Historical / XIXth century

Best Selling / Page 5

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete XIXth century

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (275)

French (57)

German (2)

Spanish (103)

Italian (112)

 

Protection

All (275)

DRM Free (6)

DRM (269)

More options

The Illusionists: A Novel

by Rosie Thomas

The intoxicating new novel of magic and intrigue by "a master storyteller" (Cosmopolitan), for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants

Over the course of three decades of writing, bestselling novelist...


The Prisoner of Zenda

by Anthony Hope

If historically tinged action-adventure is your genre of choice, hang on to your hat -- you're in for a wild ride. In The Prisoner of Zenda, Anthony Hope relates the misadventures that befall the soon-to-be-crowned...


The Battle Ground

by Ellen Glasgow

Dive into a richly detailed historical romance that provides a fascinating glimpse into nineteenth-century life in the American South, with a sweeping perspective that considers the challenges facing the working...


The Teahouse Fire

by Ellis Avery

"Like attending seasons of elegant tea parties-each one resplendent with character and drama. Delicious."-Maxine Hong Kingston

The story of two women whose lives intersect in late-nineteenth-century Japan, The...


Letters from Yellowstone

by Diane Smith

In the spring of 1898, A. E. (Alexandria) Bartram--a spirited young woman with a love for botany--is invited to join a field study in Yellowstone National Park. The study's leader, a mild-mannered professor...


The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B: A Novel

by Sandra Gulland

In this first of three books inspired by the life of Josephine Bonaparte, Sandra Gulland has created a novel of immense and magical proportions. We meet Josephine in the exotic and lush Martinico, where an old...


The Mistress of Nothing: A Novel

Governor General's Award for Fiction 2009

by Kate Pullinger

The American debut of an award-winning novel about a lady’s maid’s awakening as she journeys from the confines of Victorian England to the uncharted far reaches of Egypt’s Nile Valley

When Lady Duff Gordon,...


A Tapestry of Dreams

by Jessica Blair

The year is 1850, and Susannah Charlesworth loves the estate and open air life of the North Lincolnshire Wolds. She stands to become a very rich woman too - inheriting the estate, as well as her father's and...


Redemption Falls: A Novel

by Joseph O'Connor

1865. The Civil War is ending. Eighteen years after the Irish famine-ship Star of the Sea docked at New York, a daughter of its journey, Eliza Duane Mooney, sets out on foot from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, crossing...


Virgin Earth: A Novel

by Philippa Gregory

As England descends into civil war, John Tradescant the Younger, gardener to King Charles I, finds his loyalties in question, his status an ever-growing danger to his family. Fearing royal defeat and determined...


The Swan Gondola: A Novel

by Timothy Schaffert

A lush and thrilling romantic fable about two lovers set against the scandalous burlesques, midnight séances, and aerial ballets of the 1898 Omaha World's Fair.

On the eve of the 1898 Omaha World's Fair, Ferret...


Mr. Darcy's Daughters: A Novel

by Elizabeth Aston

Picking up twenty years after Pride and Prejudice left off, Mr. Darcy's Daughters begins in the year 1818. Elizabeth and Darcy have gone to Constantinople, giving us an opportunity to get to know their five...


Zeke and Ned

by Larry Mcmurtry & Diana Ossana

Zeke and Ned is the story of Ezekiel Proctor and Ned Christie, the last Cherokee warriors -- two proud, passionate men whose remarkable quest to carve a future out of Indian Territory east of the Arkansas River...


I Am Madame X: A Novel

by Gioia Diliberto

The life of Virginie Gautreau, the notorious beauty of Madame X, John Singer Sargent's most famous and scandalous portrait, provides inspiration for this absorbing and intriguing novel.

Madame X caused an immediate...


Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel

by Nancy Horan

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • TODAY SHOW BOOK CLUB PICK

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

From Nancy Horan, New York Times bestselling author...


Liszt's Kiss: A Novel

by Susanne Dunlap

The romantic story of a young female pianist in cholera-ravaged Paris of 1832, whose own tragedy leaves her susceptible to the passions and scandals of the composer Franz Liszt

At the height of the Romantic...


I Shall Be Near to You: A Novel

by Erin Lindsay Mccabe

An extraordinary novel about a strong-willed woman who disguises herself as a man in order to fight beside her husband in the Civil War.

Rosetta doesn't want her new husband, Jeremiah, to enlist, but he joins...


The Ghost of the Mary Celeste: A Novel

by Valerie Martin

A captivating, atmospheric return to historical fiction that is every bit as convincing and engrossing as Martin's landmark Mary Reilly.

In 1872 the American merchant vessel Mary Celeste was discovered adrift...


Tenor of Love: A Novel

by Mary di Michele

A NOVEL OF PASSION AND BETRAYAL, ART AND AMBITION BASED ON THE LIFE OF ONE OF THE GREATEST OPERA SINGERS OF ALL TIME

One summer day in 1897, a young singer, Enrico Caruso, arrives at the home of the Giachetti...


The Mercury Visions of Louis Daguerre: A Novel

by Dominic Smith

When the vision came, he was in the bathtub. So begins the madness of Louis Daguerre. In 1847, after a decade of using poisonous mercury vapors to cure his daguerreotype images, his mind is plagued by delusions....