Fiction / Germanophone literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

 

Language

English (29)

French (84)

German (0)

Spanish (275)

Italian (435)

 

Category

Delete Fiction

 

Origin

Delete Germanophone literature

 

In category

Literary (18)

Thrillers (7)

Mystery & Detective (4)

 

Audience

Adult (29)

 

Protection

All (29)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (29)

More options

Zodiac Station

Zodiac Station #1

by Tom Harper

For fans of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton—an eerie, evocative thriller set in the unforgiving Arctic from the author of The Orpheus Descent.

Deep in the Arctic, the US Coast Guard icebreaker Terra Nova batters...


Whole of Life

by Jürg Laederach & Geoffrey C. Howes

With tongue resolutely in cheek, saxophonist, critic, poet, and one-time enfant terrible of Swiss literature Jürg Laederach here pursues the ambition of forcing all of human existence into a single novel. In...


Snow Germans

by Dmitry Vachedin & Arch Tait

A repatriated Russian German soldier on a quest for vengeance must confront cultural and psychological problems in this metaphysical tale.


The Taste of Apple Seeds

by Katharina Hagena

Shimmering with the incandescence and irresistible magic of the novels of Alice Hoffman, Joanne Harris, and Aimee Bender, Katharina Hagena's smash international bestseller, The Taste of Apple Seeds, is a story...


Awakening to the Great Sleep War

by Gert Jonke & Jean M. Snook

One of the loveliest riddles of Austrian literature is finally available in English translation: Gert Jonke's 1982 novel, Awakening to the Great Sleep War, is an expedition through a world in constant nervous...


The Russian Passenger

by Gunter Ohnemus & John Brownjohn

A Russian mafia thriller, a road-movie adventure and an elegantly written love story.


The Fatherland Files

by Volker Kutscher

July 1932. When a drowned man is found in a freight elevator in Haus Vaterland, the giant pleasure palace on Potsdamer Platz, Inspector Gereon Rath is called in to investigate. It’s not that Rath hasn’t...


River

by Esther Kinsky & Iain Galbraith

• Nan Shepherd’s The Living Mountain meets W.G. Sebald's The Emigrants.• In rich, poetic language, Kinsky conjures both past and present from a disappearing landscape.• This is the kind of intelligent...


The Tidings of the Trees

by Wolfgang Hilbig & Isabel Fargo Cole

Where once was a beautiful wood now stands a desolate field smothered in ash and garbage, and here a young man named Waller has terrorizing encounters with grotesque figures named "the garbagemen." As Waller...


The Second Rider

by Alex Beer & Tim Mohr

"A thrilling, deeply satisfying debut novel by 'the new star of Austrian crime fiction'." -Kronen Zeitung

Most of the remaining population of Vienna-a city scarred by World War I in which the grandeur of the...


The Females

by Wolfgang Hilbig & Isabel Fargo Cole

What can an irascible East German tell us about how society shapes relations between the sexes? A lot it turns out. Acclaimed as one of Wolfgang Hilbig’s major works, The Females finds the lauded author focusing...


Insane

by Rainald Goetz & Adrian Nathan West

Translated for the first time into English, cult German author Rainald Goetz’s debut novel Insane draws upon his clinical psychiatric experience to paint a portrait of the asylum as a total institution. We...


The Dance by the Canal

by Kerstin Hensel & Jen Calleja

A tragicomic satire from the heart of East Germany.

Gabriela grows up in the East German town of Leibnitz. Her father is a famous surgeon, her mother a respected society hostess. The girl, however, struggles...


The Last Summer

by Ricarda Huch & Jamie Bulloch

A psychological thriller by the pioneering German writer Ricarda Huch. A novel of letters from the last century - but one with an astonishingly modern feel. Now for the first time in English..

Russia at the beginning...


The Snowman

by Jörg Fauser & Anthea Bell

Paranoid fast paced thriller, how not to get rid of some Peruvian flake.


Displaced

by Stephan Abarbanell

Echoing the fiction of Joseph Kanon, Alan Furst, and Daniel Silva, this deeply intelligent debut literary thriller—set within a world still reeling from World War II—explores how the actions of a few can...


Fear

by Dirk Kurbjuweit

Fear shifts our moral codes. It makes us accessories to murder. A great achievement.” —Herman Koch, author of The Dinner

An acclaimed German writer makes his American debut with this gripping and sophisticated...


The Mussel Feast

by Birgit Vanderbeke & Jamie Bulloch

<p>The modern German classic that has shaped an entire generation.</p><p><br></p><p>A mother and her two teenage children sit at the dinner table. In the middle stands a large...


The Stronger Sex

by Hans Werner Kettenbach & Anthea Bell

A young lawyer defends the indefensible: a lying, power obsessed adulterer and ruthless industrialist accused of wrongfully dismissing his mistress.


Empress and the Cake

by Linda Stift & Jamie Bulloch

Madness lurks behind the pretty faã§ade of everyday life.

An elderly lady offers a young woman a piece of cake. She accepts. The lady resembles the Austrian Empress Elisabeth and lives with her servant in an...