Literary / Asian literature

Best Selling / Page 6

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete Asian literature

 

Origin

Indian literature (47)

Japanese (37)

Chinese (15)

Korean literature (4)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (127)

French (8)

German (0)

Spanish (71)

Italian (59)

 

Protection

All (127)

DRM Free (12)

DRM (115)

More options

The Briefcase

by Hiromi Kawakami & Allison Powell

Tsukiko, thirty-eight, works in an office and lives alone. One night, she happens to meet one of her former high school teachers, “Sensei” in a local bar. Tsukiko had only ever called him “Sensei” (“Teacher”)....


Yellow Emperor's Cure: A Novel

by Kanal Basu

In a breakout novel that transports the reader to a brilliantly imagined, sensuously portrayed, dangerous point in history, Kunal Basu has written the tale of a man's journey that spans continents- -and the...


Narcopolis: A Novel

DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2013

by Jeet Thayil

Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

 

Written in poetic and affecting prose, Jeet Thayil's luminous debut novel charts the evolution of a great and broken metropolis across three decades. A rich, hallucinatory...


Soul Mountain

by Gao Xingjian

In 1983, Chinese playwright, critic, fiction writer, and painter Gao Xingjian was diagnosed with lung cancer and faced imminent death.But six weeks later, a second examination revealed there was no cancer—he...


The Boat to Redemption: A Novel

Man Asian Literary Prize 2009

by Su Tong & Howard Goldblatt

In the peaceable, river-side village of Milltown, Secretary Ku has fallen into disgrace. It has been officially proven that he is not the son of a revolutionary martyr, but the issue of a river pirate and a...


South of the Border, West of the Sun: A Novel

by Haruki Murakami & Philip Gabriel

Following the massive complexity of The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle--Haruki Murakami's best-selling, award-winning novel--comes this deceptively simple love story, a contemporary rendering of the romance in which...


The Woman in the Dunes

by Kobo Abe

The Woman in the Dunes, by celebrated writer and thinker Kobo Abe, combines the essence of myth, suspense and the existential novel.

 

After missing the last bus home following a day trip to the seashore, an...


The Face of Another

by Kobo Abe

Like an elegantly chilling postscript to The Metamorphosis, this classic of postwar Japanese literature describes a bizarre physical transformation that exposes the duplicities of an entire world. The narrator...


The Ruined Map: A Novel

by Kobo Abe

Of all the great Japanese novelists, Kobe Abe was indubitably the most versatile. With The Ruined Map, he crafted a mesmerizing literary crime novel that combines the narrative suspense of Chandler with the...


The Box Man: A Novel

by Kobo Abe

Kobo Abe, the internationally acclaimed author of Woman in the Dunes, combines wildly imaginative fantasies and naturalistic prose to create narratives reminiscent of the work of Kafka and Beckett.

In this eerie...


Last Man in Tower

by Aravind Adiga

Searing. Explosive. Lyrical. Compassionate. Here is the astonishing new novel by the Man Booker Prize–winning author of The White Tiger, a book that took rage and anger at injustice and turned it into a thrilling...


The Wandering Falcon

by Jamil Ahmad

For readers of Khaled Hosseini, Daniyal Mueenuddin, and Mohsin Hamid, a remarkable, award-winning book about the tribes of Pakistan and Afghanistan.

In this extraordinary tale, Tor Baz, the young boy descended...


The Palace of Illusions: A Novel

by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

Taking us back to a time that is half history, half myth and wholly magical, The Palace of Illusions gives new voice to Panchaali, the fire-born heroine of the Mahabharat, as she weaves a vibrant interpretation...


Lord of the land

by Wimon Sainimnuan

 Against a background of frenzied land speculation

where all sorts of dirty tricks are par for the course,

who of Abbot Nian and Kharm the Medium

will emerge as the Lord of the Land?

The increasingly

heated...


Khoak Phranang

by Wimon Sainimnuan

 What happens to common country folk 

when they are caught in the jaws 

of wayward religion and superstition?

This is what happens, at Khoak Phranang, 

the epicentre of rural Thailand in the 1990s.

A short,...


The Medium

by Wimon Sainimnuan

  One way out of crippling poverty 

is by putting yourself at the service

of the spirits of the land

– folk credulity will do the rest.

Thus is born the Medium,

pitting himself against unethical Buddhist monks...


Wanlaya's love

by SEINEE SAOWAPHONG

Paris after the Second World War: 

the Left Bank, Montmartre and Picasso's dove. 

Wanlaya is a Thai music student 

with challenging ideas and challenged friends, 

all engaged in their own ways 

in a search...


The field of the great

by MALAI CHOOPHINIT

 This vivid chronicle of an upcountry district in the heart of Siam 

is told through the rise of Ruen, an aspiring timber trader 

who leads a small community of farmers in its fight against nature 

and against...


Snakes

by Wimon Sainimnuan

Monks, murder, money, miracles and mystifications. 

Snakes galore and sleazy slitherings 

intertwined with scandal, suicide and rape 

in the central Thai village of Khoak Phranang 

– the first of a celebrated...


Of time and tide

by ATSIRI THAMMACHOAT

Little people, simple lives, modest dreams,

traditional beliefs, petty fights, tragic accidents, 

and the dictates of the authorities: 

how fishermen alienate themselves from nature 

and lose their moorings...