa Sugiura

For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon, critically acclaimed author Misa Sugiura delivers a richly crafted contemporary YA novel about family, community, and the importance of writing your own...


Dawson's Fall

by Roxana Robinson

A cinematic Reconstruction-era drama of violence and fraught moral reckoning

In Dawson’s Fall, a novel based on the lives of Roxana Robinson’s great-grandparents, we see America at its most fragile, fraught,...


America Was Hard to Find

by Kathleen Alcott

Ecuador, 1969: An American expatriate, Fay Fern, sits in the corner of a restaurant, she and her young son Wright turned away from the television where Vincent Kahn becomes the first man to walk on the moon....


The Words of My Father

by Yousef Bashir

A Palestinian activist recalls his adolescence in Gaza during the Second Intifada, and how he made a strong commitment to peace in the face of devastating brutality in this moving, candid, and transformative...


With the Fire on High

by Elizabeth Acevedo

From the New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award longlist title The Poet X comes a dazzling novel in prose about a girl with talent, pride, and a drive to feed the soul that keeps her fire...


Wayfinding

by M. R. O'Connor

At once far flung and intimate, a fascinating look at how finding our way make us human.

"A marvel of storytelling." —Kirkus (Starred Review)

In this compelling narrative, O'Connor seeks out neuroscientists,...


Dream Sequence

by Adam Foulds

Newly divorced, Kristin chafes against her sister’s concerns about how she’s faring. After all, she’s redecorated her ex-husband out of her home, taken up yoga, and has a new love interest: a man she met...


The House of the Pain of Others

by Julián Herbert

A brilliant work of historical excavation with profound echoes in an age redolent with violence and xenophobia

Early in the twentieth century, amid the myths of progress and modernity that underpinned Mexico’s...