Historical / Modern (<1799)

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (51)

French (99)

German (0)

Spanish (233)

Italian (202)

 

Category

Delete Modern (<1799)

 

Protection

All (51)

DRM Free (3)

DRM (48)

More options

The Confession of Katherine Howard

by Suzannah Dunn

From Suzannah Dunn, the critically acclaimed author of The Queen of Subtleties, The Sixth Wife and The Queen’s Sorrow, comes the tragic, gripping, and intensely moving story of Katherine Howard—the fifth...


The Miniaturist

by Jessie Burton

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah...


The Venetian Bargain

by Marina Fiorato

Venice, 1576. Five years after the defeat of the Ottoman Empire at the Battle of Lepanto, a ship steals unnoticed into Venice bearing a deadly cargo. A man, more dead than alive, disembarks and staggers into...


Sedition

by Katharine Grant

"Extremely impressive . . . . A wonderful read from a born storyteller." —Chris Cleave, New York Times bestselling author of Little Bee

"A wicked sense of humor . . . . Subversive and thrilling . . . It will...


The Secret Life of William Shakespeare

by Jude Morgan

Named One of Kirkus Reviews Best Fiction Books of 2014

There are so few established facts about how the son of a glove maker from Warwickshire became one of the greatest writers of all time that some people doubt...


Queen Elizabeth's Daughter

by Anne Clinard Barnhill

From Anne Barnhill, the author of At the Mercy of the Queen, comes the gripping tale of Mary Shelton, Elizabeth I's young cousin and ward, set against the glittering backdrop of the Elizabethan court

Mistress...


The Story of Land and Sea

by Katy Simpson Smith

Set in a small coastal town in North Carolina during the waning years of the American Revolution, this incandescent debut novel follows three generations of family—fathers and daughters, mother and son, master...


Girl on the Golden Coin

by Marci Jefferson

Impoverished and exiled to the French countryside after the overthrow of the English Crown, Frances Stuart survives merely by her blood-relation to the Stuart Royals. But in 1660, the Restoration of the Stuart...


The Queen's Dwarf

by Ella March Chase

A richly imagined, gorgeously written historical novel set in the Stuart court featuring a unique hero: Jeffrey Hudson, a dwarf tasked with spying on the beautiful but vulnerable queen

It's 1629, and King Charles...


Victus

by Albert Sánchez Piñol, Daniel Hahn & Thomas Bunstead

A #1 international bestseller reminiscent of the works of Roberto Bolaño, Carlos Ruiz Zafon, and Edward Rutherford—a page-turning historical epic, set in early eighteenth-century Spain, about a military mastermind...


The Spanish Queen

by Carolly Erickson

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Wife of Henry VIII comes a powerful and moving novel about Catherine of Aragon, Henry VIII's first wife and mother of Mary I

When young Catherine of Aragon,...


The Fort

by Bernard Cornwell

From New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell—one of the greatest yet little-known skirmishes of the Revolution: the Penobscot Expedition, a battle that would reveal the true character of a legendary...


The Guardship

by James L. Nelson

Shortly after Thomas Marlowe's arrival in Williamsburg, Virginia, all in that newfound capital city are speaking his name. With the bounty from his years as a pirate--a life he intends to renounce and keep forever...


Blood Royal

by Harold Robbins & Junius Podrug

Her Royal Highness, the Princess of Wales, was an ordinary young woman who was picked to be the future queen. Her wedding was a worldwide sensation. But she was deceived and betrayed before the honeymoon was...


The Gilded Lily

by Deborah Swift

A spellbinding historical novel of beauty and greed and surprising redemption

England, 1660. Ella Appleby believes she is destined for better things than slaving as a housemaid and dodging the blows of her drunken...


The Chronicles of Downton Abbey

by Matthew Sturgis, Jessica Fellowes & Julian Fellowes

The Great War has ended, but Downton Abbey is far from peaceful...

"Americans can't get enough of 'Downton Abbey,'" said The Boston Globe. As Season 3 of the award-winning TV series opens, it is 1920 and Downton...


The Unfaithful Queen

by Carolly Erickson

From New York Times bestselling author of The Last Wife of Henry VIII, a novel about Catherine Howard, wife of Henry's later years

Amid the turbulent, faction-ridden late reign of the fearsome Henry, eager high-spirited...


Bring Up the Bodies

Man Booker Prize 2012, Costa Book Award for Best Novel 2012

by Hilary Mantel

Winner of the 2012 Man Booker Prize

Winner of the 2012 Costa Book of the Year Award

The sequel to Hilary Mantel's 2009 Man Booker Prize winner and New York Times bestseller, Wolf Hall delves into the heart of...


Shadow Patriots

by Lucia St. Clair Robson

In July of 1776, the American colonies are ablaze with passion. In the streets, those who would be free boldly read aloud the newly written Declaration of Independence. It is a cry of freedom, but it is also...


A Place of Greater Safety

by Hilary Mantel

The story of three young provincials of no great heritage who together helped to destroy a way of life and, in the process, destroyed themselves: Camille Desmoulins, bisexual and beautiful, charming, erratic,...