Biography & autobiography / Editors, Journalists, Publishers

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (145)

French (50)

German (44)

Spanish (91)

Italian (113)

 

Category

Delete Editors, Journalists, Publishers

 

Protection

All (145)

DRM Free (10)

DRM (135)

More options

A Man and His Words

by J. Patrick Boyer

Robert Boyer is an author, researcher, editor, and public speaker; a member of the Ontario Legislature for 17 years; and the first vice-chairman of Ontario Hydro.


Eye On the Struggle

by James McGrath Morris

In this groundbreaking biography, celebrated author James McGrath Morris skillfully illuminates the life and accomplishments of pioneering journalist Ethel Lois Payne, while also bringing to the fore the critical...


Angry Optimist

by Lisa Rogak

A New York Times Bestseller

Since his arrival at The Daily Show in 1999, Jon Stewart has become one of the major players in comedy as well as one of the most significant liberal voices in the media. In Angry...


Foreign Correspondent

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Man from Essence

by Audrey Edwards, Edward Lewis & Camille O. Cosby

Essence magazine is the most popular, well respected, and largest circulated black women’s magazine in history. Largely unknown is the remarkable story of what it took to earn that distinction.

The Man from...


Merchant of Words: The Life of Robert St. John

by Terry Fred Horowitz

During World War II, Robert St. John of NBC, broadcast from London opposite CBS's Edward R. Murrow. Afterward, St. John would become a noted writer and commentator on world affairs, as well as a prominent and...


Stonewalled

by Sharyl Attkisson

Seasoned CBS reporter Sharyl Attkisson reveals how she has been electronically surveilled while digging deep into the Obama Administration and its scandals, and offers an incisive critique of her industry and...


The Hot Seat

by Piers Morgan

From ultimate media insider Piers Morgan, an adrenaline-fueled account of life at CNN, exclusive stories about his celebrity encounters, and details about his high-profile decision to take on the issue of gun...


Muckrakers: A Biographical Dictionary of Writers and Editors

by Edd Applegate

Professor Edd Applegate profiles the men and women who either wrote muckraking journalism or edited publications that featured muckraking articles. Some of the most important figures of journalism are here,...


Publisher

by Tom Maschler

Tom Maschler launched the careers of Thomas Pynchon, Joseph Heller, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Julian Barnes, Martin Amis, Ian McEwan and Bruce Chatwin -- among others. His name now almost synonymous with the Cape...


Dispatches from the Edge

by Anderson Cooper

From one of America’s leading reporters comes a deeply personal, extraordinarily powerful look at the most volatile crises he has witnessed around the world, from New Orleans to Baghdad and beyond.

Dispatches...


True Story: Murder, Memoir, Mea Culpa

by Michael Finkel

In the haunting tradition of Joe McGinniss's Fatal Vision and Mikal Gilmore's Shot in the Heart, True Story: Murder, Memoir, Mea Culpa weaves a spellbinding tale of murder, love, and deceit with a deeply personal...


The Man Time Forgot

by Isaiah Wilner

Friends, collaborators, and childhood rivals, Briton Hadden and Henry R. Luce were not yet twenty-five when they started Time, the first newsmagazine, at the outset of the Roaring Twenties. By age thirty, they...


America's Mom: The Life, Letters, and Legacy of Ann Lan

by Rick Kogan

For two generations of Americans, reading Ann Landers's daily column was as important as eating breakfast. For nearly fifty years an entire nation turned to this quick-witted, worldly-wise counselor for advice...


Writing Places

by William Zinsser

“William Zinsser turns his zest, warmth and curiosity—his sharp but forgiving eye—on his own story. The result is lively, funny and moving, especially for anyone who cares about art and the business of...


Then We Were One: Fragments of Two Lives

by Fred A. Reed

This literary translator brings us a finely wrought autobiography that arcs from southern California through Iran, Syria, Lebanon and Canada.


After Daniel

by Moira Farr

Moira Farr discovered Daniel Jones’ body on Valentine’s Day, 1994. Struggling with deep depression, he had killed himself using a method clearly outlined in the bestselling book, Final Exit. Six years later,...


After Visiting Friends: A Son's Story

by Michael Hainey

This haunting story of a son’s quest to understand the mystery of his father’s death is “searing and unforgettable…memoir writing at its best” (San Francisco Chronicle)—a “powerfully affecting”...


The Tender Hour of Twilight

by Richard Seaver, Jeannette Seaver & James Salter

From Beckett to Burroughs, The Story of O to The Autobiography of Malcolm X, an iconic literary troublemaker tells the colorful stories behind the stories

Richard Seaver came to Paris in 1950 seeking Hemingway's...


In the Long Run

by Jim Axelrod

It's 2008. Jim Axelrod—once among the most watched correspondents on network news and the first television reporter to broadcast from Saddam International Airport in 2003—is covering the final stages of...