Literary / Asian literature

Best Selling / Page 6

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete Asian literature

 

Origin

Indian literature (44)

Japanese (35)

Chinese (14)

Korean literature (4)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (121)

French (5)

German (0)

Spanish (67)

Italian (50)

 

Protection

All (121)

DRM Free (12)

DRM (109)

More options

The Woman in the Dunes

by Kobo Abe

The Woman in the Dunes, by celebrated writer and thinker Kobo Abe, combines the essence of myth, suspense and the existential novel.

 

After missing the last bus home following a day trip to the seashore, an...


The Face of Another

by Kobo Abe

Like an elegantly chilling postscript to The Metamorphosis, this classic of postwar Japanese literature describes a bizarre physical transformation that exposes the duplicities of an entire world. The narrator...


The Ruined Map: A Novel

by Kobo Abe

Of all the great Japanese novelists, Kobe Abe was indubitably the most versatile. With The Ruined Map, he crafted a mesmerizing literary crime novel that combines the narrative suspense of Chandler with the...


The Box Man: A Novel

by Kobo Abe

Kobo Abe, the internationally acclaimed author of Woman in the Dunes, combines wildly imaginative fantasies and naturalistic prose to create narratives reminiscent of the work of Kafka and Beckett.

In this eerie...


Last Man in Tower

by Aravind Adiga

Searing. Explosive. Lyrical. Compassionate. Here is the astonishing new novel by the Man Booker Prize–winning author of The White Tiger, a book that took rage and anger at injustice and turned it into a thrilling...


The Wandering Falcon

by Jamil Ahmad

For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended...


The Palace of Illusions: A Novel

by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

Taking us back to a time that is half history, half myth and wholly magical, The Palace of Illusions gives new voice to Panchaali, the fire-born heroine of the Mahabharat, as she weaves a vibrant interpretation...


Lord of the land

by Wimon Sainimnuan

 Against a background of frenzied land speculation

where all sorts of dirty tricks are par for the course,

who of Abbot Nian and Kharm the Medium

will emerge as the Lord of the Land?

The increasingly

heated...


Khoak Phranang

by Wimon Sainimnuan

 What happens to common country folk 

when they are caught in the jaws 

of wayward religion and superstition?

This is what happens, at Khoak Phranang, 

the epicentre of rural Thailand in the 1990s.

A short,...


The Medium

by Wimon Sainimnuan

  One way out of crippling poverty 

is by putting yourself at the service

of the spirits of the land

– folk credulity will do the rest.

Thus is born the Medium,

pitting himself against unethical Buddhist monks...


Wanlaya's love

by SEINEE SAOWAPHONG

Paris after the Second World War: 

the Left Bank, Montmartre and Picasso's dove. 

Wanlaya is a Thai music student 

with challenging ideas and challenged friends, 

all engaged in their own ways 

in a search...


The field of the great

by MALAI CHOOPHINIT

 This vivid chronicle of an upcountry district in the heart of Siam 

is told through the rise of Ruen, an aspiring timber trader 

who leads a small community of farmers in its fight against nature 

and against...


Snakes

by Wimon Sainimnuan

Monks, murder, money, miracles and mystifications. 

Snakes galore and sleazy slitherings 

intertwined with scandal, suicide and rape 

in the central Thai village of Khoak Phranang 

– the first of a celebrated...


Of time and tide

by ATSIRI THAMMACHOAT

Little people, simple lives, modest dreams,

traditional beliefs, petty fights, tragic accidents, 

and the dictates of the authorities: 

how fishermen alienate themselves from nature 

and lose their moorings...


Cobra

by WANIT JARUNKIT-ANAN

 A man, a woman (or two) and ... a snake.

The national bestseller of 1987.


Venom

by Saneh Sangsuk

 A crippled boy plays with his puppets and dreams of glory

until the female cobra he disturbs by his show rushes at him.

The life-and-death struggle that follows has but a predictable end

– or has it?

 

This...


Time in a bottle

by PRAPHATSORN SEIWIKUN

This national bestseller, emblematic of the 1970s student generation,

explores the generation gap between parents and children

in a Bangkok middle-class family,

the pains of growing up

and tug-of-war between...


The judgment

by Chart Korbjitti

This epoch-making novel, set in the rural central Thailand of the 1980s,

is a scathing satire and chilling endictment of modern society,

which makes heroes of 'fuckin' cheats'

and condemns upright citizens...


The Good Muslim: A Novel

by Tahmima Anam

From prizewinning Bangladeshi novelist Tahmima Anam comes her deeply moving second novel about the rise of Islamic radicalism in Bangladesh, seen through the intimate lens of a family.

Pankaj Mishra praised A...


Red Earth and Pouring Rain: A Novel

Commonwealth Best First Book Prize 1996

by Vikram Chandra

Combining Indian myths, epic history, and the story of three college kids in search of America, a narrative includes the monkey's story of an Indian poet and warrior and an American road novel of college students...