Classics

Best Selling / Page 66

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Awards

 

Category

Delete Classics

 

In category

Modern (<1799) (93)

Ancient History (4)

XIXth century (2)

Middle Age (1)

XXth century (<1945) (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (4888)

French (896)

German (13)

Spanish (1020)

Italian (2357)

 

Protection

All (4888)

DRM Free (236)

DRM (4570)

More options

The Booming of Acre Hill: And Other Reminiscences of Urban and Suburban Life

by John Kendrick Bangs

Over the course of his career, John Kendrick Bangs gained prominence as one of the most beloved humor writers of his era. In this charming collection of short stories, Bangs muses on the emergence of the suburban...


Ursula

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

This novel is one of the pillars of the Scenes of Provincial Life section of Honore de Balzac's story cycle The Human Comedy. Through a series of tragedies and coincidences, a kind and pious teenager named Ursula...


The Sea: Stories by English Authors

by Various

Set sail for some swashbuckling fun on the high seas with this volume of ripping good yarns, all penned by British writers and all dealing with some aspect of life at sea. Fans of nautical and maritime action-adventure...


The Red Inn

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

Like many of the short stories in Honore de Balzac's vast story cycle The Human Comedy, "The Red Inn" is a tale within a tale. After a pleasant dinner at the Red Inn, guests begin to swap anecdotes. German businessman...


Study of a Woman

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

Part of Balzac's masterpiece, the multi-volume story cycle The Human Comedy, the short story "Study of a Woman" focuses on Madame de Listomere, an uptight model of propriety, who finds herself being flirted...


London Pride: Or, When the World Was Younger

by Mary Elizabeth Braddon

British writer Mary Elizabeth Braddon penned some of the most engrossing and compelling "sensation" novels of the Victorian era. London Pride, set in the 17th century, adds a historical twist to Braddon's characteristically...


Best Russian Short Stories

by Thomas Seltzer

For centuries, critics and fans alike have extolled the virtues of the Russian masters of fiction, with many ranking them among the foremost literary artists the world has ever produced. This volume collects...


Two Poets

by Honore de Balzac & Ellen Marriage

The novel Two Poets is part of the Lost Illusions trilogy, which is in turn part of the Scenes From Provincial Life section of Honore de Balzac's massive masterpiece The Human Comedy. Critics have singled out...


The Recruit

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

This gripping short story from master of French realism Honore de Balzac packs an emotional wallop and has a twist ending you won't be able to forget. The mother of a French soldier receives word that her son...


A Prairie Courtship: Or, Alison's Adventure

by Harold Bindloss

In the aftermath of her father's death, the plucky Alison Leigh finds herself without any viable financial prospects. After considering her options, she decides to get a fresh start in Winnipeg, Canada, where...


Unconscious Comedians

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

In this novella from Honore de Balzac, the skilled artisan Palafox Gazonal arrives in Paris to settle some important business and perhaps make a splash in the city's thriving art scene. However, Gazonal is used...


Scenes from a Courtesan's Life

by Honore de Balzac & James Waring

Hardened criminal Jacques Collin has been hiding under the guise of a false identity in order to escape the long arm of the law. In the novel Scenes from a Courtesan's Life, however, Collin's deceptions seem...


The Thirteen

by Honore de Balzac, Katharine Prescott Wormeley & Ellen Marriage

This series of three novellas is unified by an overarching motif: in all three tales, a mysterious secret society known as The Thirteen is at work behind the scenes. The men in the group have pledged eternal...


The Rise and Fall of Cesar Birotteau

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

One of the unifying themes that wends its way through Honore de Balzac's immense body of work is the corrupting danger of greed -- and the often-absurd lengths to which people will go to secure material wealth....


Echoes of the War

by J. M. Barrie

Though today he is best remembered for his work for younger audiences, including the beloved classic Peter Pan, J. M. Barrie was a writer of remarkable breadth and versatility who didn't shy away from tough...


The Resources of Quinola

by Honore de Balzac

Today, French writer Honore de Balzac is best remembered for The Human Comedy, a sprawling story cycle in which he attempted -- and some would argue, succeeded -- to capture the ebb and flow of everyday life...


Vendetta

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

Fans of Romeo and Juliet will delight in the novella Vendetta, Honore de Balzac's unique take on the timeless theme of star-crossed lovers. Corsican immigrants Ginevra Piombo and Luigi Porta fall hopelessly...


The Vicar of Tours

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

This exquisite novella from master of French realism Honore de Balzac illustrates how greed and covetousness can infect and fester in even the most seemingly pure people and environments. An ascetic clergyman...


The Two Brothers

by Honore de Balzac & Katharine Prescott Wormeley

Brothers Philippe and Joseph Bridau couldn't be more different. One is a cruel man who puts his ruthlessness to good use in a military career, while the other is a kind-hearted, sensitive soul who grows up to...


Orpheus in Mayfair: And Other Stories and Sketches

by Maurice Baring

British literary jack-of-all-trades Maurice Baring first rose to prominence as a writer of travelogues, which he later parlayed into a career as an intrepid war correspondent. When he shifted his focus to fiction,...