Travel writing

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (324)

French (914)

German (304)

Spanish (221)

Italian (367)

 

Category

Delete Travel writing

 

Protection

All (324)

DRM Free (80)

DRM (244)

More options

Tales of the City

Tales of the City #1

by Armistead Maupin

For almost four decades Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City has blazed its own trail through popular culture—from a groundbreaking newspaper serial to a classic novel, to a television event that entranced...


White Planet: A Mad Dash through Modern Global Ski Culture

by Leslie Anthony

Writer and adventurer Leslie Anthony has spent his life on two planks, racing down hills, searching for the next perfect ride. His real baptism, however, began in the early nineties when Alaska emerged as the...


The Cruise of the Corwin: Journal of the Arctic Expedition of 1881 in search of De Long and the Jeannette

by John Muir & Richard F. Fleck

John Muir agreed in 1881 to sail aboard the Corwin, whose fruitless mission it was to search for the missing scientific research vessel Jeannette, which itself became icebound while exploring the distant and...


Slow Road to Brownsville: A Journey Through the Heart of the Old West

by David Reynolds

"Immensely illuminating and enjoyable account of a road trip along Highway 83 ... Books like [Reynold's] prove that good travel writing remains not only very much alive, but essential."—The Bookseller

In Slow...


Five Nights in Paris

by John Baxter

An irresistible nighttime tour of Paris, past and present, by the bestselling author of The Most Beautiful Walk in the World

Every guidebook to Paris is crammed with sites to see during the day, but visitors...


Hidden Tuscany

by John Keahey

In Hidden Tuscany, acclaimed author John Keahey takes the reader into a part of Tuscany beyond the usual tourist destinations of Chianti, Florence, and Siena. The often overlooked western portion of Tuscany...


Ladies of the Field: Early Women Archaeologists and Their Search for Adventure

by Amanda Adams

The first women archaeologists were Victorian era adventurers who felt most at home when farthest from it. Canvas tents were their domains, hot Middle Eastern deserts their gardens of inquiry and labor. Thanks...


Carsick

by John Waters

Carsick is the New York Times bestselling chronicle of a cross-country hitchhiking journey with America's most beloved weirdo

John Waters is putting his life on the line. Armed with wit, a pencil-thin mustache,...


Give Me the World

by Leila Hadley

Leila Hadley, twenty-five years old, divorced, restless, bored with her succesful career, set off for the Far East with her six-year-old son for an adventure that would last a lifetime. Now available for the...


Chasing the Dragon

by Christopher R. Cox

Chasing the Dragon is the story of a Boston Herald reporter's journey into Burma/Myanmar to interview the mysterious drug lord, Khun Sa.

The features desk of an American newspaper may seem an unlikely launchpad...


Sidewalks

by Valeria Luiselli, Christina Macsweeney & Cees Nooteboom

Cosmopolitan, vivacious essays in the tradition of Brodsky's Watermark and Benjamin's The Arcades Project by a celebrated young Mexican author.


Travels with My Donkey

by Tim Moore

"'A donkey?' blurted my family as one. For a moment it didn't seem they'd ever be able to list all the reasons that made this so entertainingly ludicrous. . . .Yes, I'd never ridden a donkey on a beach or petted...


To a Mountain in Tibet

by Colin Thubron

“Colin Thubron is the intrepid, resourceful and immensely talented writer who has made a career out of going to out of the way places and then writing brilliantly about them.”—Jonathan Yardley, Washington...


The River at the Center of the World

by Simon Winchester

Rising in the mountains of the Tibetan border, the Yangtze River, the symbolic heart of China, pierces 3,900 miles of rugged country before debouching into the oily swells of the East China Sea. Connecting China's...


Shebeen Tales: Messages from Harare

by Chenjerai Hove & Jan Kees van de Werk

Snapshots of life in Zimbabwe by the country's greatest novelist, who looks at its everyday realities - AIDS, drought and economic hardship - with an unflinching eye but, thanks to his wry sense of humour, does...


The Travels of Sir John Mandeville: The Fantastic 14th-Century Account of a Journey to the East

by John Mandeville

This fascinating work, ostensibly written to encourage and instruct pilgrims traveling to biblical lands, recounts the author's alleged experiences in the Holy Land, India, China, and beyond.


The Path to Rome

by Hilaire Belloc

This 1902 memoir of a pilgrimage on foot across the Alps and Apennines in order to "see all Europe which the Christian Faith has saved." Includes 77 of the author's original line drawings.


The Travels of Ibn Battuta: in the Near East, Asia and Africa, 1325-1354

by Ibn Battuta & Samuel Lee

An engrossing account of a 1326 pilgrimage to Mecca provides vivid details of Morocco, Russia, India, China, and elsewhere. "The ultimate in real life adventure stories." — History in Review.


Waiting on a Train: The Embattled Future of Passenger Rail Service

by James McCommons & James Kunstler

During the tumultuous year of 2008--when gas prices reached $4 a gallon, Amtrak set ridership records, and a commuter train collided with a freight train in California--journalist James McCommons spent a year...


In Late Winter We Ate Pears: A Year of Hunger and Love

by Caleb Barber, Deirdre Heekin & Rowan Jacobsen

More than a cookbook, In Late Winter We Ate Pears is a love affair with a culture and a way of life. In vignettes taken from their year in Italy, husband and wife Caleb Barber and Deirdre Heekin offer glimpses...