Biography & autobiography / Personal Memoirs

Best Selling / Page 85

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Personal Memoirs

 

Language

English (5136)

French (5)

German (4)

Spanish (172)

Italian (43)

 

Protection

All (5295)

DRM Free (157)

DRM (5136)

More options

Adam S Summer Purgatory, 2008 (2013)

by Adam Humphreys

Illegal immigrant Adam Humphreys is forced to abandon his cosmopolitan lifestyle for remote bush camps in Northern Canada for one summer in order to earn money. Will he return to New York and his girlfriend?...


Falling Into Place: A Memoir of Overcoming

by Hattie Kauffman

Four-time Emmy Award-winning news correspondent shares her emotionally gripping and entertaining story of finding faith and overcoming the wounds of abuse, poverty, alcoholism, and divorce.


A History of Silence: A Memoir

by Lloyd Jones

From New Zealand's greatest living writer, A History of Silence is a moving and devastating memoir unlike any you have ever read before.

A History of Silence is a book about a country and a broken landscape....


You Want Fries With That: A White-Collar Burnout Experiences Life at Minimum Wage

by Prioleau Alexander

Ever fantasized about quitting your job and starting over? Prioleau Alexander did just that. Here is his laugh-out-loud funny, endearing, and humbling exploration of life at minimum wage. Alexander walked away...


Finding Lina: A Mother's Journey from Autism to Hope

by Helena Hjalmarsson

Lina was a precocious toddler—charming, chatty, joyful. At the age of three, in the aftermath of her second MMR vaccine, first came a seizure, and then, to her parents’ horror, the loss of Lina’s ability...


They Shall Not Have Me: The Capture, Forced Labor, and Escape of a French Prisoner in World War II

by Jean Helion, Deborah Rosenthal & Jacqueline Helion

The French painter Jean Hélion’s unique and deeply moving account of his experiences in Nazi prisoner-of-war camps prefigures the even darker stories that would emerge from the concentration camps. This serious...


The Geography of Memory: A Pilgrimage Through Alzheimer's

by Jeanne Murray Walker

Award-winning poet Jeanne Murray Walker tells an extraordinarily wise, witty, and quietly wrenching tale of her mother's long passage into dementia. This powerful story explores parental love, profound grief,...


Daughter of Empire: My Life as a Mountbatten

by Pamela Hicks

This magical memoir about a singular childhood in England and India by the daughter of Lord Louis and Edwina Mountbatten provides a privileged glimpse into the lives and loves of some of the twentieth century’s...


All God's Dangers

by Theodore Rosengarten

Nate Shaw's father was born under slavery. Nate Shaw was born into a bondage that was only a little gentler. At the age of nine, he was picking cotton for thirty-five cents an hour. At the age of forty-seven,...


Son of a Gun: A Memoir

by Justin St. Germain

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

In the tradition of Tobias Wolff, James Ellroy, and Mary Karr, a stunning memoir of a mother-son relationship that is also the searing, unflinching...


I Kiss Your Hands Many Times: Hearts, Souls, and Wars in Hungary

by Marianne Szegedy-Maszak

A magnificent wartime love story about the forces that brought the author’s parents together and those that nearly drove them apart

 

Marianne Szegedy-Maszák’s parents, Hanna and Aladár, met and fell...


Raising My Rainbow: Adventures in Raising a Fabulous, Gender Creative Son

by Lori Duron, David Burtka & Neil Patrick Harris

Raising My Rainbow is Lori Duron’s frank, heartfelt, and brutally funny account of her and her family's adventures of distress and happiness raising a gender-creative son. Whereas her older son, Chase, is...


Buck: A Memoir

by M.K. Asante

A coming-of-age story about navigating the wilds of urban America and the shrapnel of a self-destructing family, Buck shares the story of a generation through one original and riveting voice. MK Asante was born...


My Brother My Sister: Story of a Transformation

by Molly Haskell

A feminist film critic’s thoughtful, outspoken memoir about transgender and family

On a visit to New York, the brother of well-known film critic Molly Haskell dropped a bombshell: Nearing age sixty, and married,...


The Secret Ministry of Ag. & Fish

by Noreen Riols

‘My mother thought I was working for the Ministry of Ag. and Fish.’ So begins Noreen Riols’ compelling memoir of her time as a member of Churchill’s ‘secret army’, the Special Operations Executive....


Personal Memoirs

by Ulysses S. Grant

"One of the most unflinching studies of war in our literature."  --William McFeeley

Among the autobiographies of great military figures, Ulysses S. Grant's is certainly one of the finest, and it is arguably...


Three Things You Need to Know About Rockets: A Real-Life Scottish Fairy Tale

by Jessica A. Fox

In this inspiring, delightful memoir, a young woman decides to escape the daily grind and turn her “what if” fantasy into a reality, only to find work—and a man—she loves in one fell swoop, all in a...


American Victory: Wrestling, Dreams and a Journey Toward Home

by Henry Cejudo

"Compelling...American Victory represents the triumph of the human spirit." --Los Angeles Times

Henry Cejudo's remarkable journey follows an unlikely hero, the son of illegal immigrants, from the mean streets...


A Simple Christmas: Twelve Stories That Celebrate the True Holiday Spirit

by Mike Huckabee

The New York Times bestseller by the former governor and presidential candidate-an instant classic, reissued for 2010.

Christmas has become synonymous with shopping, overindulging, and stress. But according...


Parched

by Heather King

More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA.