Biography & autobiography

Best Selling / Page 296

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Biography & autobiography

 

In category

Personal Memoirs (4035)

Entertainment & Performing Arts (1245)

Historical (1064)

Literary (1024)

Women (1014)

Sports (940)

Political (787)

Composers & Musicians (639)

Military (620)

Religious (576)

Presidents & Heads of State (351)

Rich & Famous (281)

Adventurers & Explorers (255)

Artists, Architects, Photographers (235)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (15796)

French (768)

German (45)

Spanish (1156)

Italian (1653)

 

Protection

All (15796)

DRM Free (384)

DRM (15408)

More options

Full Throttle: The Life and Fast Times of Nascar Legend Curtis Turner

by Robert Edelstein

More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA


You Don't Look Like Anyone I Know: A True Story of Family, Face Blindness, and Forgiveness

by Heather Sellers

A "poignant" (Boston Globe) family memoir that gives new meaning to hindsight, insight, and forgiveness

Heather Sellers is face-blind-that is, she has prosopagnosia, a rare neurological condition that describes...


Torment Saint: The Life of Elliott Smith

by William Todd Schultz

Elliott Smith was one of the most gifted songwriters of the '90s, adored by fans for his subtly melancholic words and melodies.The sadness had its sources in the life.There was trauma from an early age, years...


A Child of the Revolution: William Henry Harrison and His World, 1773-1798

by Hendrik Booraem

The American Revolution gave birth to a nation, forever changed the course of political thought, and shattered and transformed the lives of the citizens of the new republic. An iconic figure of the Old Northwest,...


Hunting the Unicorn: A Critical Biography of Ruth Pitter

by Don W. King

A significant poet in her own right, Ruth Pitter has long deserved this biography, which thoughtfully assesses her place in the British poetic landscape. Popular in the United Kingdom from the early 1930s until...


A Secret Gift: How One Man's Kindness--and a Trove of Letters--Revealed the Hidden History of the Great Depression

by Ted Gup

"A wonderful reminder that economic hardship can bring suffering but can also foster compassion and community." -The Boston Globe

In hard economic times like these, readers will find bestselling author Ted Gup's...


Diaries

by George Orwell, Peter Davison & Christopher Hitchens

A major literary event—the long-awaited publication of George Orwell's diaries, chronicling the events that inspired his greatest works. This groundbreaking volume, never before published in the United States,...


Ann Dvorak: Hollywood's Forgotten Rebel

by Christina Rice

Possessing a unique beauty and refined acting skills, Ann Dvorak (1911--1979) found success in Hollywood at a time when many actors were still struggling to adapt to the era of talkies. Seemingly destined for...


The Crooked Mirror: A Memoir of Polish-Jewish Reconciliation

by Louise Steinman

A lyrical literary memoir that explores the exhilarating, discomforting, and ultimately healing process of Polish-Jewish reconciliation taking place in Poland today

 

Although an estimated 80 percent of American...


Playing House: Notes of a Reluctant Mother

by Lauren Slater

Acclaimed author Lauren Slater ruminates on what it means to be family.

 

Lauren Slater’s rocky childhood left her cold to the idea of ever creating a family of her own, but a husband, two dogs, two children,...


Anthony Van Dyck

by Robin Blake

Blake, an author living in London, explains that the impetus for this biography of the great Dutch painter came from his own connection in childhood to a painting purchased by his grandmother


Trust the Darkness: My Life as a Writer: Caribbean Literature and Poetry

by Anthony C. Winkler

"How could I change an outcome that was set in concrete?... This meant plunging into the darkness..." Jamaican writer Anthony C. Winkler has been called "the unrivalled master of comic writing in the West Indies"....


LZ-'75: The Lost Chronicles of Led Zeppelin's 1975 American Tour

by Stephen Davis

A revealing insider's account of Led Zeppelin's 1975 North American tour from the bestselling author of Hammer of the Gods.

As a young music journalist in 1975, Stephen Davis got the opportunity of a lifetime:...


Molotov Remembers: Inside Kremlin Politics

by Feliz Chuev, V. M. Molotov & Albert Resis

In conversations with the poet-biographer Felix Chuev, Molotov offers an incomparable view of the politics of Soviet society and the nature of Kremlin leadership under communism. Filled with startling insights...


Winter in Taos: Facsimile of Original 1935 Edition

by Mabel Dodge Luhan

"Winter in Taos" starkly contrasts Luhan's memoirs, published in four volumes and inspired by Marcel Proust's "Remembrances of Things Past." They follow her life through three failed marriages, numerous affairs,...


Growing Up Golem

by Donna Minkowitz

In the tradition of Portnoy's Complaint and Alison Bechdel's Fun Home, Donna Minkowitz's Growing Up Golem is an incisive, often funny memoir about growing up inspired by the Jewish legend of the golem. The author's...


The Political Life of Bella Abzug, 1920-1976: Political Passions, Women's Rights, and Congressional Battles

by Alan H. Levy

A Political Biography of Bella Abzug, 1920–1976, explores the political life of one of the most compelling figures in American politics of the 70s. Passionate and intelligent, Abzug was one of the most potent...


The Earth Is Enough: Growing Up in a World of Flyfishing, Trout & Old Men

by Middleton. Harry

Middleton was a masterful author who writes his memoir about a boy, three men and a dog; it is the story of youth and age and of learning and of course, trout.


The Women of the Real Downton Abbey: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey; Lady Catherine, the Earl and the Real Downton Abbey

by Fiona Countess Carnarvon

This collection, available exclusively as an ebook, brings together two tales of Highclere Castle, the grand estate that serves as the central character for the hit PBS show Downton Abbey, from the current...


Heart: An American Medical Odyssey

by Dick Cheney & Jonathan Reiner

For as long as he has served at the highest levels of business and government, Vice President Dick Cheney has also been one of the world’s most prominent heart patients. Now, for the first time ever, Cheney,...