Literary

Best Selling / Page 298

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Literary

 

Origin

English (3450)

Hispanophone (143)

Francophone (141)

Asian (133)

Germanophone (104)

Middle eastern (93)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (92)

Italian (59)

African (54)

Nordic (41)

Lusophone (35)

Slavic (30)

Hungarian (14)

Dutch (10)

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English

French

German

Spanish

Italian

 

Protection

All (17222)

DRM Free (571)

DRM (16646)

More options

North of the Equator

by Cyril Dabydeen

In this collection of stories, Dabydeens characters live stretched between two worlds: one, an adopted home in Canada; the other, a birthplace in a tropical island.


Up from Orchard Street

by Eleanor Widmer

In the tradition of Like Water for Chocolate and A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, this exhilarating novel centered around a memorable immigrant family brings to vibrant life the soul and spirit of New York’s legendary...


Jernigan

by David Gates

From Holden Caulfield to Moses Herzog, our best literature has been narrated by malcontents. To this lineage add Peter Jernigan, who views the world with ferocious intelligence, grim rapture, and a chainsaw...


House Inside the Waves: Domesticity, Art, and the Surfing Life

by Richard Taylor

In an era of packaged paradises and cyber surfers, Taylors mid-life blues seduced him into recapturing his youthful romance with surfing.


Take One Candle Light a Room: A Novel

by Susan Straight

A WASHINGTON POST BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

From the author of A Million Nightingales (“a writer of exceptional gifts and grace”—Joyce Carol Oates) comes a luminous new novel about the forces that tear families...


Beyond the Black Stump

by Nevil Shute

The expression “beyond the black stump” refers to the deepest, darkest wilds of the Australian outback, the setting for Nevil Shute’s novel of a romance tested by cultural difference. Stanton Laird is...


No Highway

by Nevil Shute

 Theodore Honey is a shy, inconspicuous engineer whose eccentric interests are frowned upon in aviation circles. When a passenger plane crashes in Newfoundland under unexplained circumstances, Honey is determined...


The Golden Door

by Tom Milton

Maya Méndez, who has lived with her family in Alabama for fifteen years as an illegal immigrant, suddenly faces an uncertain future when the state passes an immigration law that will make it a crime for her...


Sara's Laughter

by Tom Milton

Despite warnings from her mother that if she waited too long to get married she wouldn't be able to find a husband, Sara waited until she found the right man, but now she is thirty-five and she is having trouble...


The Weekend: A Novel

by Bernhard Schlink & Shaun Whiteside

Old friends and lovers reunite for a weekend in a secluded country home after spending decades apart.

 

They excavate old memories and pass clandestine judgments on the wildly divergent paths they’ve taken...


Against the Wind

by Madeleine Gagnon, Phyllis Aronoff & Howard Scott

A young man retreats into an increasingly abstract world, and sets out to reconcile the contradictory themes in his life.


The Raymond Chandler Papers: Selected Letters and Nonfiction 1909-1959

by Tom Hiney & Frank MacShane

The Raymond Chandler Papers brings together the correspondence and other previously uncollected writing of America’s undisputed master of crime fiction and creator of the iconic private eye Phillip Marlowe,...


Sunset Over Chocolate Mountains

by Susan Elderkin

Susan Elderkin's brilliant Sunset Over Chocolate Mountains explores our places in the lives of our loved ones and in the universe. Theobald Moon lives in a lonely corner of the Arizona desert, tending his spectacular...


100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed

by Melissa P. & Lawrence Venuti

An instant blockbuster in Italy where it has sold over 700,000 copies, and now an international literary phenomenon, 100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed is the fictionalized memoir of Melissa P., a Sicilian...


Last Words: The Final Journals of William S. Burroughs

by William S. Burroughs & James Grauerholz

Last Words: The Final Journals of William S. Burroughs is the most intimate book ever written by William S. Burroughs, author of Naked Lunch and one of the most celebrated literary outlaws of our time. Laid...


Requiem

by Frances Itani

By the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize-winning author of Deafening comes a new historical novel that traces the lives of one Japanese-Canadian family during and after their internment in the 1940s.

In 1942 the...


Mantrapped: A Novel

by Fay Weldon

Mantrapped is a dazzling new work that continues Fay Weldon’s critically acclaimed memoir, Auto da Fay, and tells the story of a woman down on her luck. Trisha is forty-four and at the end of her rope: creditors...


Minaret: A Novel

by Leila Aboulela

Leila Aboulela's American debut is a provocative, timely, and engaging novel about a young Muslim woman -- once privileged and secular in her native land and now impoverished in London -- gradually embracing...


The Final Confession of Mabel Stark: A Novel

by Robert Hough

In the 1910s and '20s, during the golden age of the big top, Mabel Stark was the superstar of the Ringling Brothers Barnum and Bailey Circus, and one of America's most eccentric celebrities. A tiny, curvaceous...


Rex: A Novel

by Jose Manuel Prieto & Esther Allen

Now in paperback, José Manuel Prieto’s Rex is a sexy, zany, and sophisticated literary game rife with allusions to Proust and Borges, set in a world of wealthy Russian expats and mafiosos who have settled...