Biography & autobiography / Women

Best Selling / Page 2

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Women

 

Language

English (1287)

French (86)

German (157)

Spanish (109)

Italian (287)

 

Protection

All (1287)

DRM Free (43)

DRM (1243)

More options

Why I Jumped: A Dramatic Story of Finding Hope beyond Depression

by Tina Zahn

Readers won't be able to put down this powerful true story of crippling depression, dramatic rescue, and a return to hope. Now in paperback.


The Anti-Romantic Child: A Story of Unexpected Joy

by Priscilla Gilman

The Anti-Romantic Child is remarkable. This haunting and lyrical memoir will be an invaluable and heartening guide to all who find themselves in similar situations and indeed anyone confronting an unforeseen...


Reading My Father: A Memoir

by Alexandra Styron

PART MEMOIR AND PART ELEGY, READING MY FATHER IS THE STORY OF A DAUGHTER COMING TO KNOW HER FATHER AT LAST— A GIANT AMONG TWENTIETH-CENTURY AMERICAN NOVELISTS AND A MAN WHOSE DEVASTATING DEPRESSION DARKENED...


50 Women: Book One

by Jessica Buchleitner

50 Women, Book One is the first part of a two book anthology series of personal stories of strength and perseverance told by 50 different women from 30 countries. In these individual stories, the women discuss...


The Phantom of Fifth Avenue: The Mysterious Life and Scandalous Death of Heiress Huguette Clark

by Meryl Gordon

Born in 1906, Huguette Clark grew up in her family's 121-room Beaux Arts mansion in New York and was one of the leading celebrities of her day. Her father William Andrews Clark, was a copper magnate, the second...


The Romanov Sisters

by Helen Rappaport

A New York Times Bestseller for 12 weeks!

"Helen Rappaport paints a compelling portrait of the doomed grand duchesses." —People magazine

"The public spoke of the sisters in a gentile, superficial manner, but...


It Seemed Important at the Time: A Romance Memoir

by Gloria Vanderbilt

An elegant, witty, frank, touching, and deeply personal account of the loves both great and fleeting in the life of one of America's most celebrated and fabled women.

Born to great wealth yet kept a virtual...


Until I Say Good-Bye

by Susan Spencer-Wendel & Bret Witter

In June 2011, Susan Spencer-Wendel learned she had amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)—Lou Gehrig's disease—an irreversible condition that systematically destroys the nerves that power the muscles. She was...


Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard

by Liz Murray

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard.

Liz Murray was born to loving but...


Zlata's Diary: A Child's Life in Wartime Sarajevo: Revised Edition

by Zlata Filipovic

When Zlata’s Diary was first published at the height of the Bosnian conflict, it became an international bestseller and was compared to The Diary of Anne Frank, both for the freshness of its voice and the...


John Lennon: In His Own Words

by Ken Lawrence

As writer, actor, and activist, his words and music shaped a generation. John Lennon: In His Own Words is a fitting tribute to a man who changed the world with his music and his message.

John Lennon inspired...


I Love You And I'm Leaving You Anyway: A Memoir

by Tracy McMillan

Television writer Tracy McMillan’s comic literary road trip into the heart and soul of her relationship with her father—a convicted pimp, drug dealer, and felon—and what it has meant for her relationships...


Save Karyn

by Karyn Bosnak

Drowning in $20,000 of credit card debt, shopaholic Karyn Bosnak asked strangers for money online -- and it worked!

What would you do if you owed $20,000? Would you: A) not tell your parents? B) start your own...


Margaret Thatcher: From Grantham to the Falklands

by Charles Moore

With unequaled authority and dramatic detail, the first volume of Charles Moore’s authorized biography of Margaret Thatcher reveals as never before the early life, rise to power, and first years as prime minister...


Reading Jackie: Her Autobiography in Books

by William Kuhn

Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis never wrote a memoir, but she told her life story and revealed herself in intimate ways through the nearly 100 books she brought into print during the last two decades of her life...


The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II

by Denise Kiernan

THE GIRLS OF ATOMIC C ITY

AT THE HEIGHT OF WORLD WAR II, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, was home to 75,000 residents, consuming more electricity than New York City. But to most of the world, the town did not exist. Thousands...


Desert Queen

by Janet Wallach

Turning her back on her privileged life in Victorian England, Gertrude Bell (1868-1926), fired by her innate curiosity, journeyed the world and became fascinated with all things Arab. Traveling the length and...


What's It All About?

by Cilla Black

Cilla Black is without doubt one of Britain's most treasured personalities. Generations have grown up with Cilla's music, TV shows, and performances. But how much do we really know about 'the girl with the bright...


Ball of Fire: The Tumultuous Life and Comic Art of Lucille Ball

by Stefan Kanfer

As a movie actress Lucille Ball was, in her own words, “queen of the B-pluses.” But on the small screen she was a superstar–arguably the funniest and most enduring in the history of TV. In this exemplary...


Bella Abzug

by Suzanne Braun Levine & Mary Thom

"I've been described as a tough and noisy woman, a prize fighter, a man-hater, you name it. They call me Battling Bella, Mother Courage, and a Jewish mother with more complaints than Portnoy. There are those...