Mystery & Detective / Historical / English literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete English literature

 

Origin

American and canadian (425)

British (321)

Irish (22)

 

Protection

All (773)

DRM Free (47)

DRM (724)

More options

A Broken Vessel

Julian Kestrel #2

by Kate Ross

Julian Kestrel, the dandy detective of Regency London, is most decidedly a man of the world and, through his valet, Dipper, reformed Cockney pickpocket, is not without ties to the underworld. One such connection...


Island of Bones: A Novel

Crowther and Westerman #3

by Imogen Robertson

The third novel in the critically acclaimed Westerman and Crowther historical mystery series reveals the dark secrets of Crowther’s past

England, 1783. For years, reclusive anatomist Gabriel Crowther has pursued...


The Cheapside Corpse: The Tenth Thomas Chaloner Adventure

Thomas Chaloner #10

by Susanna Gregory

London in the spring of 1665 is a city full of fear. There is plague in the stews of St Giles, the Dutch fleet is preparing to invade, and a banking crisis threatens to leave Charles II's government with no...


Prophecy: An Elizabethan Thriller

Giordano Bruno #2

by S.J. Parris

S. J. Parris returns with the next Giordano Bruno mystery, set inside Queen Elizabeth’s palace and steeped in period atmospherics and the strange workings of the occult.

It is the year of the Great Conjunction,...


Lost and Found in Prague

by Kelly Jones

The author of The Woman Who Heard Color transports readers to a dreary Good Friday in Prague in an "intriguing thriller"* as the mysterious death of a nun sets off a tangled chain of events that inexorably...


Treason at Lisson Grove

Charlotte & Thomas Pitt #26

by Anne Perry

Anne Perry’s very special world of mystery, passion, and danger has attracted an entire generation of readers to her bestselling Victorian novels. Treason at Lisson Grove, her first Thomas and Charlotte Pitt...


Farriers' Lane: A Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novel

Charlotte & Thomas Pitt #13

by Anne Perry

BONUS: This edition contains excerpts from Anne Perry's Treason at Lisson Grove and Execution Dock.

When the distinguished Mr. Justice Stafford dies of opium poisoning, his shocking demise resurrects one of the...


A Pattern of Lies

Bess Crawford #7

by Charles Todd

A horrific explosion at a gunpowder mill sends Bess Crawford to war-torn France to keep a deadly pattern of lies from leading to more deaths, in this compelling and atmospheric mystery from the New York Times...


The Iris Fan

Sano Ichiro #18

by Laura Joh Rowland

Japan, 1709. The shogun is old and ailing. Amid the ever-treacherous intrigue in the court, Sano Ichiro has been demoted from chamberlain to a lowly patrol guard. His relationship with his wife Reiko is in tatters,...


The Book of Fires

The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan #14

by Paul Doherty

February, 1381. Brother Athelstan has been ordered to track down a ruthless killer known as the Fire Bringer. He appears to be targeting all involved in the recent trial and conviction of the beautiful Lady...


A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

Dandy Gilver #8

by Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha...


The Hugh Corbett Omnibus: Three gripping medieval mysteries

by Paul Doherty

Delve into the world of medieval sleuth Hugh Corbett in the first three mysteries featuring the intrepid detective, from acclaimed historical author Paul Doherty. Includes Satan in St Mary's, Crown in Darkness...


The Assassin in the Greenwood

Hugh Corbett #7

by Paul Doherty

Robin Hood and French spies prompt fresh dangers for Hugh Corbett to face...

In The Assassin in the Greenwood, the seventh action-packed novel of Paul Doherty's mystery series, medieval sleuth Hugh Corbett is...


Domina

Ancient Rome #1

by Paul Doherty

One woman's thirst for power changes history forever...

Domina is a dramatic historical novel about the turbulent life and death of Agrippina, Empress of Rome, from the master of historical fiction, Paul Doherty....


The Waxman Murders

Hugh Corbett #15

by Paul Doherty

Hugh Corbett faces one of his most baffling cases to date...

Murder, treachery, intrigue and betrayal abound in Paul Doherty's fascinating fifteenth tale to feature medieval sleuth, Hugh Corbett. Perfect for...


The Magician's Death

Hugh Corbett #14

by Paul Doherty

The search for a coded book of secrets leads to dramatic repercussions...

In Paul Doherty's The Magician's Death, Hugh Corbett's must decipher a book of secrets and keep in check rivalries, passions and brutal...


Corpse Candle

Hugh Corbett #13

by Paul Doherty

A phantom horseman. A murdered abbot. A locked door.

Paul Doherty weaves an intricately plotted mystery in Corpse Candle, in which Sir Hugh's powers of deduction are tested by one of his most puzzling cases....


The Treason of the Ghosts

Hugh Corbett #12

by Paul Doherty

Can Hugh Corbett discover the identity of a killer determined to remain unknown?

The Treason of the Ghosts is Paul Doherty's twelfth mystery featuring medieval sleuth Hugh Corbett is a thrilling mystery of revenge...


The Demon Archer

Hugh Corbett #11

by Paul Doherty

A solution not even Hugh Corbett could have foreseen...

Hugh Corbett is faced with a case with endless possibilities in Paul Doherty's gripping medieval mystery, The Demon Archer. Perfect for Michael Jecks and...


Satan's Fire

Hugh Corbett #9

by Paul Doherty

An attempt on the King's life draws Hugh Corbett into a deadly investigation...

In Satan's Fire, the ninth Hugh Corbett mystery from Paul Doherty, strange fires and gruesome murders test the sleuth's investigative...