Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (82)

French (103)

German (0)

Spanish (247)

Italian (207)

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

 

Protection

All (82)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (79)

More options

The King's Curse

The Cousins' War #6, The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels #7

by Philippa Gregory

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author behind the acclaimed Starz series The White Queen comes the story of lady-in-waiting Margaret Pole and her unique view of King Henry VIII’s stratospheric rise...


The Confession of Katherine Howard

by Suzannah Dunn

From Suzannah Dunn, the critically acclaimed author of The Queen of Subtleties, The Sixth Wife and The Queen’s Sorrow, comes the tragic, gripping, and intensely moving story of Katherine Howard—the fifth...


The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah...


The Venetian Bargain

by Marina Fiorato

Venice, 1576. Five years after the defeat of the Ottoman Empire at the Battle of Lepanto, a ship steals unnoticed into Venice bearing a deadly cargo. A man, more dead than alive, disembarks and staggers into...


Sedition

by Katharine Grant

"Extremely impressive . . . . A wonderful read from a born storyteller." —Chris Cleave, New York Times bestselling author of Little Bee

"A wicked sense of humor . . . . Subversive and thrilling . . . It will...


The Secret Life of William Shakespeare

by Jude Morgan

Named One of Kirkus Reviews Best Fiction Books of 2014

There are so few established facts about how the son of a glove maker from Warwickshire became one of the greatest writers of all time that some people doubt...


Fire the Sky

Contact: the Battle for America #2

by W. Michael and Kathleen O'Neal Gear

New York Times bestselling novelists W. Michael and Kathleen O’Neal Gear have long been considered the foremost chroniclers of early Native American life. Now, in a critically acclaimed, sweeping new series,...


Queen Elizabeth's Daughter

by Anne Clinard Barnhill

From Anne Barnhill, the author of At the Mercy of the Queen, comes the gripping tale of Mary Shelton, Elizabeth I's young cousin and ward, set against the glittering backdrop of the Elizabethan court

Mistress...


Artemis

Thomas Kydd #2

by Julian Stockwin

With Kydd, Julian Stockwin introduced us to a young wig-maker from Guildford who was kidnapped and pressed into duty with the tempestuous crew of the Duke William battle ship. Now, Thomas Paine Kydd is back...


Mutiny: A Kydd Novel

Thomas Kydd #4

by Julian Stockwin

In the grand tradition of Patrick O'Brian, this new installment in Julian Stockwin's epic Napoleonic-era naval adventure series re-creates one of history's most notorious naval insurrections.

With all the wind-whipped...


The Story of Land and Sea

by Katy Simpson Smith

Set in a small coastal town in North Carolina during the waning years of the American Revolution, this incandescent debut novel follows three generations of family—fathers and daughters, mother and son, master...


Girl on the Golden Coin

by Marci Jefferson

Impoverished and exiled to the French countryside after the overthrow of the English Crown, Frances Stuart survives merely by her blood-relation to the Stuart Royals. But in 1660, the Restoration of the Stuart...


Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe

by Sandra Gulland

Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe is the much-awaited sequel to Sandra Gulland's highly acclaimed first novel, The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B.

Beginning in Paris in 1796, the saga continues as Josephine...


All the Queen's Players

by Jane Feather

At Queen Elizabeth’s palace, intrigue abounds. And when a naive girl with a gift for keen observation enters the court, she can hardly imagine the role she will play in bringing England—indeed, the whole...


The Queen's Dwarf

by Ella March Chase

A richly imagined, gorgeously written historical novel set in the Stuart court featuring a unique hero: Jeffrey Hudson, a dwarf tasked with spying on the beautiful but vulnerable queen

It's 1629, and King Charles...


Seaflower

Thomas Kydd #3

by Julian Stockwin

Internationally bestselling author Julian Stockwin's seafaring hero, young Thomas Kydd, comes of age in this epic naval adventure set in the Great Age of Sail.

Writing in the sweeping tradition of Patrick O'Brian...


Victus

by Albert Sánchez Piñol, Daniel Hahn & Thomas Bunstead

A #1 international bestseller reminiscent of the works of Roberto Bolaño, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, and Edward Rutherford—a page-turning historical epic, set in early eighteenth-century Spain, about a military mastermind...


Kydd

Thomas Kydd #1

by Julian Stockwin

It is 1793.

Europe is ablaze with war. The British prime minister is under pressure to intimidate the French, and dispatches a Navy squadron to appear off the French coast. To man the ships, ordinary citizens...


The King's Pleasure: A Novel of Katharine of Aragon

by Norah Lofts

Norah Lofts’s tales of royal Britain have stood the test of time.

This international bestseller powerfully tells of the life of Katharine of Aragon, from her childhood in Spain to her reign and downfall in...


The Spanish Queen

by Carolly Erickson

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Wife of Henry VIII comes a powerful and moving novel about Catherine of Aragon, Henry VIII's first wife and mother of Mary I

When young Catherine of Aragon,...