Historical

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

In category

XIXth century (248)

Modern (<1799) (225)

Middle Age (155)

XXth century (<1945) (139)

1939-1945 (80)

Ancient History (67)

1914-1918 (30)

Prehistory (6)

 

Language

English (7378)

French (709)

German (1113)

Spanish (1293)

Italian (1317)

 

Protection

All (7378)

DRM Free (342)

DRM (7029)

More options

The Three Cities Trilogy: Lourdes, Rome, Paris

by Émile Zola

Trilogy of the Three Cities (1894-1898), which he began with "Lourdes" and continued with "Rome" and finished with "Paris"; and thus the adventures and experiences of Abbe Pierre Froment, the doubting Catholic...


Jim the Boy: A Novel

by Tony Earley

Both delightful and wise, Jim the Boy brilliantly captures the pleasures and fears of youth at a time when America itself was young and struggling to come into its own.


The Angry Tide

Poldark #7

by Winston Graham

The Angry Tide is the seventh novel in Winston Graham's sweeping series of Cornwall, Poldark.

Cornwall, towards the end of the 18th century. Ross Poldark sits for the borough of Truro as Member of Parliament...


Summary of The Lake House: by Kate Morton | Includes Analysis

by Instaread Summaries

Summary of The Lake House by Kate Morton | Includes Analysis

 

Preview:

The Lake House by Kate Morton is a mystery novel that centers around thestrange disappearance of Theo Edevane, an 11-month-old...


True Colours

by Alaric Bond

The Royal Navy is immobilised by mutiny, and the only thing that's standing in the way of an invasion is a commander who is communicating with a fleet that isn't there. While Great Britain's major home fleets...


The Fortune of War (Vol. Book 6)  (Aubrey/Maturin Novels)

by Patrick O'brian

"A marvellously full-flavoured, engrossing book, which towers over its current rivals in the genre like a three-decker over a ship's longboat."—Times Literary Supplement Captain Jack Aubrey, R. N., arrives...


H. M. S. Surprise (Vol. Book 3)  (Aubrey/Maturin Novels)

by Patrick O'brian

"The best historical novels ever written."—Richard Snow, New York Times Book Review Third in the series of Aubrey-Maturin adventures, this book is set among the strange sights and smells of the Indian subcontinent,...


Summary of The Nest: by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney | Includes Analysis

by Instaread Summaries

Summary of The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney | Inclues & Analysis

Preview:

The Nest by Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney is the story of the Plumb siblings, a group of disillusioned Gen X-ers struggling to navigate...


The American Heiress

by Daisy Goodwin

Now including an excerpt from VICTORIA: A Novel, by Daisy Goodwin, the Creator/Writer of the Masterpiece Presentation on PBS.

"Anyone suffering Downton Abbey withdrawal symptoms (who isn't?) will find an instant...


To Love A Wicked Scoundrel (Three Regency Rogues, Book 1)

by Anabelle Bryant

Is there a Lady in the land that can resist this scoundrel’s charms…?

At her step-mother’s command, Isabelle – and her irrepressible step-sister Lily – are leaving the pleasantries of the English...


The Silent People

by Walter Macken

In Ireland in 1826 millions knew only famine, oppression and degradation. The landlords ground down the tenant famers; tithe wars and injustice were rife.

But Dualta Duane battles against tyranny, struggling...


The Scorching Wind

by Walter Macken

This is a vivid and memorable novel set in Dublin, 1916, during the Easter Rebellion and the bitter years which followed. Through the diverging lives of two young brothers the agony of Ireland during these harrowing...


Seek the Fair Land

by Walter Macken

It is 1649. As the English soldiers trample the Irish homesteads, leaving behind them a trail of barbarity and destruction, a few brave men set out to seek a 'fair land' over the brow of the hill.

Among them...


Land of Dreams

Ellis Island #3

by Kate Kerrigan

Set in 1940s Los Angeles, the compelling final installment in New York Times bestselling author Kate Kerrigan’s sweeping immigrant trilogy begun in Ellis Island and City of Hope—a story of family, love,...


The Boleyn King: A Novel

The Boleyn Trilogy #1

by Laura Andersen

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares...


The Far Side of the Sky

Adler Family #1

by Daniel Kalla

November 9, 1938—Kristallnacht—the Nazis unleash a night of terror for Jews all across Germany. Meanwhile, the Japanese Imperial Army rampages through China and tightens its stranglehold on Shanghai, a city...


Victors and Lords

Alexander Sheridan #1

by V. A. A. Stuart

Unfairly forced out of the army for insubordination, Alexander Sheridan leaves Britain and his former life behind to command a unit of the East India Company. Despised by the aristocratic generals of the regular...


The Heroic Garrison

Alexander Sheridan #5

by V. A. A. Stuart

General Havelock's Moveable Column—a force of barely a thousand men--has fought its way through to the heroic garrison defending the Residency in Lucknow. They must hold firm until the relieving force reaches...


Gold Fever: A Klondike Mystery

by Vicki Delany

It's the spring of 1898 in the Yukon, and the beautiful Fiona MacGillivray, owner of the Savoy dance hall, is happy to make as much money as possible. When her son saves the life of a woman intent on suicide,...


Gold Digger: A Klondike Mystery

by Vicki Delany

It's the spring of 1898, and Dawson is the most exciting town in North America. Fiona MacGillivray has crawled over the Chilkoot Pass determined to make her fortune as the owner of the Savoy dance hall. But...