Literary / Nordic literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

Delete Nordic literature

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (40)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (48)

Italian (10)

 

Protection

All (40)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (40)

More options

Hunger

by Knut Hamsun

A must-read for fans of modernist literature, Hunger is a literary tour de force that was influenced equally by Dostoyevsky and Zola but made new by author Knut Hamsun's unique creative approach. The novel details...


The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden

by Rachel Willson-Broyles, Jonas Jonasson & Rachel Wilson-Broyles

A wildly picaresque new novel from Jonas Jonasson, the author of the internationally bestselling The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared

In a tiny shack in the largest township in South...


Lazy Days

by Erlend Loe, Don Bartlett & Don Shaw

Meet Bror Telemann. 42 years old. Husband to Nina Telemann. Father to Heidi, Berthold and Sabine. Currently: stage director at the Norwegian National Theatre. Soon to be: world-famous playwright and general...


Hunger

by Knut Hamsun, Robert Bly & Paul Auster

A true classic of modern literature that has been described as “one of the most disturbing novels in existence” (Time Out), Hunger is the story of a Norwegian artist who wanders the streets, struggling on...


The Shadow Girls: A Novel

by Henning Mankell & Ebba Segerberg

Jesper Humlin is a poet of middling acclaim who is saddled by his underwhelming book sales, an exasperated girlfriend, a demanding mother, and a rapidly fading tan. His boy-wonder stockbroker has squandered...


The Storm: A novel

by Margriet De Moor & Carol Janeway

On the night of January 31, 1953, a mountain of water, literally piled up out of the sea by a freak winter hurricane, swept down onto the Netherlands, demolishing the dikes protecting the country and wiping...


The Beggar & the Hare: A Novel

by Tuomas Kyrö & David McDuff

From a hugely popular, award-winning Finnish author, this entertaining, profound, and satirical tale follows a Romanian beggar living on the streets of Helsinki.

Vatanescu, a young Romanian construction worker,...


A Man Called Ove: A Novel

by Fredrik Backman

In this bestselling and delightfully quirky debut novel from Sweden, a grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a boisterous young family moves in next door.

Meet Ove. He’s a...


Before I Burn

by Gaute Heivoll & Don Bartlett

An international literary sensation about an arsonist on the loose in rural Norway and the young man haunted by the story

In 1970s Norway, an arsonist targets a small town for one long, terrifying month. One...


You Disappear: A Novel

by Christian Jungersen

A riveting psychological drama that challenges the way we understand others—and our own sense of self

Mia is a schoolteacher in Denmark. Her husband, Frederik, is the charismatic headmaster of a local private...


Growth of the Soil

by Knut Hamsun & Sverre Lyngstad

The epic novel of man and nature that won its author the Nobel Prize in Literature-the first new English translation since the novel's original publication ninety years ago

When it was first published in 1917,...


The Woman and the Ape

by Peter Høeg & Barbara Haveland

The Woman and the Ape is the story of a unique and unforgettable couple—Madelene and Erasmus. Madelene—a sleeping beauty drowsing gently in an alcoholic stupor—is the beautiful and disillusioned wife of...


The Quiet Girl

by Peter Høeg & Nadia Christensen

Set in Denmark in the here and now, The Quiet Girl centers around Kaspar Krone, a world-renowned circus clown with a deep love for the music of Johan Sebastian Bach, and an even deeper gambling debt. Wanted...


The History of Danish Dreams

by Peter Høeg & Barbara Haveland

Through a series of vividly imaginative and wildly colorful characters, Hoeg gives us a very different account of the twentieth century, which in Denmark encompasses the transition from a medieval society to...


Breathless

by Anne Swärd

In the tradition of Housekeeping and Tinkers, award-winning Swedish author Anne Swärd’s American debut blends the lyricism of youth with the darker desires of age.

Lo was just six when she met thirteen-year-old...


Victoria

by Knut Hamsun

When it first appeared in 1898, this fourth novel by celebrated Norwegian writer Knut Hamsun captured instant acclaim for its poetic, psychologically intense portrayal of love’s predicament in a class-bound...


Hunger

by Knut Hamsun

First published in Norway in 1890, probes into the depths of consciousness with frightening and gripping power. Like the works of Dostoyevsky, it marks an extraordinary break with Western literary and humanistic...


A Treacherous Paradise

by Henning Mankell & Laurie Thompson

From the internationally acclaimed author of the Kurt Wallander crime novels, a powerful stand-alone novel set in early-twentieth-century Sweden and Mozambique, whose vividly drawn female protagonist is awoken...


Walking Into the Night

by Olaf Olafsson

As butler to William Randolph Hearst at San Simeon castle, Christian Benediktsson lives quietly, almost invisibly. He completes his tasks efficiently and with aplomb, catering to the whims of the volatile Chief...


The Unit

by Ninni Holmqvist & Marlaine Delargy

One day in early spring, Dorrit Weger is checked into the Second Reserve Bank Unit for biological material. She is promised a nicely furnished apartment inside the Unit, where she will make new friends, enjoy...