Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling / Page 2

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English

French

German

Spanish

Italian

 

Protection

All (242)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (239)

More options

The Lady of the Rivers

by Philippa Gregory

The Lady of the Rivers tells the story of Jacquetta, daughter of the Count of Luxembourg, and kinswoman to half the royalty of Europe, who was married to the great Englishman John, Duke of Bedford, uncle to...


The Religion

by Tim Willocks

This is what we dream of: to be so swept away, so poleaxed by a book that the breath is sucked right out of us. Brace yourselves.

May 1565. Suleiman the Magnificent, emperor of the Ottomans, has declared a jihad...


Wolf Hall

Walter Scott Prize 2010, Man Booker Prize 2009, National Book Critics Circle Award for Fiction 2009

by Hilary Mantel

In the ruthless arena of King Henry VIII's court, only one man dares to gamble his life to win the king's favor and ascend to the heights of political power

England in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster....


Lord John and the Hand of Devils: A Novel

Lord John series #6

by Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon, the New York Times bestselling author of Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade and the wildly popular Outlander novels, delivers three tales of war, intrigue, and espionage that feature...


The King's Agent

by Donna Russo Morin

To the casual observer, Battista della Paglia is an avid art collector, or perhaps a nimble thief. In reality, the cunning Italian is an agent for François, the King of France, for whom he procures the greatest...


Henry VIII and His Court

by Luise Muhlbach

This novel is based on the true life of Henry VIII, one of England's most famous - or infamous kings. Marriages, divorces, beheadings, death and glory - all contained within the pages of this fantastic ebook....


True Colours

by Alaric Bond

The Royal Navy is immobilised by mutiny, and the only thing that's standing in the way of an invasion is a commander who is communicating with a fleet that isn't there. While Great Britain's major home fleets...


SURGEON'S MATE: Book Two of the Patricia MacPherson Nautical Adventure Series

by Linda Collison

Patrick MacPherson is a qualified surgeon's mate; but she's not the man he claims to be. It's late October, 1762. After surviving the deadly siege of Havana, Patrick MacPherson and the rest of the ship's company...


The Mississippi Bubble

by Emerson Hough

The Mississippi Bubble - The Granddaddy of Financial Disasters In 1716 France was broke. A series of wars waged by Louis XIV had left the economy in ruins, the king in debt, and the government coffers empty....


Caribbee

by Thomas Hoover

The Untold Story of the First American Revolution Barbados, 1648. The lush and deadly Caribbean paradise, domain of rebels and freeholders, of brigands, bawds and buccaneers. Where the flames of revolution exploded...


Rattlin, the Reefer

by Edward Howard

If you like the novels of Frederick Marryat you'll love Edward Howard's Rattlin, the Reefer. Rattlin, the Reefer was edited by Frederick Marryat for his friend and fellow captain Edward Howard. For several generations,...


The Moor's Account: A Novel

by Laila Lalami

**Longlisted for the 2015 Man Booker Prize**

**Nominated for the 2016 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award**

A Pulitzer Prize Finalist

A New York Times Notable Book

A Wall Street Journal Top 10 Book of the...


Empress of the Night

Catherine #2

by Eva Stachniak

Perfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects...


Fire the Sky: Book Two of Contact: The Battle for America

Contact: the Battle for America #2

by W. Michael and Kathleen O'Neal Gear

New York Times bestselling novelists W. Michael and Kathleen O’Neal Gear have long been considered the foremost chroniclers of early Native American life. Now, in a critically acclaimed, sweeping new series,...


Girl on the Golden Coin

by Marci Jefferson

Impoverished and exiled to the French countryside after the overthrow of the English Crown, Frances Stuart survives merely by her blood-relation to the Stuart Royals. But in 1660, the Restoration of the Stuart...


Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe

by Sandra Gulland

Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe is the much-awaited sequel to Sandra Gulland's highly acclaimed first novel, The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B.

Beginning in Paris in 1796, the saga continues as Josephine...


The Queen's Dwarf

by Ella March Chase

A richly imagined, gorgeously written historical novel set in the Stuart court featuring a unique hero: Jeffrey Hudson, a dwarf tasked with spying on the beautiful but vulnerable queen

It's 1629, and King Charles...


Plain Jane: A Novel of Jane Seymour

by Laurien Gardner

Continuing the story of Henry VIII?s wives?from the author of The Spanish Bride and A Lady Raised High.

With a face better suited to a nun?s habit than a wedding dress, Jane Seymour has no suitors and few hopes....


Devil's Brood

Henry II & Eleanor of Aquitaine #3

by Sharon Kay Penman

A.D. 1172. Henry II’s three eldest sons conspire against him and align themselves with his greatest enemy, King Louis of France, but it’s Eleanor of Aquitaine’s involvement in the plot to overthrow her...


The Spanish Bride: A Novel of Catherine of Aragon

by Laurien Gardner

The queen who married a Tudor and a tyrant.

Her name was Catherine. For over two decades, she was Queen of England, until her failure to bear the king a son, her advancing age, and King Henry VIII's obsession...