Mystery & Detective / Historical / English literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (426)

British (261)

Irish (22)

 

Language

English (714)

French (4)

German (0)

Spanish (92)

Italian (62)

 

Protection

All (714)

DRM Free (47)

DRM (665)

More options

Charlie Chan in The Pawns of Death

by Bill Pronzini, Jeffrey M. Wallmann & Earl Derr Biggers

"Checkmate!" That was the last word uttered to Charlie Chan and Prefect of Police Claude DeBevre by a dying reporter. The man had been murdered . . . stabbed to death and left to die in a vacant hotel room....


A Broken Vessel

Julian Kestrel #2

by Kate Ross

Julian Kestrel, the dandy detective of Regency London, is most decidedly a man of the world and, through his valet, Dipper, reformed Cockney pickpocket, is not without ties to the underworld. One such connection...


Island of Bones: A Novel

Crowther and Westerman #3

by Imogen Robertson

The third novel in the critically acclaimed Westerman and Crowther historical mystery series reveals the dark secrets of Crowther’s past

England, 1783. For years, reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther has pursued...


Shadows in the Night

Aurelia Marcella #1

by Jane Finnis

Roman Britain in 91 AD is a troublesome part of the mighty Empire ruled by Domitian Caesar. Tension is especially high in the north, where Aurelia Marcella, a young innkeeper from Italy, runs the Oak Tree Mansion...


The Trials of Quintilian

by Michael Kurland

Set at the height of the Roman Empire, in the last half of the first century AD-about the time of the destruction of the Temple in Jerusalem, when Christianity was still an unimportant Jewish sect-these stories...


The Cheapside Corpse: The Tenth Thomas Chaloner Adventure

Thomas Chaloner #10

by Susanna Gregory

London in the spring of 1665 is a city full of fear. There is plague in the stews of St Giles, the Dutch fleet is preparing to invade, and a banking crisis threatens to leave Charles II's government with no...


Prophecy: An Elizabethan Thriller

Giordano Bruno #2

by S.J. Parris

S. J. Parris returns with the next Giordano Bruno mystery, set inside Queen Elizabeth’s palace and steeped in period atmospherics and the strange workings of the occult.

It is the year of the Great Conjunction,...


Lost and Found in Prague

by Kelly Jones

The author of The Woman Who Heard Color transports readers to a dreary Good Friday in Prague in an "intriguing thriller"* as the mysterious death of a nun sets off a tangled chain of events that inexorably...


Treason at Lisson Grove

Charlotte & Thomas Pitt #26

by Anne Perry

Anne Perry’s very special world of mystery, passion, and danger has attracted an entire generation of readers to her bestselling Victorian novels. Treason at Lisson Grove, her first Thomas and Charlotte Pitt...


Farriers' Lane: A Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novel

Charlotte & Thomas Pitt #13

by Anne Perry

BONUS: This edition contains excerpts from Anne Perry's Treason at Lisson Grove and Execution Dock.

When the distinguished Mr. Justice Stafford dies of opium poisoning, his shocking demise resurrects one of the...


A Pattern of Lies

Bess Crawford #7

by Charles Todd

A horrific explosion at a gunpowder mill sends Bess Crawford to war-torn France to keep a deadly pattern of lies from leading to more deaths, in this compelling and atmospheric mystery from the New York Times...


The Iris Fan

Sano Ichiro #18

by Laura Joh Rowland

Japan, 1709. The shogun is old and ailing. Amid the ever-treacherous intrigue in the court, Sano Ichiro has been demoted from chamberlain to a lowly patrol guard. His relationship with his wife Reiko is in tatters,...


A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

Dandy Gilver #8

by Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha...


Blood On The Strand

Thomas Chaloner #2

by Susanna Gregory

Rebellion is in the air of London in the spring of 1663. Thomas Chaloner, spy for the King's intelligence service, has just returned from thwarting a planned revolt in Dublin, but soon realises that England's...


To Kill The Pope: An Ecclesiastical Thriller

by Tad Szulc

From the author of Pope John Paul II: A Biography comes a chillingly authentic conspiracy thriller based on actual, never-before-revealed facts surrounding the assassination attempt against Pope John Paul II....


The Laws of Murder

Charles Lenox #8

by Charles Finch

It's 1876, and Charles Lenox, once London's leading private investigator, has just given up his seat in Parliament after six years, primed to return to his first love, detection. With high hopes he and three...


Anne Perry's Christmas Crimes: Two Victorian Holiday Mysteries: A Christmas Homecoming and A Christmas Garland

by Anne Perry

’Tis the season for a pair of Christmas novels that add a dash of murder to the Yuletide spirit.

 

“Perry’s Victorian-era holiday mysteries [are] an annual treat.”The Wall Street Journal

 

A CHRISTMAS...


A New York Christmas: A Novel

Christmas Stories #12

by Anne Perry

Anne Perry’s new Christmas novel is an irresistible tale of love, betrayal, greed, murder, and selfless devotion. For the first time, Perry’s annual yuletide offering is set in New York City—a sparkling...


The Black Hand: A Barker & Llewelyn Novel

Barker & Llewelyn #5

by Will Thomas

When an Italian assassin's body is found floating in a barrel in Victorian London's East End, enquiry agent Cyrus Barker and his assistant Thomas Llewelyn are called in to investigate. Soon corpses begin to...


Long Time Coming: A Novel

Edgar Allan Poe Award Best Paperback Original 2011

by Robert Goddard

A classic thriller with Goddard's trademark plot twists.

In Antwerp in 1939, a Jewish diamond trader flees Nazi Europe, leaving his priceless collection of Picasso paintings and diamonds with a friend who takes...