Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

 

Language

English (225)

French (89)

German (0)

Spanish (193)

Italian (224)

 

Protection

All (225)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (222)

More options

True Colours

by Alaric Bond

The Royal Navy is immobilised by mutiny, and the only thing that's standing in the way of an invasion is a commander who is communicating with a fleet that isn't there. While Great Britain's major home fleets...


The Boleyn King: A Novel

The Boleyn Trilogy #1

by Laura Andersen

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares...


The Queen's Necklace

by Alexandre Dumas

Fans of historical fiction will love The Queen's Necklace, Dumas' gripping retelling of the Affair of the Necklace, a suspicious incident of theft in the court of Louis XVI that some experts say set into motion...


Cupboard Kisses

by Barbara Metzger

Well-bred orphan Cristabel Swann tolerates her thankless teaching job -- until her uncle dies unexpectedly. Arriving in London to claim her inheritance, Cristabel encounters something else entirely -- a loutish...


Jackass Frigate

by Alaric Bond

How do you maintain discipline on a ship when someone murders your first lieutenant-and a part of you agrees with their action? December 1796. It was a time of unrest and discontent for Britain, made even worse...


Shogun

by James Clavell

A bold English adventurer. An invincible Japanese warlord. A beautiful woman torn between two ways of life, two ways of love. All brought together in an extraordinary saga of a time and a place aflame with conflict,...


The Scottish Prisoner: A Novel

Lord John series #8

by Diana Gabaldon

Includes a preview of the new novel in the Outlander series.

London, 1760. For Jamie Fraser, paroled prisoner-of-war in the remote Lake District, life could be worse: He’s not cutting sugar cane in the West...


Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade: A Novel

Lord John series #4

by Diana Gabaldon

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

 

Diana Gabaldon, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Outlander saga, brings back one of her most compelling characters: Lord John Grey. Here Gabaldon weaves together the...


The Custom of the Army (Novella): An Outlander Novella

Lord John series #7

by Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon, bestselling author of the acclaimed Outlander series, weaves an engrossing tale of war, history, and suspense in this original novella—now available as a standalone eBook—featuring returning...


The Moghul

by Thomas Hoover

"...the finest book on India since Kipling." India 1620: India is ruled by the son of the great Akbar, and is about to pass his crown to one of his sons. Brian Hawksworth, ship's captain and emissary of King...


The Religion

by Tim Willocks

This is what we dream of: to be so swept away, so poleaxed by a book that the breath is sucked right out of us. Brace yourselves.

May 1565. Suleiman the Magnificent, emperor of the Ottomans, has declared a jihad...


Lord John and the Private Matter: A Novel

Lord John series #2

by Diana Gabaldon

Adored bestselling author Diana Gabaldon brings us the first book in a new trilogy featuring many of the characters from her wildly popular Outlander series.

In her New York Times bestselling Outlander novels,...


Henry VIII and His Court

by Luise Muhlbach

This novel is based on the true life of Henry VIII, one of England's most famous - or infamous kings. Marriages, divorces, beheadings, death and glory - all contained within the pages of this fantastic ebook....


A Fire Within

by Kathleen Morgan

Fans of Morgan's These Highland Hills series and historical fiction readers will enjoy this dramatic conclusion to the series.


The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah...


The Fort

by Bernard Cornwell

“The most prolific and successful historical novelist in the world today.” —Wall Street Journal

“Readers who haven’t discovered Bernard Cornwell don’t know what they are missing.” —New York Times...


The Lady of the Rivers

by Philippa Gregory

The Lady of the Rivers tells the story of Jacquetta, daughter of the Count of Luxembourg, and kinswoman to half the royalty of Europe, who was married to the great Englishman John, Duke of Bedford, uncle to...


Wolf Hall

Walter Scott Prize 2010, Man Booker Prize 2009, National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction 2009

by Hilary Mantel

In the ruthless arena of King Henry VIII's court, only one man dares to gamble his life to win the king's favor and ascend to the heights of political power

England in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster....


Lord John and the Hand of Devils: A Novel

Lord John series #6

by Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon, the New York Times bestselling author of Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade and the wildly popular Outlander novels, delivers three tales of war, intrigue, and espionage that feature...


SURGEON'S MATE: Book Two of the Patricia MacPherson Nautical Adventure Series

by Linda Collison

Patrick MacPherson is a qualified surgeon's mate; but she's not the man he claims to be. It's late October, 1762. After surviving the deadly siege of Havana, Patrick MacPherson and the rest of the ship's company...