Historical / XXth century (<1945)

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (40)

French (153)

German (0)

Spanish (306)

Italian (392)

 

Category

Delete XXth century (<1945)

 

Audience

Adult (40)

 

Protection

All (40)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (40)

More options

The Race for Paris

by Meg Waite Clayton

National Bestseller

David J. Langum, Sr. Prize for American Historical Fiction, Honorary Mention for 2015

The New York Times bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters returns with a moving and powerfully dynamic...


Newport

by Jill Morrow

Following in the steps of Beatriz Williams and Amor Towles, this richly atmospheric, spellbinding novel transports readers to the dazzling, glamorous world of Newport during the Roaring Twenties and to a mansion...


Mademoiselle Chanel

by C. W. Gortner

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s...


The Heroes' Welcome

by Louisa Young

April 1919. Six months have passed since the armistice that ended the Great War. But new battles face those who have survived.

Only 23, former soldier Riley Purefoy and his bride, Nadine Waveney, have their whole...


Far to Go

by Alison Pick

"Deftlystructured and . . . seamless." —Globe and Mail (Toronto)

 

"[A]nuanced and layered portrait of betrayal. . . . The strength of Far to Golies in Pick's ability to show precisely why one person could...


Peeler

by Kevin McCarthy

Part war story, part murder mystery, this subtle but savage thriller evokes a time, a place and a breed of men which have all been airbrushed out of Ireland's history.' - Ed O'Loughlin, author of the Booker...


After the War is Over

by Jennifer Robson

The International bestselling author of Somewhere in France returns with her sweeping second novel—a tale of class, love, and freedom—in which a young woman must find her place in a world forever changed....


Land of Dreams

Ellis Island #3

by Kate Kerrigan

Set in 1940s Los Angeles, the compelling final installment in New York Times bestselling author Kate Kerrigan’s sweeping immigrant trilogy begun in Ellis Island and City of Hope—a story of family, love,...


The Visitors

by Sally Beauman

Based on a true story of discovery, The Visitors is New York Times bestselling author Sally Beauman’s brilliant recreation of the hunt for Tutankhamun’s tomb in Egypt’s Valley of the Kings—a dazzling...


One Night in Winter

by Simon Sebag Montefiore

Inspired by a true story, prize-winning historian and acclaimed novelist Simon Sebag Montefiore explores the consequences of forbidden love in this heartbreaking epic of marriage, childhood, danger, and betrayal...


Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932

by Francine Prose

A richly imagined and stunningly inventive literary masterpiece of love, art, and betrayal, exploring the genesis of evil, the unforeseen consequences of love, and the ultimate unreliability of storytelling...


The Great Lover: A Novel

by Jill Dawson

“A brilliant, complicated man is the centre of Jill Dawson’s The Great Lover, and while she draws extensively on historical records of Brooke and his contemporaries, it is her decisions as a novelist that...


Three Souls

by Janie Chang

An absorbing novel of romance and revolution, loyalty and family, sacrifice and undying love

We have three souls, or so I'd been told. But only in death could I confirm this....

So begins the haunting and captivating...


Vintage

by Susan Gloss

Vintage is Susan Gloss’s sparkling debut novel in the Vein of The Friday Night Knitting Club, centered around a Midwestern vintage clothing shop and a group of women who eventually transform the store and...


City of Hope

Ellis Island #2

by Kate Kerrigan

The heartrending and inspiring sequel to Ellis Island, Kate Kerrigan's City of Hope is an uplifting story of a woman truly ahead of her time

When her beloved husband suddenly dies, young Ellie Hogan decides to...


Swimming in the Moon

by Pamela Schoenewaldt

A new historical novel from Pamela Schoenewaldt, the USA Today bestselling author of When We Were Strangers.

Italy, 1905. Fourteen-year-old Lucia and her young mother, Teresa, are servants in a magnificent villa...


Scumbler

by William Wharton

Know Scumbler in his poignant, hilarious life. Get mad at him and even cry with him. Here's Don Quixote, Santa Claus, and Faust rolled into one "thick shadow" of a man. A joyous sixty-year-old American street...


Pride

by William Wharton

During the Depression, a 10-year-old boy befriends a carnival stuntman and his lion cub and learns about the meaning of family, loyalty, love, and survival.


A Future Arrived

The Passing Bells #3

by Phillip Rock

Before Downton Abbey, there was Abingdon Pryory...

The third installment in Phillip Rock's trilogy that came alive with The Passing Bells and continued with Circles of Time, begins with the fading of the Jazz...


Circles of Time

The Passing Bells #2

by Phillip Rock

The Acclaimed Trilogy That Has Been Called a Must-Read for Fans of Downton Abbey

A generation has been lost on the Western Front. The dead have been buried, a harsh peace forged, and the howl of shells replaced...