Biography & autobiography / Editors, Journalists, Publishers

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

 

Category

Delete Editors, Journalists, Publishers

 

Language

English (277)

French (48)

German (39)

Spanish (80)

Italian (102)

 

Protection

All (277)

DRM Free (5)

DRM (272)

More options

Pioneer Printer: Samuel Bangs in Mexico and Texas

by Lota M. Spell

Samuel Bangs, the first printer in the territory that is now Texas, once owed his life to his printing press. One of the few survivors of the Mina Expedition to Mexico in 1817, Bangs wrote to Servando de Mier,...


A Writer at War: A Soviet Journalist with the Red Army, 1941-1945

by Vasily Grossman

When the Germans invaded Russia in 1941, Vasily Grossman became a special correspondent for the Red Star, the Soviet Army's newspaper, and reported from the frontlines of the war. A Writer at War depicts in...


The Search for Anne Perry: The Hidden Life of a Bestselling Crime Writer

by Joanne Drayton

A New York Times Best Seller!

In 1994, director Peter Jackson released the movie Heavenly Creatures, based on a famous 1950s matricide committed in New Zealand by two teenage girls embroiled in an obsessive relationship....


A Man and His Words

by J. Patrick Boyer

Robert Boyer is an author, researcher, editor, and public speaker; a member of the Ontario Legislature for 17 years; and the first vice-chairman of Ontario Hydro.


City Room

by Arthur Gelb

A New York Times Notable Book

Arthur Gelb was hired by The New York Times in 1944 as a night copyboy—the paper’s lowliest position. Forty-five years later, he retired as its managing editor. Along the way,...


Eye On the Struggle

by James McGrath Morris

In this groundbreaking biography, celebrated author James McGrath Morris skillfully illuminates the life and accomplishments of pioneering journalist Ethel Lois Payne, while also bringing to the fore the critical...


Bad Girls Go Everywhere: The Life of Helen Gurley Brown, the Woman Behind Cosmopolitan Magazine

by Jennifer Scanlon

The biography of the revolutionary magazine editor who created the “Cosmo Girl” before Sex and the City’s Carrie Bradshaw was even born

As the author of the iconic Sex and the Single Girl (1962) and the...


Angry Optimist

by Lisa Rogak

A New York Times Bestseller

Since his arrival at The Daily Show in 1999, Jon Stewart has become one of the major players in comedy as well as one of the most significant liberal voices in the media. In Angry...


Robert Estienne's Influence on Lexicography

by DeWitt T. Starnes

Towering above printers of his time and their successors for many years afterward was the figure of Robert Estienne, the great French lexicographer of the sixteenth century, whose contribution to knowledge and...


Foreign Correspondent: A Memoir

by H.D.S. Greenway

David Greenway, a journalist’s journalist in the tradition of Michael Herr, David Halberstam, and Dexter Filkins. In this vivid memoir, he tells us what it’s like to report a war up close.

Reporter David...


The Man from Essence: Creating a Magazine for Black Women

by Audrey Edwards, Edward Lewis & Camille O. Cosby

Essence magazine is the most popular, well respected, and largest circulated black women’s magazine in history. Largely unknown is the remarkable story of what it took to earn that distinction.

The Man from...


Special Heart: A Journey of Faith, Hope, Courage and Love

by Bret Baier & Jim Mills

Fox News Channel anchor Bret Baier shares the New York Times bestselling story of his son Paul's ongoing battle with heart disease, and how it transformed his own life and family.

This deeply touching personal...


Woodward and Bernstein: Life in the Shadow of Watergate

by Alicia C. Shepard

Based on new interviews and never-before-seen archival materials, Woodward and Bernstein takes a fresh, thought-provoking look at this unlikely journalistic duo. Thrown together by fate or luck, Woodward and...


An Autobiography of Joseph Conrad

by Stephen Brennan

Heart of Darkness author Joseph Conrad (born Józef Teodor Konrad Korzeniowski in 1857) was a Polish writer who learned to read, write, and speak English after he was granted British nationality in 1886. Although...


Merchant of Words: The Life of Robert St. John

by Terry Fred Horowitz

During World War II, Robert St. John of NBC, broadcast from London opposite CBS's Edward R. Murrow. Afterward, St. John would become a noted writer and commentator on world affairs, as well as a prominent and...


A Sliver of Light: Three Americans Imprisoned in Iran

by Shane Bauer, Sarah Shourd & Joshua Fattal

Three Americans captured by Iranian forces and held in captivity reveal, for the first time, the full story of their imprisonment and fight for freedom.


Fighting Words: Independent Journalists in Texas

by James McEnteer

Fighting Words profiles five journalists who published the truth as they saw it, no matter how their reporting angered politicians, social and religious leaders, or other journalists.?The five journalists are...


Stonewalled

by Sharyl Attkisson

Seasoned CBS reporter Sharyl Attkisson reveals how she has been electronically surveilled while digging deep into the Obama Administration and its scandals, and offers an incisive critique of her industry and...


For the Love of a Cat: A Publisher's Story

by David St John Thomas

This is a book for everyone who really cares about cats. Vividly written, sometimes serious, sometimes light-hearted, it is bound to be found uplifting by anyone who has ever fallen for a cat, however much against...


Mr Jones' Rules for the Modern Man

by Dylan Jones

A witty, stylish and indispensable guide to being a modern man. It is tough being a man in the twenty-first century. First there are the big dilemmas, like how to get a pay rise and how to suck up to your boss....