Mystery & Detective / Historical

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (1079)

French (64)

German (326)

Spanish (262)

Italian (246)

 

Category

Delete Historical

 

Protection

All (1079)

DRM Free (254)

DRM (825)

More options

Morbus Dei: The Arrival

by Bastian Zach & Matthias Bauer

VOLUME 1 OF THE HIGHLY GRIPPING MORBUS DEI-TRILOGY Getting caught in a snowstorm, deserter Johann List ends up in a secluded mountain village ridden by fear and superstition. Soon he realises that there is something...


Pilgrimage of Murder: A Medieval Mystery set in 14th Century London

The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan #17

by Paul Doherty

1381. The Great Revolt was crushed; the king's peace enforced. Brother Athelstan prepares for a pilgrimage, but he is summoned to the scene of a triple murder. One victim was John of Gaunt. Was this an act of...


Morbus Dei: The Sign of Aries

by Bastian Zach & Matthias Bauer

A PERFECT FINALE TO THE MORBUS DEI-TRILOGY Austria, 1704: The young woman Elisabeth is trapped in the hands of the French general Gamelin who pursues dark plans - plans that not only endanger her, but also the...


Morbus Dei: Inferno

by Bastian Zach & Matthias Bauer

INFERNO: VOLUME 2 OF THE MORBUS DEI-TRILOGY Tyrol in 1704: Johann and Elisabeth flee from the eerie mountain village and beat their way to Vienna. Due to snow, icy cold and dangerous bandits their journey is...


The Strange Case Of Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Hyde

by Robert Louis Stevenson

The book which put Stevenson's name in the mouth of the ' man in the street,' lifted him at a single bound to a place among men of the time and, by the still greater sensation which it created in America, led...


A Pattern of Lies

Bess Crawford #7

by Charles Todd

A horrific explosion at a gunpowder mill sends Bess Crawford to war-torn France to keep a deadly pattern of lies from leading to more deaths, in this compelling and atmospheric mystery from the New York Times...


The Iris Fan

Sano Ichiro #18

by Laura Joh Rowland

Japan, 1709. The shogun is old and ailing. Amid the ever-treacherous intrigue in the court, Sano Ichiro has been demoted from chamberlain to a lowly patrol guard. His relationship with his wife Reiko is in tatters,...


The Book of Fires

The Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan #14

by Paul Doherty

February, 1381. Brother Athelstan has been ordered to track down a ruthless killer known as the Fire Bringer. He appears to be targeting all involved in the recent trial and conviction of the beautiful Lady...


A Deadly Measure of Brimstone

Dandy Gilver #8

by Catriona McPherson

Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha...


Murder in the Holy City

by Simon Beaufort

In 1097 the Pope appealed to all virtuous and God-fearing men to join the Crusade to wrest Jerusalem from the Infidel. But by 1100, Sir Geoffrey Mappestone is one of the few knights who have survived the harrowing...


To Kill The Pope: An Ecclesiastical Thriller

by Tad Szulc

From the author of Pope John Paul II: A Biography comes a chillingly authentic conspiracy thriller based on actual, never-before-revealed facts surrounding the assassination attempt against Pope John Paul II....


The Laws of Murder

Charles Lenox #8

by Charles Finch

It's 1876, and Charles Lenox, once London's leading private investigator, has just given up his seat in Parliament after six years, primed to return to his first love, detection. With high hopes he and three...


Crimson Angel: A Benjamin January historical mystery set in New Orleans and Haiti

by Barbara Hambly

1838. When Jefferson Vitrack - the white half-brother of Benjamin January's wife - claims to have found the whereabouts of the family's lost treasure, January refuses to help look for it. For the treasure lies...


Gods of Gold: A new police procedural series set in late nineteenth century Leeds

by Chris Nickson

June, 1890. The gas workers are on strike and Leeds is close to breaking point. Detective Inspector Tom Harper is more concerned with the disappearance of 8-year-old Martha Parkinson. Then he discovers that...


The Firebird's Feather: A historical mystery set in late Edwardian London

by Marjorie Eccles

May 1911. When Lydia Challoner is shot dead while out riding in Hyde Park, her 18-year-old daughter Kitty determines to find out the truth about her murder. Kitty is about to discover that there was so much...


Murder at the Chase: A locked room mystery set in 1950s England

by Eric Brown

July, 1955. Fellow writer Alastair Endicott has requested Donald Langham's help in discovering what happened to his father Edward, who has disappeared without trace from inside his locked study. The elder Endicott...


The Lodger

by Marie Belloc Lowndes

"One of the best suspense novels ever written." — The New York Times

"This is a beautifully wrought novel of psychological suspense that should have a place on any mystery buff's shelf of classics." — Chicago...


The Black Hand: A Barker & Llewelyn Novel

Barker & Llewelyn #5

by Will Thomas

When an Italian assassin's body is found floating in a barrel in Victorian London's East End, enquiry agent Cyrus Barker and his assistant Thomas Llewelyn are called in to investigate. Soon corpses begin to...


Cattle Kate

by Jana Bommersbach

Cattle Kate is the only woman ever lynched as a cattle rustler. History called it "range land justice" when she was strung up in Wyoming Territory on July 20, 1889, tarring her as a dirty thief and a filthy...


Death in the Peerless Pool

by Deryn Lake

John Rawlings' relaxing day is shattered by the discovery of a drowned woman. The victim, who worked at St Luke's asylum for the insane, has a colourful past, which is connected in some way to the mysterious...