Short Stories

Best Selling / Page 49

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

English (295)

Asian (16)

Hispanophone (11)

Nordic (7)

Germanophone (6)

Middle eastern (5)

Francophone (4)

Italian (4)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (4)

Slavic (4)

Lusophone (1)

Greek (1)

African (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (2027)

French (472)

German (11)

Spanish (458)

Italian (11)

 

Protection

All (2027)

DRM Free (50)

DRM (1976)

More options

Miracle and Other Christmas Stories

by Connie Willis

The winner of multiple Hugo and Nebula Awards, Connie Willis capture the timeless essence of generosity and goodwill in this magical collection if Christmas stories.  These eight tales-two of which have never...


All the Days and Nights: The Collected Stories

by William Maxwell

From the American Book Award-winning author of Ancestors and Time Will Darken comes a masterful collection of stories, spanning more than 50 years--a tour of a world that engages readers entirely, and whose...


The Stories of Paul Bowles

by Paul Bowles

The short fiction of American literary cult figure Paul Bowles is marked by a unique, delicately spare style, and a dark, rich, exotic mood, by turns chilling, ironic, and wry—possessing a symmetry between...


The Stories of Richard Bausch

by Richard Bausch

A 2004 PEN/Malamud Award winner, this collection celebrates the work of American artist Richard Bausch -- a writer the New York Times calls "a master of the short story." By turns tender, raw, heartbreaking,...


Byzantium

by Ben Stroud

Winner of the Bakeless Prize for Fiction, an imaginative debut that ranges from Havana to Berlin* A Kansas City Star Best Book of the Year * One of Publishers Weekly's "Best Summer Books"*

Ancient cities and...


Loverboys

by Ana Castillo

"Seductive ... full of infectious vigor ... these stories demand, above all, to be listened to."-New York Times Book ReviewFrom Ana Castillo, the widely praised author of So Far from God and The Guardians, comes...


Sourland: Stories

by Joyce Carol Oates

A gripping and moving new collection of stories that reimagines the meaning of loss—through often unexpected and violent means.

Joyce Carol Oates is not only one of our most important novelists and literary...


The John Fante Reader

by John Fante & Stephen Cooper

It's not every day that a writer, almost unheard of in his lifetime, emerges twenty years after his death as a voice of his generation. But then again, there aren't many writers with such irrepressible genius...


The Oranging of America

by Max Apple

It was my fascination itself with the English language that made me a writer," Apple wrote in an essay for the New York Times Book Review. Its endless suggestiveness has carried me through many a plot, entertained...


Marriage at Antibes: Stories

by Carol Azadeh

'The Country Road' moves heartbreakingly through the days of Cathy, a lonely eight-year-old in a Northern Ireland populated by her elderly neighbours and the vague menace of the security forces. In 'Bronagh',...


Death of a King

by Seamus deFaoite

A gypsy king dies, and a group of villagers seek to save him from the dishonour of a pauper's grave. The dispute over the inheritance of a well-field becomes a struggle between the 'old stock' and the 'new people'...


Heart Wrenching Crossroads

by Shailesh J. Khatri

This book has 3 short stories. One short story deals with an honest public official in a decadent society who is out to make him dishonest. Another story makes mockery of our educational system and the last...


The End of the Straight and Narrow: Stories

by David McGlynn

This debut collection received critical acclaim and is now available for the first time in trade paper. The stories in The End of the Straight and Narrow take on the inner lives of the zealous, their passions...


What Purpose Did I Serve in Your Life

by Marie Calloway

By the author of "Adrien Brody," the controversial Internet piece, Marie Calloway effaces the boundary between life and narrative.


Transparency: Stories

by Frances Hwang

With a deceptively simple yet graceful style, and in the tradition of Lara Vapnyar, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Gish Jen, Frances Hwang captures the thousand minor battles waged in the homes of immigrants--struggles...


The Condimental Op

by Andrez Bergen

Noir, surrealism, comicbook asides and dystopian, hardboiled moments collide with snapshots of contemporary culture in Andrez Bergen's bag of tricks.


Archangel: Fiction

by Andrea Barrett

"[Andrea Barrett's] work stands out for its sheer intelligence…The overall effect is quietly dazzling."—New York Times Book Review Winner of the National Book Award for her collection of stories Ship Fever...


The Weight of a Human Heart

by Ryan O'Neill

"You will be astounded by the hugeness of his heart, and by the breadth and depth of his vision. O'Neill is a writer of limitless imagination." Hector Tobar, author of The Barbarian Nurseries

Ranging from...


Bad Behaviour

by Lesley Cookman

A collection of short stories about bad behaviour in many forms from the author of the Libby Sarjeant series to celebrate the tenth anniversary of Accent Press.

 


The Reasons I Won't Be Coming

by Elliot Perlman

The stories in this collection explore the complex worlds of lovers, poets, lawyers, immigrants, students, and murderers. They tell of corporate betrayals and lost opportunities, and of the obsessions, hopes,...