Biography & autobiography / Historical

Best Selling / Page 18

icon Subscribe to feed


Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection




Delete Historical





Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :



English (1268)

French (211)

German (155)

Spanish (136)

Italian (311)



All (1268)

DRM Free (48)

DRM (1220)

More options

New Deal or Raw Deal?: How FDR's Economic Legacy Has Damaged America

by Burton W. Folsom & Burton W., Jr. Folsom

A sharply critical new look at Franklin D. Roosevelt's presidency reveals government policies that hindered economic recovery from the Great Depression -- and are still hurting America today.

In this shocking...

Mao: A Reinterpretation

by Lee Feigon

Mr. Feigon argues that the movements for which Mao is almost universally condemned today-the Great Leap Forward and especially the Cultural Revolution-were in many ways beneficial for the Chinese people. While...

Cadwallader Colden: A Biography

by Seymour I. Schwartz

The first complete biography of Cadwallader Colden (1688-1776), the longest-serving Lieutenant Governor of New York and a brilliant intellectual, multifaceted colonial Renaissance man, and consummate royalist....

Singing From the Gallows: The Story of "Bad Tom" Smith

by Wayne Combs

Hazard, Kentucky is the setting for this historical story enhanced with some fiction, amazingly well told by author Wayne Combs, the great grandson of Bad Tom Smith. "Bad Tom" Smith was a notorious and murderous...

Lincoln Steffens: A Biography

by Justin Kaplan

The acclaimed Pulitzer Prize winning biographer of Mark Twain and Walt Whitman brings alive the life and world of Lincoln Steffens, the original Muckraker and father of American investigative journalism.


Jesus: A Biography from a Believer.

by Paul Johnson

From the bestselling author and acclaimed historian, a powerful portrayal of the life of Jesus

Is Jesus relevant to us today? Few figures have had such an influ­ence on history as Jesus of Nazareth. His...

Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

by Poe Ballantine & Cheryl Strayed

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.

For well over twenty years, Poe...

Pool of Life: The Autobiography of a Punjabi Agony Aunt

by Kailash Puri & Eleanor Nesbitt

This life story of Kailash Puri, a Punjabi author and advice columnist, connects the narrative of her life to the history of Punjabi diaspora and themes in Sikh studies. Beginning with her memories of childhood...

The Great Debate: Edmund Burke, Thomas Paine, and the Birth of Right and Left

by Yuval Levin

For more than two centuries, our political life has been divided between a party of progress and a party of conservation. In The Great Debate, Yuval Levin explores the origins of the left/right divide in America...

The Padre of Isleta: The Story of Father Anton Docher; Facsimile of the 1940 Edition

by Julia Keleher & Elsie Ruth Chant

Adolph F. Bandelier, Charles Fletcher Lummis, and Father Anton Docher are names closely associated with the early colonial days in New Mexico. All of these characters appear in this narrative of Isleta Pueblo...

The Real Billy the Kid: With new light on the LINCOLN COUNTY WAR; Facsimile of Original 1936 Edition

by Miguel Antonio Otero

Miguel Antonio Otero served as the first Hispanic governor of the U.S. Territory of New Mexico, from 1897 to 1906. He was appointed to the office by President William McKinley. Long after his retirement from...

Citizen Emperor: Napoleon in Power

by Philip Dwyer

In this second volume of Philip Dwyer’s authoritative biography on one of history’s most enthralling leaders, Napoleon, now 30, takes his position as head of the French state after the 1799 coup. Dwyer...

A Stone for Benjamin

by Fiona Gold Kroll

Since childhood, author Fiona Gold Kroll has been drawn to a photograph of her great-uncle, Benjamin Albaum, a Jewish man who disappeared from Paris at the beginning of World War II. A Stone for Benjamin is...

Surrender on Demand

by Varian Fry & Warren Christopher

Like Oskar Schindler and Raoul Wallenberg, Varian Fry risked his life to rescue those targeted by the Gestapo in "the most gigantic man-trap in history." Now, more than fifty years later, the story of this neglected...

The Man He Became: How FDR Defied Polio to Win the Presidency

by James Tobin

Here, from James Tobin, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award in biography, is the story of the greatest comeback in American political history, a saga long buried in half-truth, distortion, and myth—Franklin...

The Silent Heroes: A Memoir of Holland During WWII

by Hans Moederzoon van Kuilenburg


Author Hans Moederzoon van Kuilenburg was a 10-year-old girl living in Amsterdam when German soldiers invaded Holland in the spring of 1940. The Dutch had intended to stay neutral at the outbreak...

Black Livingstone: A True Tale of Adventure in the Nineteenth-Century Congo

by Pagan Kennedy

A largely untold story of an extraordinary historical figure, this biography sheds light on the life of William Sheppard, a 19th-century African American who, for more than 20 years, defied segregation and operated...

Just Jackie: Her Private Years

by Edward Klein

In this journalistic tour de force, bestselling author Edward Klein, a friend of Jacqueline Onassis's for many years, takes us behind the public image to give us a story that has never been told before. For...

The Political Life of Bella Abzug, 1920-1976: Political Passions, Women's Rights, and Congressional Battles

by Alan H. Levy

A Political Biography of Bella Abzug, 1920–1976, explores the political life of one of the most compelling figures in American politics of the 70s. Passionate and intelligent, Abzug was one of the most potent...

The Women of the Real Downton Abbey: Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey; Lady Catherine, the Earl and the Real Downton Abbey

by Fiona Countess Carnarvon

This collection, available exclusively as an ebook, brings together two tales of Highclere Castle, the grand estate that serves as the central character for the hit PBS show Downton Abbey, from the current...