Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling / Page 4

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

 

Language

English (229)

French (78)

German (0)

Spanish (167)

Italian (216)

 

Protection

All (229)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (226)

More options

AT ABOUKIR AND ACRE: A Story of Napoleon's Invasion of Egypt

by George A. Henty

With 73 pages of additional articles, references, and bibliographies of recommended reading. In 1798, Napoleon surprised the world by invading Egypt. His goal was to conquer the eastern Mediterranean and, from...


Horatio Howard Brenton: A Novel of the Sea

by Edward Belcher

What were the origins of C.S. Forester's Horatio Hornblower series of novels? A good argument can be made that it all began here with Horatio Howard Brenton. In the early 1800's Sir Edward Belcher was a British...


The Two Captains: Nelson and Bonaparte at the Nile

by Cyrus Townsend Brady

Two fleets, two perspectives, two lovers, and one battle-with the eastern Mediterranean and all of India at stake. This is the story of two "captains," Horatio Nelson and Napoleon Bonaparte. In 1798 Napoleon...


Royal Road to Fotheringhay: A Novel

The Stuart Saga #1

by Jean Plaidy

The haunting story of the beautiful—and tragic—Mary, Queen of Scots, as only legendary novelist Jean Plaidy could write it

Mary Stuart became Queen of Scotland at the tender age of six days old. Her French-born...


For Love of Country

by William Hammond

For Love of Country is the second novel of the early American republic in the nautical series from William Hammond. Set in the early 1780s in the years following the American Revolution, it features the adventures...


The Rose Without a Thorn: A Novel

Queens of England #11

by Jean Plaidy

From the pen of legendary historical novelist Jean Plaidy comes an unforgettable true story of

royalty, passion, and innocence lost.

Born into an impoverished branch of the noble Howard family, young Katherine...


Treasures of the North

Yukon Quest #1

by Tracie Peterson

During the Alaska gold rush, three characters dream of a new tomorrow. Will the harsh frontier fulfill their hopes? Yukon Quest book 1.


Rivers of Gold

Yukon Quest #3

by Tracie Peterson

Rescued after being swept overboard, Miranda tries to find her way back to safety and is assisted by a botanist. Yukon Quest book 3.


Fire on Dark Water

by Wendy Perriman

A debut historical novel about a female pirate's life on the high seas.

Born a despised gypsy and tricked into a life of brutal debauchery, Lola Blaise quickly learns the harsh ways of the world, and of the...


My Old True Love

by SheilaKay Adams

Sheila Kay Adams brings us a novel inspired by the ballads of the English, Scottish, and Irish. These long, sad stories of heartbreak and betrayal, violence and love, have been sung for generations by the descendents...


The Confession of Katherine Howard

by Suzannah Dunn

From Suzannah Dunn, the critically acclaimed author of The Queen of Subtleties, The Sixth Wife and The Queen’s Sorrow, comes the tragic, gripping, and intensely moving story of Katherine Howard—the fifth...


The Boleyn Reckoning

The Boleyn Trilogy #3

by Laura Andersen

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Boleyn Reckoning heralds the triumphant conclusion of Laura Andersen’s enthralling trilogy about the Tudor king who never was: the son of Henry VIII...


Flight of the Sparrow: A Novel of Early America

by Amy Belding Brown

A historical novel based on the life of Mary Rowlandson

“An authentic drama of Indian captivity…A compelling, emotionally gripping tale.”—Eliot Pattison, author of the Mystery of Colonial America series...


Wickham's Diary

by Amanda Grange

11 July 1784

Why should I be beneath Fitzwilliam? I am just as handsome as he is; I am just as intelligent, even though he works harder at his books; and I am just as amusing; in fact I dare say I am a great...


The Shadow Queen: A Novel

by Sandra Gulland

From the author of the beloved Josephine B. Trilogy, comes a spellbinding novel inspired by the true story of a young woman who rises from poverty to become confidante to the most powerful, provocative and dangerous...


Royal Sisters: The Story of the Daughters of James II

The Stuart Saga #8

by Jean Plaidy

Two sisters change the course of a nation by forsaking the King—their own father.

 

England is on the verge of revolution. Antagonized by the Catholicism of King James II, the people plot to drive him from...


The Venetian Bargain

by Marina Fiorato

Venice, 1576. Five years after the defeat of the Ottoman Empire at the Battle of Lepanto, a ship steals unnoticed into Venice bearing a deadly cargo. A man, more dead than alive, disembarks and staggers into...


His Last Letter: Elizabeth I and the Earl of Leicester

by Jeane Westin

One of the greatest loves of all time-between Elizabeth I and Robert Dudley-comes to life in this vivid novel.

They were playmates as children, impetuous lovers as adults-and for thirty years were the center...


For the King

by Catherine Delors

"A superbly elegant novel" (Susan Holloway Scott, author of The French Mistress) from the author of Mistress of the Revolution.

After First Consul Napoleon Bonaparte survives an assassination attempt, Chief...


Sedition

by Katharine Grant

"Extremely impressive . . . . A wonderful read from a born storyteller." —Chris Cleave, New York Times bestselling author of Little Bee

"A wicked sense of humor . . . . Subversive and thrilling . . . It will...