Biography & autobiography / Historical

Best Selling / Page 13

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (1001)

French (97)

German (9)

Spanish (94)

Italian (155)

 

Protection

All (1001)

DRM Free (13)

DRM (988)

More options

Mao: A Reinterpretation

by Lee Feigon

Mr. Feigon argues that the movements for which Mao is almost universally condemned today-the Great Leap Forward and especially the Cultural Revolution-were in many ways beneficial for the Chinese people. While...


Cadwallader Colden: A Biography

by Seymour I. Schwartz

The first complete biography of Cadwallader Colden (1688-1776), the longest-serving Lieutenant Governor of New York and a brilliant intellectual, multifaceted colonial Renaissance man, and consummate royalist....


Singing From the Gallows: The Story of "Bad Tom" Smith

by Wayne Combs

Hazard, Kentucky is the setting for this historical story enhanced with some fiction, amazingly well told by author Wayne Combs, the great grandson of Bad Tom Smith. "Bad Tom" Smith was a notorious and murderous...


Whistleblower, Soldier, Spy: A Journey into the Dark Heart of the Global War on Terror

by Tom Clonan

Captain Tom Clonan’s odyssey begins as an Irish army officer in war-torn Lebanon and Bosnia. As a soldier, he witnesses the brutality and squalor of war in the conflict zones of the Middle East and Central...


Lincoln Steffens: A Biography

by Justin Kaplan

The acclaimed Pulitzer Prize winning biographer of Mark Twain and Walt Whitman brings alive the life and world of Lincoln Steffens, the original Muckraker and father of American investigative journalism.

Early...


Jesus: A Biography from a Believer.

by Paul Johnson

The definitive life of Jesus from the bestselling author of A History of Christianity.

Few figures have had such an influence on the world as Jesus of Nazareth. Paul Johnson's brilliant and powerful reading...


Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

by Poe Ballantine & Cheryl Strayed

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.

For well over twenty years, Poe...


Pool of Life: The Autobiography of a Punjabi Agony Aunt

by Kailash Puri & Eleanor Nesbitt

This life story of Kailash Puri, a Punjabi author and advice columnist, connects the narrative of her life to the history of Punjabi diaspora and themes in Sikh studies. Beginning with her memories of childhood...


The Great Debate: Edmund Burke, Thomas Paine, and the Birth of Right and Left

by Yuval Levin

For more than two centuries, our political life has been divided between a party of progress and a party of conservation. In The Great Debate, Yuval Levin explores the origins of the left/right divide in America...


The Padre of Isleta: The Story of Father Anton Docher; Facsimile of the 1940 Edition

by Julia Keleher & Elsie Ruth Chant

Adolph F. Bandelier, Charles Fletcher Lummis, and Father Anton Docher are names closely associated with the early colonial days in New Mexico. All of these characters appear in this narrative of Isleta Pueblo...


The Real Billy the Kid: With new light on the LINCOLN COUNTY WAR; Facsimile of Original 1936 Edition

by Miguel Antonio Otero

Miguel Antonio Otero served as the first Hispanic governor of the U.S. Territory of New Mexico, from 1897 to 1906. He was appointed to the office by President William McKinley. Long after his retirement from...


Citizen Emperor: Napoleon in Power

by Philip Dwyer

In this second volume of Philip Dwyer’s authoritative biography on one of history’s most enthralling leaders, Napoleon, now 30, takes his position as head of the French state after the 1799 coup. Dwyer...


A Greater Love

by Olga Watkins & James Gillespie

The true story of a woman's incredible journey into the heart of the Third Reich to find the man she loves. When the Gestapo seize 20-year-old Olga Czepf's fiance she is determined to find him and sets off on...


Madam Atatürk: The First Lady of Modern Turkey

by Ipek Calislar

Mustafa Kemal Atatürk is hailed as one of the most charismatic political leaders of the twentieth century, but little is known today about his one and only wife, Latife Hanim. A multilingual intellectual educated...


A Stone for Benjamin

by Fiona Gold Kroll

Since childhood, author Fiona Gold Kroll has been drawn to a photograph of her great-uncle, Benjamin Albaum, a Jewish man who disappeared from Paris at the beginning of World War II. A Stone for Benjamin is...


Surrender on Demand

by Varian Fry & Warren Christopher

Like Oskar Schindler and Raoul Wallenberg, Varian Fry risked his life to rescue those targeted by the Gestapo in "the most gigantic man-trap in history." Now, more than fifty years later, the story of this neglected...


That Irishman: The Life and Times of John O'Conner Power

by Jane Stanford

The story of John O'Conner Power is the story of Ireland's struggle for nationhood itself. Born into poverty in Ballinasloe in 1846, O'Conner Power spent much of his childhood in the workhouse. From here he...


The Man He Became: How FDR Defied Polio to Win the Presidency

by James Tobin

Here, from James Tobin, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award in biography, is the story of the greatest comeback in American political history, a saga long buried in half-truth, distortion and myth—...


The Silent Heroes: A Memoir of Holland During WWII

by Hans Moederzoon van Kuilenburg

Synopsis:

Author Hans Moederzoon van Kuilenburg was a 10-year-old girl living in Amsterdam when German soldiers invaded Holland in the spring of 1940. The Dutch had intended to stay neutral at the outbreak...


Black Livingstone: A True Tale of Adventure in the Nineteenth-Century Congo

by Pagan Kennedy

A largely untold story of an extraordinary historical figure, this biography sheds light on the life of William Sheppard, a 19th-century African American who, for more than 20 years, defied segregation and operated...