Biography & autobiography / Women

Best Selling / Page 22

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Women

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (1055)

French (33)

German (2)

Spanish (81)

Italian (152)

 

Protection

All (1055)

DRM Free (25)

DRM (1029)

More options

Fighting for Life

by S. Josephine Baker & Helen Epstein

New York’s Lower East Side was said to be the most densely populated square mile on earth in the 1890s. Health inspectors called the neighborhood “the suicide ward.” Diarrhea epidemics raged each summer,...


Why Do Only White People Get Abducted by Aliens?: Teaching Lessons from the Bronx

by Ilana Garon

American Book Fest's 2014 International Book Awards Finalist

According to Ilana Garon, popular books and movies are inundated with the myth of the “hero teacher”—the one who charges headfirst into dysfunctional...


Helping Yourself Help Others: A Book for Caregivers

by Rosalynn Carter & Susan K. Golant

The chances are good that every one of us will become a caregiver at some point in our lives. We come to this challenge in the most personal way possible—we want to help someone we love, but we don’t know...


Among the White Moon Faces: An Asian-American Memoir of Homelands

by Shirley Geok-lin Lim

"Lim recounts her journey with a poet's eye for detail and a storyteller's gift for narrative."--Ms.


Vertigo: A Memoir

by Louise DeSalvo & Edvige Giunta

Grippingabout how 'a working-class Italian American girl' became a critic and writer.--Kirkus Reviews


Love Italian Style

by Melissa Gorga

Real Housewives of New Jersey star Melissa Gorga shows you how to love your man and keep him happy, satisfied, faithful, and devoted to you.

 

What you see is what you get with Melissa Gorga. On Real Housewives...


The Profiler: My Life Hunting Serial Killers and Psychopaths

by Pat Brown & Bob Andelman

In 1990, a young woman was strangled on a jogging path near the home of Pat Brown and her family. Brown suspected the young man who was renting a room in her house, and quickly uncovered strong evidence that...


A Tiger in the Kitchen: A Memoir of Food and Family

by Cheryl Tan

"Starting with charred fried rice and ending with flaky pineapple tarts, Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan takes us along on a personal journey that most can only fantasize about--an exploration of family history and culture...


Loose Girl: A Memoir of Promiscuity

by Kerry Cohen

For everyone who was that girl.

For everyone who knew that girl.

For everyone who wondered who that girl was. Kerry Cohen is eleven years old when she recognizes the power of her body in the leer of a grown man....


Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard

by Liz Murray

In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard.

Liz Murray was born to loving but...


The Mighty Queens of Freeville: A Mother, a Daughter, and the Town That Raised Them

by Amy Dickinson

Dear Amy,

First my husband told me he didn't love me. Then he said he didn't think he had ever really loved me. Then he left me with a baby to raise by myself. Amy, I don't want to be a single mother.

I told myself...


Happy Accidents

by Jane Lynch

In the summer of 1974, a fourteen-year-old girl in Dolton, Illinois, had a dream. A dream to become an actress, like her idols Ron Howard and Vicki Lawrence. But it was a long way from the South Side of Chicago...


Forbidden Lessons in a Kabul Guesthouse: The True Story of a Woman Who Risked Everything to Bring Hope to Afghanistan

by Damien Lewis & Suraya Sadeed

Includes a Reading Group Guide and Author Q&A

From her first humanitarian visit to Afghanistan in 1994, Suraya Sadeed has been personally delivering relief and hope to Afghan orphans and refugees, to women and...


My Extraordinary Ordinary Life

by Sissy Spacek & Maryanne Vollers

In her delightful and moving memoir, Sissy Spacek writes about her idyllic, barefoot childhood in a small East Texas town, with the clarity and wisdom that comes from never losing sight of her roots. Descended...


Residence Georgian Plantation

by Frances Anne Kemble

Fanny Kemble was one of the leading lights of the English theater in the nineteenth century. During a triumphant tour of America, she met and married a wealthy Philadelphian, Pierce Butler, part of whose fortune...


C'est La Vie: An American Woman Begins a New Life in Paris and--Voila!--Becomes Almost French

by Suzy Gershman

Bestselling writer Suzy Gershman (dubbed “Super Shopper Suzy” by Oprah) is our answer to Peter Mayle in this heartfelt, breezy, and funny story of starting over in Paris. Suzy had always fantasized about...


Arts to Intelligence

by Doreen Galvin

Doreen Galvin's work in WWII was classified as "Top Secret" for at least 30 years after the cessation of hostilities. The atmosphere and events of the time, she wrote down many years later.

She relates personal...


In the City: Random Acts of Awareness

by Colette Brooks

An award-winning kaleidoscope of a book that "shocks and stirs the urban heart," capturing city life on the edge of the twenty-first century. What kind of person is a city person?

This is a question of increasing...


Jane Austen: Obstinate Heart

by Valerie Grosvenor Myer

There has been a veritable explosion of interest in the works of Jane Austen during the last two years. With five films based on Austen novels recently released via film and television, her books are finding...


The Little Locksmith: A Memoir

by Katharine Butler Hathaway & Alix Kates Shulman

Classic memoir of a disabled woman's spiritual growth, called "a testament to the human spirit."