Classics

Best Selling / Page 54

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Classics

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (88)

Ancient History (4)

Middle Age (1)

XIXth century (1)

XXth century (<1945) (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (3099)

French (537)

German (5)

Spanish (758)

Italian (967)

 

Protection

All (3099)

DRM Free (124)

DRM (2964)

More options

The White Feather

by P. G. Wodehouse

In the British tradition, a white feather has long been a symbol of cowardice or pusillanimity in battle or when facing adversity. In The White Feather, Wodehouse applies this metaphor to the dog-eat-dog world...


The Fitz-Boodle Papers

by William Makepeace Thackeray

William Makepeace Thackeray is lauded for his razor-sharp wit in satirical novels such as Vanity Fair. In this epistolary collection, Thackeray channels his jocularity into a series of pompous letters touching...


Round the Red Lamp

by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Today, he is acclaimed as one of the most famous originators of the genre of detective fiction, but Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's literary talents were broad, and he dabbled in many styles and themes over the course...


A Phyllis of the Sierras

by Bret Harte

Though born in Albany, New York, American author Francis Bret Harte went on to become one of the foremost chroniclers of pioneer life in the American West, with a particular focus on California. "A Phyllis of...


Their Silver Wedding Journey: Complete

by William Dean Howells

Author of the beloved novel The Rise of Silas Lapham, William Dean Howells is known as one of the foremost practitioners of the literary style known as realism. In Their Silver Wedding Journey, Howells provides...


Abbeychurch: Or Self Control and Self Conceit

by Charlotte Mary Yonge

Written when the author was in her early twenties, and now regarded as Yonge's first serious work of fiction, Abbeychurch grapples with both serious theological issues pertaining to the schism between Broad,...


The History of Henry Esmond: A Colonel in the Service of Her Majesty Queen Anne

by William Makepeace Thackeray

Can't get enough historical fiction? Immerse yourself in this imaginative retelling of the events that led up to and followed the restoration of the British monarchy in the late seventeenth century. Thackeray's...


Ruth

by Elizabeth Gaskell

Fans of social realism will appreciate the surprisingly nuanced and multi-faceted perspective on Victorian era morals and mores offered in Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell's sweeping novel Ruth. The story follows...


The Inn of Tranquility: Studies and Essays

by John Galsworthy

One-time winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, John Galsworthy is best known as a prolific novelist and playwright who created the sweeping historical epic series known as the Forsyte Saga. The Inn of Tranquility...


Twice Told Tales

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

The author of such short-fiction masterpieces as "Young Goodman Brown" and "The Minister's Black Veil," Nathaniel Hawthorne is regarded as one of the most significant American writers of the nineteenth century....


The Country House

by John Galsworthy

English novelist and playwright John Galsworthy was one of the most acclaimed writers of his time, and his fan base has continued to expand in the years since his death as new generations of readers discover...


The Nigger of the Narcissus: A Tale of the Sea

by Joseph Conrad

Often overlooked because of its controversial title, this novel from Joseph Conrad features a black West Indian protagonist, James Wait, who serves as a sailor on the merchant vessel known as Narcissus. Wait...


Beyond

by John Galsworthy

One of the most prolific and respected authors of the early twentieth century, John Galsworthy was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1932. Although not as well-known as the five novels that comprise his...


The Financier

by Theodore Dreiser

Acclaimed American journalist and fiction writer penned a number of noteworthy classics in his day, including Sister Carrie and An American Tragedy. His 1912 novel The Financier was the first in a trilogy of...


The Custom of the Country

by Edith Wharton

Can't get enough of the Gilded Age fast talkers, débutantes, and social climbers who populate Edith Wharton's exquisitely wrought novels? Fans of The House of Mirth and The Age of Innocence will love The Custom...


The Master of the World

by Jules Verne

Jules Verne, author of such works as Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea and Around the World in Eighty Days, is recognized as one of the masters of the golden age of science fiction. In The Master of the...


The Crown of Life

by George Gissing

Critics regard George Gissing as one of the most important writers of the Victorian era. Over the course of his career, he emerged as one of the most significant innovators in the literary genre of realism....


Orley Farm

by Anthony Trollope

Anthony Trollope's novels often explore the ways that wealth -- and the promise of it -- can impact human behavior. In Orley Farm, a protracted probate case spanning several generations ultimately tears a family...


Cousin Phillis

by Elizabeth Gaskell

Lauded by critics as one of the most nuanced accounts of adolescence and young adulthood to have been penned in the nineteenth century, Cousin Phillis also offers a glimpse into the lives of working-class English...


The Downfall

by Emile Zola

Dazzling romance, political intrigue, military conflict -- this kind of top-rate historical fiction is a heady brew that French writer Emile Zola serves up better than anyone before or since. One of the novels...