Biography & autobiography / Women

Best Selling / Page 22

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Women

 

Language

English (1302)

French (86)

German (157)

Spanish (109)

Italian (287)

 

Protection

All (1302)

DRM Free (43)

DRM (1258)

More options

Postcards from Cookie

by Caroline Clarke

Award-winning journalist and host of Black "Enterprise" Business Report Caroline Clarke's moving memoir of her surprise discovery of her birthmother—Cookie Cole, the daughter of Nat King Cole—and the relationship...


Zen Under Fire: How I Found Peace in the Midst of War

by Marianne Elliott

One woman's fight to deliver peace and eliminate bloodshed in the midst of one of the most notorious conflicts of our time

In the tradition of Dear Zari and Barefoot in Baghdad, Zen Under Fire lays bare the...


The Dog Lived (and So Will I): The poignant, honest, hilarious memoir of a cancer survivor

by Teresa J. Rhyne

The #1 New York Times bestseller

The #1 Wall Street Journal bestseller

USA Today bestseller

"Funny, smart, uplifting, and fun, The Dog Lived (and So Will I) reminds us that animals are among our best teachers,...


Sweet Hell on Fire: A Memoir of the Prison I Worked in and the Prison I Lived in

by Sara Lunsford

"A gritty, raw, and engrossing voice."-Publishers Weekly

I was a bad mother,

a bad daughter,

a bad wife, a bad friend.

Boozed out and tired,

with no dreams

and no future.

But I was a good officer.

Sara Lunsford...


Margaret Fuller: A New American Life

Pulitzer Prize for Biography or Autobiography 2014

by Megan Marshall

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Biography The award-winning author of The Peabody Sisters takes a fresh look at the trailblazing life of a great American heroine—Thoreau’s first editor, Emerson’s close...


Helping Me Help Myself

by Beth Lisick

Beth Lisick has had a lifelong phobia of anything slick, cheesy, or that remotely claims to provide self-empowerment. But on New Year's Day 2006, she wakes up finally able to admit that something has to change....


Everybody into the Pool

by Beth Lisick

Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted...


Chasing Grace: Reflections of a Catholic Girl, Grown Up

by Martha Manning

From the author of the "absolutely absorbing" (USA Today) memoir Undercurrents comes an unforgettable portrait of childhood, family and community. The eldest child of a devout Irish-American Catholic family,...


The Sisters Who Would Be Queen: Mary, Katherine, and Lady Jane Grey: A Tudor Tragedy

by Leanda De Lisle

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Mary, Katherine, and Jane Grey–sisters whose mere existence nearly toppled a kingdom and altered a nation’s destiny–are the captivating subjects of Leanda de Lisle’s new book....


Jokes My Father Never Taught Me

by Rain Pryor

The loving yet brutally honest memoir of the daughter of comedy legend Richard Pryor

Rain Pryor was born in the idealistic, free-love 1960s. Her mother was a Jewish go-go dancer who wanted a tribe of rainbow...


Oh the Hell of It All

by Pat Montandon

Thrust into the media spotlight with her son Sean Wilsey's searing portrayal of her in his New York Times bestseller Oh the Glory of It All, the former queen of San Francisco society shares her own candid take...


The Best of Friends

by Sara James & Ginger Mauney

From sharing secrets as children to chasing unconventional dreams as adults, network correspondent Sara James and wildlife filmmaker Ginger Mauney explore their learning curve on life through the lens of their...


Model Patient

by Karen Duffy

From Revlon spokesmodel to film actress to one of People magazine's "50 Most Beautiful People," Karen Duffy was living the life most of us only dream of. Then her whirlwind life of celebrity parties came to...


American Childhood

by Annie Dillard

A book that instantly captured the hearts of readers across the country, An American Childhood is Pulitzer Prize-winning author Annie Dillard's poignant, vivid memoir of growing up in Pittsburgh in the 1950s....


First Ladies: An Intimate Group Portrait of White House Wives

by Margaret Truman

This well-informed, intimate look at 29 women whose lives were intertwined with those who lead and have led this country presents forthright interviews with Lady Bird Johnson, Hillary Clinton, Nancy Reagan,...


Leaving Church

by Barbara Brown Taylor

“This beautiful book is rich with wit and humanness and honesty and loving detail….I cannot overstate how liberating and transforming I have found Leaving Church to be.” —Frederick Buechner, author of...


Waiting

by Debra Ginsberg

A veteran waitress dishes up a spicy and robust account of life as it really exists behind kitchen doors.

Part memoir, part social commentary, part guide to how to behave when dining out, Debra Ginsberg's book...


No Lifeguard on Duty

by Janice Dickinson

Now in trade paperback for the first time, No Lifeguard on Duty is the ultimate memoir of sex, drugs, rock & roll, and redemption from modeling icon Janice Dickinson. From her supermodel glory days with Gia...


Phrenology - How to Tell Your Own and Your Friend's Character from the Shape of the Head

by Charles H. Olin

In this book Olin sets forth the teachings of the great phrenologists of the past, together with the latest and best ideas on the subject, in what is intended to be a simple, clear and interesting manner. So...


Betty Bumpers: Champion of Childhood Immunization and Peace

by Anna L. Eblen & Martha Jane Eblen

Betty Bumpers: Champion of Childhood Immunization and Peace explores the significance of Bumpers’ work, situating her story within the context of the history and society of the late twentieth century. Her...