Science and Technics / Technology & engineering / Architecture, construction / Landscape

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Language

English (49)

French (4)

German (0)

Spanish (2)

Italian (13)

 

Category

Delete Landscape

 

Audience

Adult (49)

 

Protection

All (49)

DRM Free (4)

DRM (44)

More options

Place and Memory in the Singing Crane Garden

by Vera Schwarcz

The Singing Crane Garden in northwest Beijing has been the site of several important and cataclysmic events in modern Chinese history. In this poetic and highly personal study of memory, trauma, and cultural...


The Story of the Casino Farnese

by Madeleine Wulffson

This is the story of the Casino Farnese. In the Renaissance, a 'casino' was a 'small villa', and this one was in a 'vigna': a landholding filled with orchards and vineyards. The Casino Farnese is over 500 years...


Guidelines to overcome architectural barriers in cultural heritage sites

by Aa. Vv., Lucia Baracco & Giovanni Caprara

These Guidelines are intended for all those who, in whatever capacity (regulators, financiers, designers, site managers, testers) are involved with, or responsible for, the accessibility of cultural heritage...


Abitare la Terra n.29/2011 - Dwelling on Earth

by Aa. Vv. & Paolo Portoghesi

EDUARDO SOUTO DE MOURA Luca Nicotera ALESSANDRO ANSELMI Stefania Tuzi LAKE|FLATO Maria Luna Vetrani ANTONIO MONESTIROLI Gaetano Fusco BOGDAN BOGDANOVIC Slobodan Selinkic CINO ZUCCHI Alessandra Sgueglia EMILIO...


Progettare Paesaggio. Landscape as Infrastructure

by Aa. Vv., Piero Aebischer & Stefania Cancellieri

In questo lavoro “Progettare Paesaggio, Landscape as Infrastructure” si confrontano: da un lato le stimolanti proposte progettuali redatte dal gruppo di studenti della Harvard Graduate School of Design guidati...


Essay on Gardens: A Chapter in the French Picturesque

by Claude-Henri Watelet, Joseph Disponzio & Samuel Danon

Published in 1774, Essay on Gardens is one of the earliest texts showing the progressive shift in French taste from the classical model of the gardens at Versailles to the picturesque or natural style of garden...


Urban Landscape Strategies

by Giuseppe Marinoni

The projects illustrated here exemplify the way contemporary urban planning is moving in practice, and how it is precisely in the effective transformation of cities and landscapes that it is finding the theoretical...


Cornelia Hahn Oberlander: Making the Modern Landscape

by Susan Herrington & Marc Treib

Cornelia Hahn Oberlander is one of the most important landscape architects of the twentieth century, yet despite her lasting influence, few outside the field know her name. Her work has been instrumental in...


Patios and Gardens of Mexico

by Patricia W. O'Gorman & Bob Schalkwijk

The Mexican garden is a serene oasis that displays a diversity and ingenuity that is truly astonishing. Mexico’s temperate climate, conducive to outdoor living, combined with its Indian and Spanish heritage...


Tradition of Craftsmanship in Mexican Homes

by Patricia W. O'Gorman & Bob Schalkwijk

This book of more than four hundred photographs shows the detailed work of Mexican homes, including adobe; stone; brick and masonry; plaster and stucco; wood; terracotta and tiles; iron, metals, and glass; and...


Designing the Maine Landscape

by Theresa Mattor & Lucie Teegardeb

Frederick Law Olmsted and others saw the landscape as it was and enhanced it, instead of imposing rigid design upon it. Groundbreaking landscape architects Beatrix Farrand and Fletcher Steele, among others,...


Facilitating Watershed Management: Fostering Awareness and Stewardship

by Robert L. France

Facilitating Watershed Management brings together myriad distinctive voices to create an experiential learning process drawn from the most important innovators in the field. Presenting an introduction to the...


Across the Open Field: Essays Drawn from English Landscapes

by Laurie Olin

"Twenty-eight years ago I went to England for a three-month visit and rest. What I found changed my life."

So begins this memoir by one of America's best-known landscape architects, Laurie Olin. Raised in a frontier...


The French and Indian War

by Joseph Altsheler

THE FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR  includes six novels dealing with the great struggle of France and England and their colonies for control of North America during 1754-1763, culminating with the fall of Quebec. It...


Atmosphere/Atmospheres

by Tonino Griffero

What is an “Atmosphere”? As part of the book series “Atmospheric Spaces”, this volume analyses a new phenomenological and aesthetic paradigm based on the notion of the “Atmosphere”, conceived as...


The Absent Hand

by Suzannah Lessard

  • For serious readers of ecocriticism, the theories of human geography, and literary essays, and for fans of Rebecca Solnit, Susan Sontag, or Wendell Berry
  • Lessard is a national bestselling author whose book will...

  • Landscape and the Science Fiction Imaginary

    by John Timberlake

    Landscape and the Science Fiction Imaginary is an original and ambitious exploration of science fiction as a visual cultural discourse. This book argues that a serious account has yet to be given of the key...


    Climate-Wise Landscaping

    by Sue Reed & Ginny Stibolt

    • Sue Reed has 30 years experience as an ecological landscape architect, Ginny Stibolt is a botanist, science advocate and garden writer.
    • Ginny Stibolt blogs at www.greengardeningmatter.com
    • Contains hundreds...


    A New Way of Living

    by Gordon Haynes

    A New Way of Living tells the broad story of the development of new towns in the Scottish Highlands and Islands post-1750. It pulls together the various strands that influenced the development of the North West...


    Gardens of Renaissance Europe and the Islamic Empires

    by Mohammad Gharipour

    The cross-cultural exchange of ideas that flourished in the Mediterranean during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries profoundly affected European and Islamic society. Gardens of Renaissance Europe and the...