Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

 

Language

English (225)

French (92)

German (0)

Spanish (193)

Italian (185)

 

Protection

All (225)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (222)

More options

The Boleyn King: A Novel

The Boleyn Trilogy #1

by Laura Andersen

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares...


The Queen's Necklace

by Alexandre Dumas

Fans of historical fiction will love The Queen's Necklace, Dumas' gripping retelling of the Affair of the Necklace, a suspicious incident of theft in the court of Louis XVI that some experts say set into motion...


Cupboard Kisses

by Barbara Metzger

Well-bred orphan Cristabel Swann tolerates her thankless teaching job -- until her uncle dies unexpectedly. Arriving in London to claim her inheritance, Cristabel encounters something else entirely -- a loutish...


Jackass Frigate

by Alaric Bond

How do you maintain discipline on a ship when someone murders your first lieutenant-and a part of you agrees with their action? December 1796. It was a time of unrest and discontent for Britain, made even worse...


The Custom of the Army (Novella): An Outlander Novella

Lord John series #7

by Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon, bestselling author of the acclaimed Outlander series, weaves an engrossing tale of war, history, and suspense in this original novella—now available as a standalone eBook—featuring returning...


The Moghul

by Thomas Hoover

"...the finest book on India since Kipling." India 1620: India is ruled by the son of the great Akbar, and is about to pass his crown to one of his sons. Brian Hawksworth, ship's captain and emissary of King...


Henry VIII and His Court

by Luise Muhlbach

This novel is based on the true life of Henry VIII, one of England's most famous - or infamous kings. Marriages, divorces, beheadings, death and glory - all contained within the pages of this fantastic ebook....


A Fire Within

by Kathleen Morgan

Fans of Morgan's These Highland Hills series and historical fiction readers will enjoy this dramatic conclusion to the series.


SURGEON'S MATE: Book Two of the Patricia MacPherson Nautical Adventure Series

by Linda Collison

Patrick MacPherson is a qualified surgeon's mate; but she's not the man he claims to be. It's late October, 1762. After surviving the deadly siege of Havana, Patrick MacPherson and the rest of the ship's company...


The Mississippi Bubble

by Emerson Hough

The Mississippi Bubble - The Granddaddy of Financial Disasters In 1716 France was broke. A series of wars waged by Louis XIV had left the economy in ruins, the king in debt, and the government coffers empty....


Caribbee

by Thomas Hoover

The Untold Story of the First American Revolution Barbados, 1648. The lush and deadly Caribbean paradise, domain of rebels and freeholders, of brigands, bawds and buccaneers. Where the flames of revolution exploded...


Rattlin, the Reefer

by Edward Howard

If you like the novels of Frederick Marryat you'll love Edward Howard's Rattlin, the Reefer. Rattlin, the Reefer was edited by Frederick Marryat for his friend and fellow captain Edward Howard. For several generations,...


Girl on the Golden Coin

by Marci Jefferson

Impoverished and exiled to the French countryside after the overthrow of the English Crown, Frances Stuart survives merely by her blood-relation to the Stuart Royals. But in 1660, the Restoration of the Stuart...


Bring Up the Bodies

Man Booker Prize 2012, Costa Book Award for Best Novel 2012

by Hilary Mantel

Winner of the 2012 Man Booker Prize

Winner of the 2012 Costa Book of the Year Award

The sequel to Hilary Mantel's 2009 Man Booker Prize winner and New York Times bestseller, Wolf Hall delves into the heart of...


Captain Blood

by Rafael Sabatini

Peter Blood, a physician and an English gentleman becomes a pirate after suffering a grave injustice. Barely escaping the gallows after his arrest for treating wounded rebels—who were fighting the oppressive...


When Fortune Frowns

by William H. H. White

The engrossing story of HMS Pandora, never before told in a historical novel, comes to life in this portrait of the crew that embarked in 1790 on an epic voyage to Tahiti to find and arrest the men who revolted...


The Meeting Place

Song of Acadia #1

by T. Bunn & Janette Oke

In 18th-century Canada, two women fashion a friendship that social unrest threatens to destroy. Song of Acadia book 1. A Christy Award-winner.


The Afflicted Girls

by Suzy Witten

Winner 2010 IPPY SILVER MEDAL for Historical Fiction (Independent Publisher Book Awards) A Walt Disney Studios Fellowship Finalist Something terrible happened in Salem in 1692 . . . but it isn't what you think!...


The Iron King

The Accursed Kings #1

by Maurice Druon

‘This is the original game of thrones’ George R.R. Martin

From the publishers that brought you A Game of Thrones comes the series that inspired George R.R. Martin’s epic work.

France became a great nation...


THE FOX AND THE HEDGEHOG: A Novel of Wolfe and Montcalm at Quebec

by Terry Mort

""Measured by the numbers engaged, the Battle of Quebec was but a heavy skirmish; measured by the results, it was one of the great battles of the world."" - Francis Parkman. When the British defeated the French...