Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling / Page 2

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

 

Language

English (229)

French (78)

German (0)

Spanish (168)

Italian (216)

 

Protection

All (229)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (226)

More options

The Mississippi Bubble

by Emerson Hough

The Mississippi Bubble - The Granddaddy of Financial Disasters In 1716 France was broke. A series of wars waged by Louis XIV had left the economy in ruins, the king in debt, and the government coffers empty....


Caribbee

by Thomas Hoover

The Untold Story of the First American Revolution Barbados, 1648. The lush and deadly Caribbean paradise, domain of rebels and freeholders, of brigands, bawds and buccaneers. Where the flames of revolution exploded...


Rattlin, the Reefer

by Edward Howard

If you like the novels of Frederick Marryat you'll love Edward Howard's Rattlin, the Reefer. Rattlin, the Reefer was edited by Frederick Marryat for his friend and fellow captain Edward Howard. For several generations,...


The Moor's Account: A Novel

by Laila Lalami

**Longlisted for the 2015 Man Booker Prize**

**Nominated for the 2016 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award**

A Pulitzer Prize Finalist

A New York Times Notable Book

A Wall Street Journal Top 10 Book of the...


Empress of the Night

Catherine #2

by Eva Stachniak

Perfect for readers of Hilary Mantel, Alison Weir, and Philippa Gregory, Empress of the Night is Eva Stachniak’s engrossing new novel, told in the voice of Catherine the Great as the Romanov monarch reflects...


Fire the Sky: Book Two of Contact: The Battle for America

Contact: the Battle for America #2

by W. Michael and Kathleen O'Neal Gear

New York Times bestselling novelists W. Michael and Kathleen O’Neal Gear have long been considered the foremost chroniclers of early Native American life. Now, in a critically acclaimed, sweeping new series,...


Girl on the Golden Coin

by Marci Jefferson

Impoverished and exiled to the French countryside after the overthrow of the English Crown, Frances Stuart survives merely by her blood-relation to the Stuart Royals. But in 1660, the Restoration of the Stuart...


Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe

by Sandra Gulland

Tales of Passion, Tales of Woe is the much-awaited sequel to Sandra Gulland's highly acclaimed first novel, The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B.

Beginning in Paris in 1796, the saga continues as Josephine...


The Queen's Dwarf

by Ella March Chase

A richly imagined, gorgeously written historical novel set in the Stuart court featuring a unique hero: Jeffrey Hudson, a dwarf tasked with spying on the beautiful but vulnerable queen

It's 1629, and King Charles...


Plain Jane: A Novel of Jane Seymour

by Laurien Gardner

Continuing the story of Henry VIII?s wives?from the author of The Spanish Bride and A Lady Raised High.

With a face better suited to a nun?s habit than a wedding dress, Jane Seymour has no suitors and few hopes....


Devil's Brood

Henry II & Eleanor of Aquitaine #3

by Sharon Kay Penman

A.D. 1172. Henry II’s three eldest sons conspire against him and align themselves with his greatest enemy, King Louis of France, but it’s Eleanor of Aquitaine’s involvement in the plot to overthrow her...


The Spanish Bride: A Novel of Catherine of Aragon

by Laurien Gardner

The queen who married a Tudor and a tyrant.

Her name was Catherine. For over two decades, she was Queen of England, until her failure to bear the king a son, her advancing age, and King Henry VIII's obsession...


The Guardship

by James L. Nelson

Shortly after Thomas Marlowe's arrival in Williamsburg, Virginia, all in that newfound capital city are speaking his name. With the bounty from his years as a pirate--a life he intends to renounce and keep forever...


Place Called Freedom

by Ken Follett

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

 

Scotland, 1766. Sentenced to a life of misery in the brutal coal mines, twenty-one-year-old Mack McAsh hungers for escape. His only ally: the beautiful, highborn Lizzie Hallim, who...


The Disorderly Knights

The Lymond Chronicles #3

by Dorothy Dunnett

The third volume in The Lymond Chronicles, the highly renowned series of historical novels by Dorothy Dunnett, Disorderly Knights takes place in 1551, when Francis Crawford of Lymond is dispatched to embattled...


Checkmate

The Lymond Chronicles #6

by Dorothy Dunnett

For the first time Dunnett's Lymond Chronicles are available in the United States in quality paperback editions.

Sixth in the legendary Lymond Chronicles, Checkmate takes place in 1557, where Francis Crawford...


The Complete Tudors: Nine Historical Novels

by Jean Plaidy

The nine Tudor novels by beloved novelist Jean Plaidy are now available as one complete series spanning sixteenth-century England. This exciting collection includes a brand-new character guide, along with reading...


The Lady of Secrets: A Novel

The Dark Queen Saga #6

by Susan Carroll

This brilliant new installment in bestselling author Susan Carroll’s mesmerizing Dark Queen historical fiction series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

 

Queen Catherine de Medici is dead, and for...


Bring Up the Bodies

Man Booker Prize 2012, Costa Book Award for Best Novel 2012

by Hilary Mantel

Winner of the 2012 Man Booker Prize

Winner of the 2012 Costa Book of the Year Award

The sequel to Hilary Mantel's 2009 Man Booker Prize winner and New York Times bestseller, Wolf Hall delves into the heart of...


The King's Confidante: The Story of the Daughter of Sir Thomas More

The Tudor Saga #6

by Jean Plaidy

An English lawyer and statesman, Sir Thomas More was a kind father who put as much emphasis on educating his daughters as on his son, declaring that women were just as intelligent as men. His favorite daughter,...