Classics

Best Selling / Page 54

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Classics

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (88)

Ancient History (4)

Middle Age (1)

XIXth century (1)

XXth century (<1945) (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (3071)

French (537)

German (5)

Spanish (758)

Italian (964)

 

Protection

All (3071)

DRM Free (124)

DRM (2936)

More options

The Nigger of the Narcissus: A Tale of the Sea

by Joseph Conrad

Often overlooked because of its controversial title, this novel from Joseph Conrad features a black West Indian protagonist, James Wait, who serves as a sailor on the merchant vessel known as Narcissus. Wait...


Beyond

by John Galsworthy

One of the most prolific and respected authors of the early twentieth century, John Galsworthy was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1932. Although not as well-known as the five novels that comprise his...


The Financier

by Theodore Dreiser

Acclaimed American journalist and fiction writer penned a number of noteworthy classics in his day, including Sister Carrie and An American Tragedy. His 1912 novel The Financier was the first in a trilogy of...


The Custom of the Country

by Edith Wharton

Can't get enough of the Gilded Age fast talkers, débutantes, and social climbers who populate Edith Wharton's exquisitely wrought novels? Fans of The House of Mirth and The Age of Innocence will love The Custom...


The Master of the World

by Jules Verne

Jules Verne, author of such works as Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea and Around the World in Eighty Days, is recognized as one of the masters of the golden age of science fiction. In The Master of the...


The Crown of Life

by George Gissing

Critics regard George Gissing as one of the most important writers of the Victorian era. Over the course of his career, he emerged as one of the most significant innovators in the literary genre of realism....


Orley Farm

by Anthony Trollope

Anthony Trollope's novels often explore the ways that wealth -- and the promise of it -- can impact human behavior. In Orley Farm, a protracted probate case spanning several generations ultimately tears a family...


Cousin Phillis

by Elizabeth Gaskell

Lauded by critics as one of the most nuanced accounts of adolescence and young adulthood to have been penned in the nineteenth century, Cousin Phillis also offers a glimpse into the lives of working-class English...


The Downfall

by Emile Zola

Dazzling romance, political intrigue, military conflict -- this kind of top-rate historical fiction is a heady brew that French writer Emile Zola serves up better than anyone before or since. One of the novels...


The Mystery of Edwin Drood

by Charles Dickens & Leon Garfield

The Mystery of Edwin Drood was Charles Dickens final novel, and remained unfinished at the time of his death. In this edition, beloved children's author Leon Garfield gives the story a satisfying ending.


The Paying Guest

by George Gissing

Over the course of his literary careeer, George Gissing emerged as a chronicler of Britain's emerging middle class. In novels such as New Grub Street, he took it upon himself to outline the challenges facing...


The Coming of Bill

by P. G. Wodehouse

When you're in the mood for classic humor writing, nothing can hold a candle to the work of P.G. Wodehouse. This novel fallows the madcap adventures of a young family who have recently welcomed their first child....


The Patrician

by John Galsworthy

Best known for works such as the epic series The Forsyte Saga, John Galsworthy was one of the first writers of the early twentieth century to cast a sharp, satirical eye on the misdeeds and hypocrisies of the...


Romance

by Joseph Conrad

Immerse yourself in a world devised by two masters of twentieth century fiction, Joseph Conrad and Ford Maddox Ford. Second in a series of three collaborations between the two writers, Romance combines elements...


The Magnificent Ambersons

by Booth Tarkington

This epic tale recounts the triumphs and tribulations of an upper-class American clan as they navigate the challenges of life in the aftermath of the Civil War and the birth of the Industrial Revolution. The...


Beyond the City

by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Conan Doyle departs quite drastically from his male-centric Sherlock Holmes in Beyond the City; it deals with ideas of women's liberation in Victorian England. Three families are drawn together in the countryside...


Amelia

by Henry Fielding

Though best known for his work in the picaresque romp Tom Jones, the eighteenth-century novelist Henry Fielding explored many literary genres, including the English domestic dramas popularized by luminaries...


Mathilda

by Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley

Mathilda is narrated from the title character's death bed. She recounts her relationship with her father, who had an incestuous love for her, and his suicide by drowning. Her relationship with a gifted young...


Aaron's Rod

by D. H. Lawrence

In Aaron's Rod, literary master D.H. Lawrence spins an engaging picaresque tale of the talented English amateur flutist Aaron Sisson and his travels. Aaron escapes a life of drudgery and a loveless marriage...


Tono-Bungay

by H. G. Wells

Philosophically minded science fiction fans will rejoice in this novel from H.G. Wells, the author regarded as one of the originators of the genre who wrote classic gems such as The War of the Worlds, The Time...