Mystery & Detective / Historical

Best Selling / Page 36

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (1257)

French (25)

German (24)

Spanish (144)

Italian (155)

 

Protection

All (1257)

DRM Free (148)

DRM (1083)

More options

SPQR I: The Kings Gambit

SPQR #1

by John Maddox Roberts

Blackmail, corruption, treachery, murder--the glory that was Rome.

In this Edgar Award-nominated mystery, John Maddox Roberts takes readers back to a Rome filled with violence and evil. Vicious gangs ruled the...


Whispers of the Dead

Sister Fidelma #14

by Peter Tremayne

Fidelma of Cashel - sister to the King of Muman, a religieuse of the Celtic Church and an advocate of the Brehon courts - returns in this new collection of fifteen tales. These stories of murder, mayhem, and...


Hemlock at Vespers

Sister Fidelma #10

by Peter Tremayne

Sister Fidelma-an Eognacht princess and sister to the king of Cashel, a religieuse of the Celtic Church and an advocate of the Brehornn court-is one of the most interesting and compelling figures in contemporary...


The Concubine's Tattoo

Sano Ichiro #4

by Laura Joh Rowland

A richly crafted novel set in seventeenth-century Japan, The Concubine's Tattoo unfolds with all the excitement of a superb murder mystery and a sweeping, sensuous portrait of an exotic land. Sano Ichiro, the...


Catilina's Riddle

Novels of Ancient Rome #3

by Steven Saylor

"Saylor rivals Robert Graves in his knack for making the classical world come alive." --(ortland) Oregonian "Engrossing...Ironic and satisfying." -- San Francisco Chronicle The third in Saylor's Roma Sub Rosa...


SPQR VIII: The River God's Vengeance

SPQR #8

by John Maddox Roberts

Ancient Rome, in this accurate and evocative series, is just as politics driven as any major American city -- possibly even more. Decius Caecilius Metellus has, through a series of rather wild adventure, and...


Blood Lance

Crispin Guest #5

by Jeri Westerson

"Among the most courageous and compelling protagonists at work in fictional detection." —Richmond Times-Dispatch  Crispin Guest, returning home after a late night, sees a body hurtling from the uppermost...


Death on Telegraph Hill

Sarah Woolson #5

by Shirley Tallman

“Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…that will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.” —Library Journal  

San Francisco, 1882. After enjoying...


Come the Fear

by Chris Nickson

With the discovery of a young woman's charred and blackened body, Richard Nottingham tackles his most disturbing case yet March, 1733. Fire rages through an empty house in a rundown area of Leeds, but the investigation...


Louise's Gamble

by Sarah R Shaber

Young widow Louise Pearlie becomes embroiled in a perilous game of mafia bosses, Nazi spies and banished royalty in this wartime novel of suspense - 1942, Washington DC. Young widow Louise Pearlie is now a chief...


September Song

Tony Gerard #2

by Colin Murray

Set in 1950s' London, the gripping new Tony Gerard thriller - Reluctant jazz-loving sleuth Tony Gerard's laid-back lifestyle is dealt a major blow when he receives three separate requests to track down three...


A Christmas Garland: A Novel

Christmas Stories #10

by Anne Perry

“An annual treat,” declared The Wall Street Journal of Anne Perry’s Victorian-era holiday mysteries. Now she continues this magnificent tradition with A Christmas Garland, a yuletide tale set in exotic...


Sherlock Holmes

by Michael Kurland

In 1891, Sherlock Holmes in a struggle with his arch-enemy, the Napoleon of Crime, Professor James Moriarty, plunged with him over the Reichenbach Falls to his inevitable death. All of England - indeed the entire...


Bone Walker

Anasazi Mysteries #3

by Kathleen O'Neal Gear & W. Michael Gear

W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O'Neal Gear, award-winning archaeologists and international bestselling authors, break extraordinary new ground in the riveting sequal to their bestselling The Summoning God. Bone...


A Death in the Venetian Quarter

Fools' Guild #3

by Alan Gordon

In 1203, the relative peace of the Byzantine Empire is imperiled when the ships of the Fourth Crusade show up outside the walls of Constantinople. Instead of traveling to the Holy Land to battle the infidels,...


My Lady Judge

Burren Mysteries #1

by Cora Harrison

In the sixteenth century, as it is now, the Burren, on the western seaboard of Ireland, was a land of gray stone forts, fields of rich green grass, and swirling mountain terraces. It was also home to an independent...


The Sting of Justice

Burren Mysteries #3

by Cora Harrison

“Once again, Cora Harrison brings sixteenth-century Ireland beautifully to life and her Brehon detective, Mara, is a fantastic protagonist—an absolute one-off and yet refreshingly real.” —The Historical...


A Secret and Unlawful Killing

Burren Mysteries #2

by Cora Harrison

It is 1509 and, for the people of the Burren in western Ireland, the Michaelmas Fair is a joyous time for trade and celebration, signaling the start of autumn. It’s a chance to gather, buy and sell their...


Spies

Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize 2002, Whitbread Book Award for Novel 2002

by Michael Frayn

From the bestselling author of Headlong, a mesmerizing novel about secrecy, imagination, and a child's game turned deadly earnest

The sudden trace of a disturbing, forgotten aroma compels Stephen Wheatley to...


The Lincoln Letter

Peter Fallon #5

by William Martin

Treasure hunters Peter Fallon and Evangeline Carrington are heading for adventure in Washington D.C., the sleek, modern, power-hungry capital of America...and the crowded, muddy, intrigue-filled nexus of the...