Historical

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (254)

Modern (<1799) (252)

Middle Age (158)

XXth century (<1945) (150)

1939-1945 (78)

Ancient History (68)

1914-1918 (26)

Prehistory (5)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (4766)

French (822)

German (296)

Spanish (971)

Italian (1035)

 

Protection

All (4766)

DRM Free (245)

DRM (4518)

More options

Circling the Sun: A Novel

by Paula Mclain

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Paula McLain is considered the new star of historical fiction, and for good reason. Fans of The Paris Wife will be captivated by Circling the Sun, which . . . is both beautifully...


The Moor's Account: A Novel

by Laila Lalami

**Longlisted for the 2015 Man Booker Prize**

**Nominated for the 2016 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award**

A Pulitzer Prize Finalist

A New York Times Notable Book

A Wall Street Journal Top 10 Book of the...


Bluestocking Bride

by Elizabeth Thornton

From the USA TODAY bestselling author.

"I consider Elizabeth Thornton a major find." —Mary Balogh, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of ONLY ENCHANTING

Educated and brilliant, classics scholar Catherine...


The Paris Wife: A Novel

by Paula Mclain

“A beautiful portrait of being in Paris in the glittering 1920s—as a wife and as one’s own woman.”—Entertainment Weekly   A deeply evocative story of ambition and betrayal, The Paris Wife captures...


All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2015

by Anthony Doerr

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE

From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant New York Times bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy...


Winter of the World

The Century Trilogy #2

by Ken Follett

THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERPicking up where Fall of Giants, the first novel in the extraordinary Century Trilogy, left off, Winter of the World follows its five interrelated families—American, German,...


Jackass Frigate

by Alaric Bond

How do you maintain discipline on a ship when someone murders your first lieutenant-and a part of you agrees with their action? December 1796. It was a time of unrest and discontent for Britain, made even worse...


The Wettest County in the World: A Novel Based on a True Story

by Matt Bondurant

Based on the true story of Matt Bondurant's grandfather and two granduncles, The Wettest County in the World is a gripping tale of brotherhood, greed, and murder. The Bondurant Boys were a notorious gang of...


The Nightingale

by Kristin Hannah

In love we find out who we want to be.

In war we find out who we are.

FRANCE, 1939

In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front. She doesn't...


Lady Charlotte's Ruse: A Regency Classic

by Judith Harkness

Lady Charlotte is the happiest of young ladies as she awaits her beloved Gerald Kirkland, the dashing young man who is also, seemingly, devoted to her. Then, suddenly and without warning, Gerald disappears to...


Wolf Hall

Walter Scott Prize 2010, Man Booker Prize 2009, National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction 2009

by Hilary Mantel

In the ruthless arena of King Henry VIII's court, only one man dares to gamble his life to win the king's favor and ascend to the heights of political power

England in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster....


The Determined Bachelor: A Regency Classic

by Judith Harkness

A COUNTERFEIT GOVERNESS

Anne Calder was a headstrong young woman bent on earning her own living as novelist, preferably in London. Before she could follow her first successful book with a second, however, Anne...


Empress of the Night

Catherine #2

by Eva Stachniak

Perfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects...


Cally's Way

by Jane Bow

Cally is a twenty-five year old business graduate. Her mother, who was born in Crete but has always refused to talk about it, has died, leaving one instruction: before starting her first job, Cally should visit...


Sir Gawain and the Green Knight

by Jessie L. Weston

This interpretation by a distinguished scholar of one of English medieval literature's gems translates Middle English poetry into modern prose for a retelling that both preserves the spirit of the original and...


The Winter Mantle

by Elizabeth Chadwick

Normandy 1067---William may have conquered England, but it is a conquest of a different kind that one English earl has in mind.

Fresh from his defeat of King Harold at the Battle of Hastings, William of Normandy...


1916

The Irish Century #1

by Morgan Llywelyn

Ned Halloran has lost both his parents--and almost his own life--to the sinking of the Titanic . Determined to keep what little he has, he returns to his homeland in Ireland and enrolls at Saint Enda's school...


1949

The Irish Century #4

by Morgan Llywelyn

The masterly epic, The Irish Century, continues in 1949, a sequel to 1916 and 1921.

The struggle of the Irish people for independence is one of the compelling historical dramas of the twentieth century. Morgan...


Clock Without Hands

by Carson McCullers

Set in Georgia on the eve of court-ordered integration, Clock Without Hands contains McCullers's most poignant statement on race, class, and justice. A small-town druggist dying of leukemia calls himself and...


Emperor: The Death of Kings: A Novel of Julius Caesar

by Conn Iggulden

From the author of the bestselling The Dangerous Book for Boys

 

“Brilliant…stunning,” raved the Los Angeles Times about Conn Iggulden’s first novel, Emperor: The Gates of Rome. “Iggulden is a grand...