Mystery & Detective / Historical / English literature / American and Canadian literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Origin

Delete American and Canadian literature

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (389)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (4)

Italian (28)

 

Protection

All (389)

DRM Free (45)

DRM (342)

More options

Jane and the Man of the Cloth: Being the Second Jane Austen Mystery

Jane Austen #2

by Stephanie Barron

For everyone who loves Jane Austen...the second tantalizing mystery in a new series that transforms the beloved author into a dazzling sleuth!

Jane and her family are looking forward to a peaceful holiday in...


A Murder at Rosamund's Gate

Lucy Campion #1

by Susanna Calkins

For Lucy Campion, a seventeenth-century English chambermaid serving in the household of the local magistrate, life is an endless repetition of polishing pewter, emptying chamber pots, and dealing with other...


Dark Road to Darjeeling

Lady Julia #4

by Deanna Raybourn

After eight idyllic months in the Mediterranean, Lady Julia Grey and her detective husband are ready to put their investigative talents to work once more. At the urging of Julia's eccentric family, they hurry...


The Tale of Applebeck Orchard

The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter #6

by Susan Albert

After his haystack was torched, Mr. Harmsworth barricaded a common path through his orchard. But witnesses-both human and animal-claim a ghost perpetrated the deed. And the ghost has a message that Miss Potter...


The Serpent on the Crown

Amelia Peabody #17

by Elizabeth Peters

Once again the incomparable New York Times bestselling master of suspense, Elizabeth Peters, brings an exotic world of adventure, intrigue, and danger to vivid life, in a tale as exciting, mysterious, and powerful...


Charlie Chan in The Pawns of Death

by Bill Pronzini, Jeffrey M. Wallmann & Earl Derr Biggers

"Checkmate!" That was the last word uttered to Charlie Chan and Prefect of Police Claude DeBevre by a dying reporter. The man had been murdered . . . stabbed to death and left to die in a vacant hotel room....


December's Thorn

Fever Devilin #7

by Phillip Depoy

"December's thorn, cruelest in the wood, Will give no rose, but still draw blood" Traditional

Fever Devilin is an academic with a complicated past and an unusual view of the world. A folklorist by training,...


Murder in the Afternoon

Kate Shackleton #3

by Frances Brody

An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine in Murder in the Afternoon, an absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear...


Heirs of the Body

Daisy Dalrymple #21

by Carola Dunn

The Daisy Dalrymple series continues in Heirs of the Body—when one of four potential claimants to the title of Lord Dalrymple dies a sudden, nasty death, the question on everyone’s mind is, “was it murder”?...


The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Bronte

The Secret Adventures of Charlotte Brontë #1

by Laura Joh Rowland

Now in paperback, the March 2008 Book Sense Pick by beloved author Laura Joh Rowland

Laura Joh Rowland's samurai detective novels have enthralled tens of thousands of readers. Now the author turns her gifts...


Behind the Shattered Glass

Lady Emily #8

by Tasha Alexander

A ruined abbey on a beautiful estate in Derbyshire, a murdered peer, and a most unlikely romance make New York Times bestseller Tasha Alexander’s new novel Behind the Shattered Glass absolutely irresistible...


The Tale of Oat Cake Crag

The Cottage Tales of Beatrix Potter #7

by Susan Albert

Miss Beatrix Potter has returned to Near Sawrey, where her friend Grace has been receiving anonymous letters that threaten her good name and her plans to marry. Beatrix must investigate quietly so as not to...


The Shogun's Daughter

Sano Ichiro #17

by Laura Joh Rowland

Japan, 1704.  In an elegant mansion a young woman named Tsuruhime lies on her deathbed, attended by her nurse.  Smallpox pustules cover her face.  Incense burns, to banish the evil spirits of disease. After...


A Play of Dux Moraud

Joliffe The Player #2

by Margaret Frazer

Performing at the wedding of Sir Edmund Deneby's daughter, the player Joliffe has another task to perform—as a spy. As he uncovers the secrets of the Denebys' sordid history, it becomes clear that this wedding...


Jane and the Wandering Eye: Being the Third Jane Austen Mystery

Jane Austen #3

by Stephanie Barron

As Christmas of 1804 approaches, Jane Austen finds herself "insupportably bored with Bath, and the littleness of a town." It is with relief that she accepts a peculiar commission from her Gentleman Rogue, Lord...


Jane and the Stillroom Maid: Being the Fifth Jane Austen Mystery

Jane Austen #5

by Stephanie Barron

Jane Austen as sleuth continues to delight in her latest adventure (after Jane and the Genius of the Place), which sheds new light on the author's travels in 1806. While enjoying a ramble in the Derbyshire hills...


Graveyard Dust: A Novel of Suspense

The Benjamin January Mysteries #3

by Barbara Hambly

Bestselling author Barbara Hambly's A Free Man of Color and Fever Season established Benjamin January as one of mystery's most exciting heroes. Now he returns in a powerful new novel, a sensual mosaic of old...


A Medal for Murder

Kate Shackleton #2

by Frances Brody

“Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs… They make excellent heroines.”  --Literary Review

Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus Reviews), picks up a case that takes...


Death in the Floating City

Lady Emily #7

by Tasha Alexander

The Huffington Post calls Tears of Pearl author Tasha Alexander "one to watch—and read" and her new Lady Emily mystery set in Venice proves it!  Years ago, Emily's childhood nemesis, Emma Callum, scandalized...


The Incense Game

Sano Ichiro #16

by Laura Joh Rowland

Winner of RT Magazine's Reviewers' Choice Award for Best Historical Mystery

In the wake of a terrifying earthquake, Sano Ichirō races to solve a crime that could bring down the shogun's regime

When a massive...