Mystery & Detective / Historical / English literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (480)

French (6)

German (0)

Spanish (96)

Italian (63)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (283)

British (179)

Irish (18)

 

Protection

All (480)

DRM Free (48)

DRM (432)

More options

Pilgrimage of Murder: A Medieval Mystery set in 14th Century London

The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan #17

by Paul Doherty

1381. The Great Revolt was crushed; the king's peace enforced. Brother Athelstan prepares for a pilgrimage, but he is summoned to the scene of a triple murder. One victim was John of Gaunt. Was this an act of...


A Pattern of Lies

Bess Crawford #7

by Charles Todd

A horrific explosion at a gunpowder mill sends Bess Crawford to war-torn France to keep a deadly pattern of lies from leading to more deaths, in this compelling and atmospheric mystery from the New York Times...


The Iris Fan

Sano Ichiro #18

by Laura Joh Rowland

Japan, 1709. The shogun is old and ailing. Amid the ever-treacherous intrigue in the court, Sano Ichiro has been demoted from chamberlain to a lowly patrol guard. His relationship with his wife Reiko is in tatters,...


The Book of Fires

The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan #14

by Paul Doherty

February, 1381. Brother Athelstan has been ordered to track down a ruthless killer known as the Fire Bringer. He appears to be targeting all involved in the recent trial and conviction of the beautiful Lady...


A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

Dandy Gilver #8

by Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha...


To Kill The Pope: An Ecclesiastical Thriller

by Tad Szulc

From the author of Pope John Paul II: A Biography comes a chillingly authentic conspiracy thriller based on actual, never-before-revealed facts surrounding the assassination attempt against Pope John Paul II....


The Laws of Murder

Charles Lenox #8

by Charles Finch

It's 1876, and Charles Lenox, once London's leading private investigator, has just given up his seat in Parliament after six years, primed to return to his first love, detection. With high hopes he and three...


The Black Hand: A Barker & Llewelyn Novel

Barker & Llewelyn #5

by Will Thomas

When an Italian assassin's body is found floating in a barrel in Victorian London's East End, enquiry agent Cyrus Barker and his assistant Thomas Llewelyn are called in to investigate. Soon corpses begin to...


The Tudor Vendetta

The Spymaster Chronicles #3

by C. W. Gortner

London, 1558. Queen Mary is dead, and 25-year old Elizabeth ascends the throne. Summoned to court from exile abroad, Elizabeth's intimate spy, Brendan Prescott, is reunited with the young queen, as well as his...


Murder at the Brightwell

Amory Ames #1

by Ashley Weaver

Shortlisted for the Edgar Awards

Ashley Weaver’s debut mystery, Murder at the Brightwell, is a delicious, stylish novel in which murder invades British polite society and romance springs in unexpected places,...


The Counterfeit Heiress

Lady Emily #9

by Tasha Alexander

In Tasha Alexander's novel The Counterfeit Heiress, after an odd encounter at a grand masquerade ball, Lady Emily becomes embroiled in the murder investigation of one of the guests, a sometime actress trying...


The Desperate Remedy

Henry Gresham #1

by Martin Stephen

Thief. Informer. Double-dealer. Pimp. Will Shadwell may not be the most moral of men, but to gentleman spy Henry Gresham he is invaluable. During the reign of King James I a man must know his enemies to survive...


Death and the Black Pyramid

John Rawlings #13

by Deryn Lake

A John Rawlings Georgian mystery - Apothecary John Rawlings has been summoned to Devon by his beautiful but unpredictable mistress. Leaving his daughter Rose in the good care of her grandfather, Rawlings sets...


The Falcon at the Portal

Amelia Peabody #11

by Elizabeth Peters

New York Times Bestseller

From New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Peters comes another riveting mystery in her phenomenally popular Amelia Peabody series.

The Land of the Pharaohs harbors more secrets...


Eye of the Law: A Burren Medieval Mystery 5

Burren Mysteries #5

by Cora Harrison

A Mystery of Medieval Ireland - 1510. A great feast is being held. Into a crowd listening to the story of Balor, the one-eyed god, come two strangers. The younger of the two, Iarla, bears a letter that claims...


Music of the Distant Stars

Aelf Fen mysteries #3

by Alys Clare

The new 'Lassair' mystery from the author of the 'Hawkenlye' books - Very early one summer morning, Lassair slips out of her Fenland village on a deeply personal mission and discovers the body of a young woman,...


Writ in Stone: A Burren Medieval Mystery 4

Burren Mysteries #4

by Cora Harrison

A Mystery of Medieval Ireland - Christmas, 1509. Mara, the investigating judge of the Burren, has accepted the offer of marriage made by King Turlough. But on the eve of the marriage festivities, a man kneeling...


The Great Abraham Lincoln Pocket Watch Conspiracy

by Jacopo della Quercia

This historical thriller is an equal-parts cocktail of action, adventure, science-fiction and comedy. The book follows a globe-trotting President Taft and Robert Todd Lincoln in a race to solve a mystery stretching...


Out of the Dawn Light

Aelf Fen mysteries #1

by Alys Clare

A brand new medieval mystery from the author of the Hawkenlye series - England, 1087. On her sister's wedding day, Lassair meets an attractive and enigmatic stranger who brings a breath of the fascinating outside...


Atonement of Blood

Sister Fidelma #24

by Peter Tremayne

Winter, 670 AD. King Colgú has invited the leading nobles and chieftains of his kingdom to a feast day. Fidelma and her companion Eadulf are finally home for an extended stay, and have promised their son, Alchú,...