Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

 

Language

English (226)

French (94)

German (0)

Spanish (204)

Italian (188)

 

Protection

All (226)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (223)

More options

The Boleyn King: A Novel

The Boleyn Trilogy #1

by Laura Andersen

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY RT BOOK REVIEWS

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, and Showtime’s The Tudors, The Boleyn King is the first book in an enthralling trilogy that dares...


Cupboard Kisses

by Barbara Metzger

Well-bred orphan Cristabel Swann tolerates her thankless teaching job -- until her uncle dies unexpectedly. Arriving in London to claim her inheritance, Cristabel encounters something else entirely -- a loutish...


Jackass Frigate

by Alaric Bond

How do you maintain discipline on a ship when someone murders your first lieutenant-and a part of you agrees with their action? December 1796. It was a time of unrest and discontent for Britain, made even worse...


The Moghul

by Thomas Hoover

"...the finest book on India since Kipling." India 1620: India is ruled by the son of the great Akbar, and is about to pass his crown to one of his sons. Brian Hawksworth, ship's captain and emissary of King...


Henry VIII and His Court

by Luise Muhlbach

This novel is based on the true life of Henry VIII, one of England's most famous - or infamous kings. Marriages, divorces, beheadings, death and glory - all contained within the pages of this fantastic ebook....


A Fire Within

by Kathleen Morgan

Fans of Morgan's These Highland Hills series and historical fiction readers will enjoy this dramatic conclusion to the series.


SURGEON'S MATE: Book Two of the Patricia MacPherson Nautical Adventure Series

by Linda Collison

Patrick MacPherson is a qualified surgeon's mate; but she's not the man he claims to be. It's late October, 1762. After surviving the deadly siege of Havana, Patrick MacPherson and the rest of the ship's company...


The Mississippi Bubble

by Emerson Hough

The Mississippi Bubble - The Granddaddy of Financial Disasters In 1716 France was broke. A series of wars waged by Louis XIV had left the economy in ruins, the king in debt, and the government coffers empty....


Caribbee

by Thomas Hoover

The Untold Story of the First American Revolution Barbados, 1648. The lush and deadly Caribbean paradise, domain of rebels and freeholders, of brigands, bawds and buccaneers. Where the flames of revolution exploded...


Rattlin, the Reefer

by Edward Howard

If you like the novels of Frederick Marryat you'll love Edward Howard's Rattlin, the Reefer. Rattlin, the Reefer was edited by Frederick Marryat for his friend and fellow captain Edward Howard. For several generations,...


The Meeting Place

Song of Acadia #1

by T. Bunn & Janette Oke

In 18th-century Canada, two women fashion a friendship that social unrest threatens to destroy. Song of Acadia book 1. A Christy Award-winner.


THE FOX AND THE HEDGEHOG: A Novel of Wolfe and Montcalm at Quebec

by Terry Mort

""Measured by the numbers engaged, the Battle of Quebec was but a heavy skirmish; measured by the results, it was one of the great battles of the world."" - Francis Parkman. When the British defeated the French...


The King's Own

by Frederick Marryat

From the Father of Modern Nautical Fiction The King's Own, written in 1830, was the second book from Frederick Marryat's pen. The plot takes place about the time of the Nore and Spithead mutinies (1797). A man...


True Colours

by Alaric Bond

The Royal Navy is immobilised by mutiny, and the only thing that's standing in the way of an invasion is a commander who is communicating with a fleet that isn't there. While Great Britain's major home fleets...


Journey to a Land Called Hope

by Mary Anne Butler

A New World - A New Beginning. In 1750 Heinrich Mueller, an immigrant German, jumps ship in New London, Connecticut after an altercation with the English captain. He is taken in by two locals, one of whom has...


The Temple

by Tom Grundner

It's 1798 and Sir Sidney Smith is languishing in "The Temple," France's maximum security prison. For the past two years he had been running the Agence de Paris-Britain's primary spy ring in France-from his cell....


TRUE TO THE OLD FLAG: A Tale of The American War of Independence

by G.A. Henty

With 59 pages of additional articles, references, and bibliographies of recommended reading. It is hardly necessary to point out the significance of the American Revolution. Untold nonfiction books have been...


To Have and to Hold

by Mary Johnston

To Have and to Hold introduced 20th century readers to what would become the fast-paced historical thriller of today. Released in February, 1900, it sold over 220,000 copies in just twelve weeks, and launched...


Sir Mortimer: A Novel

by Mary Johnston

Another of Mary Johnston's dazzling novels of fighting, romance, and adventure-this time on the Spanish Main Sir Mortimer Ferne is a privateer-a legalized pirate-licensed by Queen Elizabeth I to prey on enemy...


BY CONDUCT AND COURAGE: A Story Of The Days Of Nelson

by G. A. Henty

With 78 pages of additional articles, references, and bibliographies of recommended reading. Great Britain is an island nation, which means it is critical that it control the waters around it in order to keep...