Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling / Page 4

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (261)

French (68)

German (0)

Spanish (99)

Italian (141)

 

Protection

All (261)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (258)

More options

TRUE TO THE OLD FLAG: A Tale of The American War of Independence

by G.A. Henty

With 59 pages of additional articles, references, and bibliographies of recommended reading. It is hardly necessary to point out the significance of the American Revolution. Untold nonfiction books have been...


To Have and to Hold

by Mary Johnston

To Have and to Hold introduced 20th century readers to what would become the fast-paced historical thriller of today. Released in February, 1900, it sold over 220,000 copies in just twelve weeks, and launched...


Sir Mortimer: A Novel

by Mary Johnston

Another of Mary Johnston's dazzling novels of fighting, romance, and adventure-this time on the Spanish Main Sir Mortimer Ferne is a privateer-a legalized pirate-licensed by Queen Elizabeth I to prey on enemy...


BY CONDUCT AND COURAGE: A Story Of The Days Of Nelson

by G. A. Henty

With 78 pages of additional articles, references, and bibliographies of recommended reading. Great Britain is an island nation, which means it is critical that it control the waters around it in order to keep...


AT ABOUKIR AND ACRE: A Story of Napoleon's Invasion of Egypt

by George A. Henty

With 73 pages of additional articles, references, and bibliographies of recommended reading. In 1798, Napoleon surprised the world by invading Egypt. His goal was to conquer the eastern Mediterranean and, from...


Horatio Howard Brenton: A Novel of the Sea

by Edward Belcher

What were the origins of C.S. Forester's Horatio Hornblower series of novels? A good argument can be made that it all began here with Horatio Howard Brenton. In the early 1800's Sir Edward Belcher was a British...


The Two Captains: Nelson and Bonaparte at the Nile

by Cyrus Townsend Brady

Two fleets, two perspectives, two lovers, and one battle-with the eastern Mediterranean and all of India at stake. This is the story of two "captains," Horatio Nelson and Napoleon Bonaparte. In 1798 Napoleon...


Fate and Fortune

by Shirley McKay

1581: young St Andrews academic Hew Cullan is unhappy with his life and disillusioned with the law. After his father’s death he is invited by the advocate Richard Cunningham to complete his legal education...


Royal Road to Fotheringhay: A Novel

The Stuart Saga #1

by Jean Plaidy

The haunting story of the beautiful—and tragic—Mary, Queen of Scots, as only legendary novelist Jean Plaidy could write it

Mary Stuart became Queen of Scotland at the tender age of six days old. Her French-born...


For Love of Country

by William Hammond

For Love of Country is the second novel of the early American republic in the nautical series from William Hammond. Set in the early 1780s in the years following the American Revolution, it features the adventures...


The Sky's Dark Labyrinth

by Stuart Clark

At the dawn of the seventeenth century everyone believed that the sun revolved around the earth. Yet some men knew that the heavens did not move as they should. And some men began to suspect that this heresy...


The Rose Without a Thorn: A Novel

Queens of England #11

by Jean Plaidy

From the pen of legendary historical novelist Jean Plaidy comes an unforgettable true story of

royalty, passion, and innocence lost.

Born into an impoverished branch of the noble Howard family, young Katherine...


Treasures of the North

Yukon Quest #1

by Tracie Peterson

During the Alaska gold rush, three characters dream of a new tomorrow. Will the harsh frontier fulfill their hopes? Yukon Quest book 1.


Rivers of Gold

Yukon Quest #3

by Tracie Peterson

Rescued after being swept overboard, Miranda tries to find her way back to safety and is assisted by a botanist. Yukon Quest book 3.


Fire on Dark Water

by Wendy Perriman

A debut historical novel about a female pirate's life on the high seas.

Born a despised gypsy and tricked into a life of brutal debauchery, Lola Blaise quickly learns the harsh ways of the world, and of the...


The Moor's Account: A Novel

by Laila Lalami

In this stunning work of historical fiction, Laila Lalami brings us the imagined memoirs of the first black explorer of America—a Moroccan slave whose testimony was left out of the official record.

 

In 1527,...


My Old True Love

by SheilaKay Adams

Sheila Kay Adams brings us a novel inspired by the ballads of the English, Scottish, and Irish. These long, sad stories of heartbreak and betrayal, violence and love, have been sung for generations by the descendents...


The Confession of Katherine Howard

by Suzannah Dunn

The tragic, moving, and gripping story of the ascendanceand fall of Katherine Howard, fifth wife of Henry VIII,and the best friend she nearly dragged down with her

When twelve-year-old Katherine Howard comes...


The Boleyn Reckoning

The Boleyn Trilogy #3

by Laura Andersen

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Boleyn Reckoning heralds the triumphant conclusion of Laura Andersen’s enthralling trilogy about the Tudor king who never was: the son of Henry VIII...


Finding Emilie

by Laurel Corona

Woman is born free, and everywhere she is in corsets. . . .

Lili du Châtelet yearns to know more about her mother, the brilliant French mathematician Emilie. But the shrouded details of Emilie’s unconventional...