Historical / XXth century (<1945)

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete XXth century (<1945)

 

Language

English (136)

French (89)

German (0)

Spanish (176)

Italian (250)

 

Protection

All (136)

DRM Free (6)

DRM (130)

More options

Roosevelt's Beast

by Louis Bayard

A reimagining of Teddy and Kermit Roosevelt's ill-fated 1914 Amazon expedition—a psychological twist on the smart historical thriller that first put Louis Bayard on the map

1914. Brazil's Rio da Dúvida, the...


Phantom Ships: A Novel

by Claude Le Bouthillier & Susan Ouriou

Novelist and poet Claude Le Bouthillier draws on his Acadian and New Brunswick heritage to create this account of the end of the French Empire in Canada.


A Lady Cyclist's Guide to Kashgar: A Novel

by Suzanne Joinson

Like Major Pettigrew's Last Stand or The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, a wondrous, richly conceived, irresistible debut novel that sweeps the reader away to a different world.


Halfhyde to the Narrows

Halfhyde #4

by Philip McCutchan

With a ship to call his own at last, Royal Navy Lieutenant St Vincent Halfhyde sails for the Dardanelles in command of the little torpedo-boat Vendetta, part of a flotilla sent to rescue a Britsih sailing-ship...


Halfhyde and the Guns of Arrest

Halfhyde #3

by Philip McCutchan

Royal Navy Lieutenant St Vincent Halfhyde is once again despatched to Africa. This time his mission is to help capture a British traitor who carries secret blueprints of British warships. Assisted by a Scotland...


The Saga of Rifka and Herschel

by Dorothy Friedman

The Saga of Rifka and Herschel begins in South Africa where Herschel Haverman joins the Frankel family after his parents are murdered in Lithuania. Eventually, Herschel goes to Munich for his rabbinical studies....


Nightrose

by Dorothy Garlock

Katy knows that she, her sister and her niece are the only people left in this desolate Montana ghost town. Then a stranger rides into the empty main street, bringing a scheme to bring the town back to life,...


Dream River

Wabash River #2

by Dorothy Garlock

The million-copy bestselling author of Wind of Promise and Annie Lash continues her breathtaking Wabash River Trilogy with this second exciting novel set in Arkansas in 1819. Amy Deverell joins Rain Tallman...


Restless Wind

Colorado Wind #1

by Dorothy Garlock

Rosalee Spurlock challenges the dangers of the Colorado mountains with her courage, her rifle and her heart. Then one starless night, Logan Horn comes to her cabin door, handsome and powerful, his eyes blazing...


The Cross: Kristin Lavransdatter, Vol. 3

by Sigrid Undset

The acknowledged masterpiece of the Nobel Prize-winning Norwegian novelist Sigrid Undset, Kristin Lavransdatter has never been out of print in this country since its first publication in 1927. Its story of a...


The Flower Boy: A Novel

by Karen Roberts

An accomplished debut, The Flower Boy is the tragically romantic story of people from two cultures, one ruling the other, and the human passions that defy and nearly overcome social taboos.

In the colonial society...


The Race for Paris

by Meg Waite Clayton

National Bestseller

David J. Langum, Sr. Prize for American Historical Fiction, Honorary Mention for 2015

The New York Times bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters returns with a moving and powerfully dynamic...


Under the Rising Sun: A Story of the Russo-Japanese War

by Harry Collingwood

Paul Swinburne, a young naval officer, is court martialed; but he refuses to testify on his own behalf. No one knows why. As a result, he is dismissed from the Royal Navy; and his hopes and dreams are shattered-or...


The Secret History of Costaguana

by Juan Gabriel Vasquez

From the author of The Sound of Things Falling, a "brilliant new novel" (New York Times Book Review) and one of the most buzzed about books of the year!

"One of the most original new voices of Latin American...


The Paris Winter

by Imogen Robertson

There is but one Paris.

Vincent Van Gogh

Maud Heighton came to Lafond's famous Academie to paint, and to flee the constraints of her small English town. It took all her courage to escape, but Paris, she quickly...


Newport

by Jill Morrow

Following in the steps of Beatriz Williams and Amor Towles, this richly atmospheric, spellbinding novel transports readers to the dazzling, glamorous world of Newport during the Roaring Twenties and to a mansion...


The Lodger

by Louisa Treger

Dorothy Richardson is existing just above the poverty line, doing secretarial work at a dentist's office and living in a seedy boarding house in Bloomsbury, when she is invited to spend the weekend with a childhood...


The Far Side of the Sun

by Kate Furnivall

The new novel from the author of The Russian Concubine and Shadows on the Nile

The Bahamas, 1943. Hoping to escape her turbulent past, twenty-three-year-old Dodie Wyatt has fled to Nassau. But the world is at...


Mademoiselle Chanel

by C. W. Gortner

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s...


The Heroes' Welcome

by Louisa Young

April 1919. Six months have passed since the armistice that ended the Great War. But new battles face those who have survived.

Only 23, former soldier Riley Purefoy and his bride, Nadine Waveney, have their whole...