Historical

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (240)

Modern (<1799) (224)

Middle Age (154)

XXth century (<1945) (135)

1939-1945 (79)

Ancient History (65)

1914-1918 (29)

Prehistory (6)

 

Language

English (7934)

French (737)

German (1426)

Spanish (1330)

Italian (976)

 

Protection

All (7934)

DRM Free (370)

DRM (7556)

More options

The Surgeon's Mate (Vol. Book 7)  (Aubrey/Maturin Novels)

by Patrick O'brian

"Vividly detailed 19th-century settings and dramatic tension punctuated with flashes of wry humor make O'Brian's nautical adventure a splendid treat."—Publishers Weekly Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin are...


True Colours

by Alaric Bond

The Royal Navy is immobilised by mutiny, and the only thing that's standing in the way of an invasion is a commander who is communicating with a fleet that isn't there. While Great Britain's major home fleets...


The Complete Works of Oscar Wilde

by Oscar Wilde & GP Editors

This Complete Works of Oscar Wilde is a truly complete and authoritative single-volume edition of Oscar Wilde’s works. It contains his only novel, 'The Portrait of Dorian Gray', as well as his plays, stories,...


The Boleyn King: A Novel

The Boleyn Trilogy #1

by Laura Andersen

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares...


Victors and Lords

Alexander Sheridan #1

by V. A. A. Stuart

Unfairly forced out of the army for insubordination, Alexander Sheridan leaves Britain and his former life behind to command a unit of the East India Company. Despised by the aristocratic generals of the regular...


The Heroic Garrison

Alexander Sheridan #5

by V. A. A. Stuart

General Havelock's Moveable Column—a force of barely a thousand men--has fought its way through to the heroic garrison defending the Residency in Lucknow. They must hold firm until the relieving force reaches...


The Flame Bearer

The Saxon Stories #10

by Bernard Cornwell

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The next installment of Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, "like Game of Thrones, but real" (Observer, London)—the basis for...


Catriona

by Robert Louis Stevenson

This volume contains Robert Louis Stevenson's 1893 novel, "Catriona". It is a sequel to his previous novel "Kidnapped", and continues the story of David Balfour. In the first part of the novel, Balfour attempts...


The Way Back to Florence

by Glenn Haybittle

In 1937 Freddie (English), Isabella (Italian) and Oskar (a German Jew) become friends at an art school in Florence where they are taught by the dictatorial but magus-like Maestro and his sinister fascist assistant...


The Girl From the Train

by Irma Joubert

Six-year-old Gretl Schmidt is on a train bound for Aushwitz. Jakób Kowalski is planting a bomb on the tracks.

As World War II draws to a close, Jakób fights with the Polish resistance against the crushing...


Searching for Grace Kelly

by Michael Callahan

In 1955 New York three spirited young women living at the famed Barbizon Hotel form an unlikely friendship and come of age in the glamorous post-war city that could make—or break—them.


The Journeyer

by Gary Jennings

Marco Polo was nicknamed "Marco of the millions" because his Venetian countrymen took the grandiose stories of his travels to be exaggerated, if not outright lies. As he lay dying, his priest, family, and friends...


Outlander: with Bonus Content

Outlander #1

by Diana Gabaldon

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW A STARZ ORIGINAL SERIES

 

This eBook includes the full text of the novel plus the following additional content:

• An excerpt from Diana Gabaldon’s Dragonfly in Amber,...


The Treasure of the Golden God

by A. Hyatt Verrill

Thornton and Belmont embark on an adventure to find the lost city of El Dorado. excerpt "What do you make of those?" Thornton asked, as he tossed two bits of shining yellow metal upon the table. Belmont, the...


Legend of the Last Vikings - Taklamakan

by John Halsted

The Indiana Jones of the 11th Century! Finalist - ForeWord Magazine Book of the Year Award A VIKING EPIC! Action, Adventure and Romance from Norway, across the Steppe and along the Silk Route into China's notorious...


The Wreck of the Twilight Limited

by Joe Formichella

The passengers boarding the 'Twilight Limited' - a newly graduated physician, a retired couple finally taking the leisurely vacation they've always dreamed of, and a lonely writer - are unaware they are speeding...


A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows: An Outlander Novella

by Diana Gabaldon

In this original Outlander novella, Diana Gabaldon reveals what really happened to Roger MacKenzie Wakefield’s parents. Orphaned during World War II, Roger believed that his mother died during the London Blitz,...


Men of Bronze

by Scott Oden

It is 526 B.C. and the empire of the Pharaohs is dying, crushed by the weight of its own antiquity. Decay riddles its cities, infects its aristocracy, and weakens its armies. While across the expanse of Sinai,...


The Shelters of Stone (Earth's Children, Book Five): with Bonus Content

Earth's Children #5

by Jean M. Auel

This eBook includes the full text of the novel plus the following additional content:

• An exclusive preview chapter from Jean M. Auel’s The Land of Painted Caves, on sale in hardcover March 29, 2011

• An...


The Devil's Pope

by Adrian Lumenti

"There will be the devil to pay ... but what price will he demand?" It's the year 999, and as the first millennium draws to a close, many people throughout Europe are convinced that the world is going to end...