Biography & autobiography

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Biography & autobiography

 

In category

Personal Memoirs (5350)

Entertainment & Performing Arts (1699)

Historical (1428)

Literary (1322)

Women (1306)

Sports (1260)

Political (1013)

Religious (919)

Military (878)

Composers & Musicians (758)

Presidents & Heads of State (487)

Adventurers & Explorers (378)

Rich & Famous (378)

Artists, Architects, Photographers (349)

 

Language

English (20961)

French (2106)

German (1575)

Spanish (1891)

Italian (3188)

 

Protection

All (20961)

DRM Free (667)

DRM (20283)

More options

My Experiments with Truth

by Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi

Four or five years ago, at the instance of some of my nearest co-workers, I agreed to write my autobiography. I made the start, but scarcely had I turned over the first sheet when riots broke out in Bombay and...


On War

by General Carl Von Clausewitz

Carl von Clausewitz was a 19th century military theorist who drew many of his ideas from his own experience as a Prussian soldier. Clausewitz's conception of war is strikingly unique: characterizing it as a...


High Price

by Carl Hart

High Price is the harrowing and inspiring memoir of neuroscientist Carl Hart, a man who grew up in one of Miami’s toughest neighborhoods and, determined to make a difference as an adult, tirelessly applies...


Napoleon and the Rebel

by Marcello Simonetta & Noga Arikha

Lucien was the most talented of the Bonaparte brothers, who not only can be credited for helping Napoleon seize power, but who also had a promising political career of his own. He was a romantic, an idealist,...


Miracles from Heaven: A Little Girl, Her Journey to Heaven, and Her Amazing Story of Healing

by Christy Wilson Beam

"Miracles from Heaven is a powerful, healing story about family, love, faith, and hope. It amazed me and it will inspire readers everywhere.---T.D. Jakes, bestselling author of Destiny

In a remarkable true story...


The Great Coverup: Nixon and the Scandal of Watergate

by Barry Sussman

No American history, government, or journalism collection is complete without this new edition of "The Great Coverup: Nixon and the Scandal of Watergate," by Barry Sussman, the best account of the fall of Richard...


Mein Kampf: My Struggle

by Adolf Hitler

Adolf Hitler wrote this book when he was in prison for his political activities. During that time, Germany had been weakened by the Treaty of Versailles, and France had seized several parts of Germany. France...


A Man of Honor

by Joseph Bonanno

"Friendships, connections, family ties, trust, loyalty, obedience-this was the 'glue' that held us together."

These were the principles that the greatest Mafia "Boss of Bosses," Joseph Bonnano, lived by. Born...


Cider With Roadies

by Stuart Maconie

Cider with Roadies is the true story of a boy's obsessive relationship with pop. A life lived through music from Stuart's audience with the Beatles (aged 3); his confessions as a pubescent prog rocker; a youthful...


The Conquest of New Spain

by Bernal Diaz del Castillo

Conquest of New Spain is the first-person narrative of Bernal Díaz del Castillo (1492-1581), the 16th-century military adventurer, conquistador, and colonist settler. It is a vivid, military account that establishes...


Carl Sagan: A Life

by Keay Davidson

A penetrating, mesmerizing biography of a scientific icon

"Absolutely fascinating . . . Davidson has done a remarkable job."-Sir Arthur C. Clarke

"Engaging . . . accessible, carefully documented . . . sophisticated."-Dr....


12 Years A Slave

by Solomon Northup

When Solomon Northup, born a free black man in Saratoga, New York, was offered a short-term job with a circus in Washington, D.C., in 1841, he jumped at the opportunity. But when he arrived, he was kidnapped...


Before Lewis and Clark

by Shirley Christian

Shortly after Meriweather Lewis reached St. Louis in 1803 to plan for his voyage to the Pacific with William Clark, he prepared his first packet of flora and fauna from west of the Mississippi and dispatched...


Monkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety

by Daniel Smith

Daniel Smith’s Monkey Mind is the stunning articulation of what it is like to live with anxiety. As he travels through anxiety’s demonic layers, Smith defangs the disorder with great humor and evocatively...


Our Father in Gethsemane: Thoughts for the Holy Hour

by Francis P. Donnelly SJ

Originally published in 1935, this volume offers a variety of spiritual counsels and reflections; these are arranged on a framework of the phrases of the Our Father, giving special attention to the sufferings...


The Holy Shroud and Four Visions

by Patrick O'Connell

A fascinating study of the Winding Sheet Our Lord was wrapped in (now in Turin, Italy) with a comparison from the visions of four famous mystics: St. Bridget of Sweden, Ven. Mary of Agreda, Ven. Anne Catherine...


Quantum

by Manjit Kumar

'This is about gob-smacking science at the far end of reason … Take it nice and easy and savour the experience of your mind being blown without recourse to hallucinogens' Nicholas Lezard, Guardian

For most...


When Breath Becomes Air

by Paul Kalanithi & Abraham Verghese

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis...


The Whole Harmonium: The Life of Wallace Stevens

by Paul Mariani

A perceptive, enlightening biography of one the most important American poets of the twentieth century—Wallace Stevens—as seen through his lifelong quest to find and describe the sublime in the human experience....


The Steady Climb: A Family Journey From Mountains to Markets

by Jay Hack & Mark Springer

Long-term investing, like mountain climbing, is a journey with no shortcuts to success. In The Steady Climb, Jay Hack, financial advisor and former mountain guide, shares a philosophy of wealth management passed...