Classics

Best Selling / Page 27

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Classics

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (88)

Ancient History (4)

Middle Age (1)

XIXth century (1)

XXth century (<1945) (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (2841)

French (516)

German (5)

Spanish (593)

Italian (960)

 

Protection

All (2841)

DRM Free (124)

DRM (2706)

More options

A Prairie Courtship: Or, Alison's Adventure

by Harold Bindloss

In the aftermath of her father's death, the plucky Alison Leigh finds herself without any viable financial prospects. After considering her options, she decides to get a fresh start in Winnipeg, Canada, where...


Scenes from a Courtesan's Life

by Honore de Balzac & James Waring

Hardened criminal Jacques Collin has been hiding under the guise of a false identity in order to escape the long arm of the law. In the novel Scenes from a Courtesan's Life, however, Collin's deceptions seem...


The Thirteen

by Honore de Balzac, Katharine Prescott Wormeley & Ellen Marriage

This series of three novellas is unified by an overarching motif: in all three tales, a mysterious secret society known as The Thirteen is at work behind the scenes. The men in the group have pledged eternal...


Rise and Fall of Cesar Birotteau

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

One of the unifying themes that wends its way through Honore de Balzac's immense body of work is the corrupting danger of greed -- and the often-absurd lengths to which people will go to secure material wealth....


Echoes of the War

by J. M. Barrie

Though today he is best remembered for his work for younger audiences, including the beloved classic Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie was a writer of remarkable breadth and versatility who didn't shy away from tough...


The Resources of Quinola

by Honore de Balzac

Today, French writer Honore de Balzac is best remembered for The Human Comedy, a sprawling story cycle in which he attempted -- and some would argue, succeeded -- to capture the ebb and flow of everyday life...


Vendetta

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

Fans of Romeo and Juliet will delight in the novella Vendetta, Honore de Balzac's unique take on the timeless theme of star-crossed lovers. Corsican immigrants Ginevra Piombo and Luigi Porta fall hopelessly...


The Vicar of Tours

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

This exquisite novella from master of French realism Honore de Balzac illustrates how greed and covetousness can infect and fester in even the most seemingly pure people and environments. An ascetic clergyman...


The Two Brothers

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

Brothers Philippe and Joseph Bridau couldn't be more different. One is a cruel man who puts his ruthlessness to good use in a military career, while the other is a kind-hearted, sensitive soul who grows up to...


Orpheus in Mayfair: And Other Stories and Sketches

by Maurice Baring

British literary jack-of-all-trades Maurice Baring first rose to prominence as a writer of travelogues, which he later parlayed into a career as an intrepid war correspondent. When he shifted his focus to fiction,...


Quality Street: A Comedy

by J. M. Barrie

In this play from Peter Pan writer J. M. Barrie, sisters Susan and Phoebe Throssell are in dire financial straits and decide to establish a school in order to pay the bills. When a long-lost lover comes back...


Miss Ludington's Sister

by Edward Bellamy

This early novel from renowned American author Edward Bellamy is a first-rate Gothic romance with beguiling supernatural twists. If you prefer your love stories with a strong dose of the weird and uncanny, add...


Better Dead

by J. M. Barrie

Scottish-born author and playwright J. M. Barrie first established himself in the public eye as a writer of children's books and humorous plays. According to historians of Barrie's life and work, Better Dead...


The Genial Idiot: His Views and Reviews

by John Kendrick Bangs

American editor and writer John Kendrick Bangs eased into humor writing and satire by anonymously submitting a few essays for publication amidst his busy career at a number of prominent publications. One of...


When a Man's Single: A Tale of Literary Life

by J. M. Barrie

This novel from Peter Pan author J. M. Barrie pulls off a remarkable feat: its characters spend a great deal of time discussing the do's and don'ts of creative writing, even as the book itself exhibits many...


The Diary of a Saint

by Arlo Bates

This unique work of fiction presented in the form of a year-long diary draws a wonderfully three-dimensional portrait of a woman named Ruth Privet. Though not a saint in the religious sense of the word -- indeed,...


Comic Tragedies: Written by 'Jo' and 'Meg' and Acted by The 'Little Women'

by Louisa M. Alcott

Fans of Louisa May Alcott's beloved classic Little Women will delight in the companion volume Comic Tragedies. Following up on Jo and Meg's love of drama and melodrama, this book presents a series of short plays...


King Lear

by William Shakespeare

King Lear is considered one of Shakespeare's greatest plays. King Lear decides to step down and divide his kingdom between his three daughters. When his youngest and favorite daughter refuses to compete and...


The Lost World

by Arthur Conan Doyle

The Lost World is Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's classic tale of fantasy. Two scientists, a big game hunter and a journalist set off to the wilds of South America and the Amazon in search of prehistoric beasts. There,...


The Valley of Decision

by Edith Wharton

In her own lifetime, Edith Wharton's talents were often pigeonholed and downplayed as appealing to only a small audience of upper-crust society doyennes. Today, however, critics regard her as one of the most...