Short Stories / English literature / British literature

Best Selling

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

New & Noteworthy

Best Selling

New Releases

Our Selection

Awards

 

Language

English (18)

French (1)

German (0)

Spanish (36)

Italian (1)

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

Delete British literature

 

Audience

Adult (18)

 

Protection

All (18)

DRM Free (0)

DRM (18)

More options

Angel Maker

by Sara Maitland

Women's lives are at the center of this stunning collection of short stories by the writer The New Yorker says "provides unexpected delights....Questions and answers alike shine with intelligence and an almost...


The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher

by Hilary Mantel

The New York Times bestselling collection, from the Man Booker prize-winner for Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, that has been called "scintillating" (New York Times Books Review), "breathtaking" (NPR), "exquisite"...


The Beautiful Indifference

Portico Prize for Fiction 2012

by Sarah Hall

Winner of the Portico Prize

Winner of the Edge Hill University Short Story Prize

Short-listed for the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award

Sarah Hall has been hailed as "one of the most significant and...


Mothers

by Chris Power

An “extraordinary” (The Sunday Times) debut of unnerving beauty, Chris Power’s short story collection Mothers evokes the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose.

Chris Power’s stories...


Darker With the Lights On

by David Hayden

•For readers of Joanna Walsh, Eimear McBride, Max Porter, and Ben Lerner, these fictions are gorgeously written and the mark of a huge new talent. Hayden subverts the form into his own genre of storytelling....


The Pre-War House and Other Stories

by Alison Moore

From the Man Booker shortlisted author of The Lighthouse comes this uncanny collection of short fiction about the unhomeliness of home: fractured families, domestic claustrophobia, and the unseen menace of the...


The People on Privilege Hill

by Jane Gardam

A new collection of stories from a writer at the height of her powers—a celebrated stylist admired for her caustic humor, freewheeling imagination, love of humanity and wicked powers of observation. This is...


The Unmapped Country: Stories and Fragments

by Ann Quin & Jennifer Hodgson

This new collection of rare and unpublished writing by the cult 1960s author Ann Quin explores the risks and seductions of going over the edge. The stories cut an alternative path across innovative twentieth-century...


That Was a Shiver, and Other Stories

by James Kelman

A trucker passes through a town he used to know and a local tries to sell him his sister; a couple put their children to bed and hear a loud scratching at the wall; a Principal and his associate examine the...


Property

by Lionel Shriver

A striking new collection of ten short stories and two novellas that explores the idea of property in every meaning of the word, from the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award...


Fen

by Daisy Johnson

A singular debut that “marks the emergence of a great, stomping, wall-knocking talent” (Kevin Barry)

Daisy Johnson’s Fen, set in the fenlands of England, transmutes the flat, uncanny landscape into a rich,...


The Vanishing Princess

by Jenny Diski

The only story collection from the beloved Jenny Diski—darkly funny, subversive, sexy, and eccentric tales from one of the most original and intelligent voices of our time

 

“Mordant and talon-sharp.” —Dwight...


Madame Zero

by Sarah Hall

From one of the most accomplished British writers working today, the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of The Wolf Border, comes a unique and arresting collection of short fiction that is both disturbing and...


All That Man Is

Gordon Burn Prize 2016

by David Szalay

Finalist for the 2016 Man Booker Prize

Winner of the 2016 Paris Review Plimpton Prize for Fiction

A magnificent and ambitiously conceived portrait of contemporary life, by a genius of realism

Nine men. Each of...


Bad Dreams and Other Stories

by Tessa Hadley

Winner of the Edge Hill Short Story Prize

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

An NPR Best Book of the Year

The award-winning author of The Past once again "crystallizes the atmosphere of ordinary life in...


The Lady in the Van

by Alan Bennett & Nicholas Hytner

The screenplay edition of the major motion picture adaptation, starring Maggie Smith, of Alan Bennett's acclaimed story "The Lady in the Van"

From acclaimed author and playwright Alan Bennett, whose smash hit...


Don't Try This at Home

by Angela Readman

A girl repeatedly chops her boyfriend in half but, while her "??other half"?? multiplies, she is still not satisfied. Love transforms a mother working down the chippie "?? into Elvis. Clary"??s father puts antlers...


The Grandmothers

by Doris Lessing

In the title novel, two friends fall in love with each other's teenage sons, and these passions last for years, until the women end them, vowing a respectable old age. In Victoria and the Staveneys, a young...