Short Stories

Best Selling / Page 49

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

English (301)

Asian (15)

Hispanophone (10)

Nordic (7)

Middle eastern (5)

Francophone (4)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (4)

Germanophone (3)

Slavic (3)

Italian (2)

African (1)

Lusophone (1)

Greek (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (2442)

French (735)

German (55)

Spanish (188)

Italian (96)

 

Protection

All (2442)

DRM Free (122)

DRM (2313)

More options

The Stories of Paul Bowles

by Paul Bowles

The short fiction of American literary cult figure Paul Bowles is marked by a unique, delicately spare style, and a dark, rich, exotic mood, by turns chilling, ironic, and wry—possessing a symmetry between...


The Stories of Richard Bausch

by Richard Bausch

A 2004 PEN/Malamud Award winner, this collection celebrates the work of American artist Richard Bausch -- a writer the New York Times calls "a master of the short story." By turns tender, raw, heartbreaking,...


King and Queen of the Universe

by Kurt Vonnegut

Look at the Birdie is a collection of fourteen previously unpublished short stories from one of the most original writers in all of American fiction. In this series of perfectly rendered vignettes, written just...


Little Drops of Water

by Kurt Vonnegut

Look at the Birdie is a collection of fourteen previously unpublished short stories from one of the most original writers in all of American fiction. In this series of perfectly rendered vignettes, written just...


The Nice Little People

by Kurt Vonnegut

 

Look at the Birdie is a collection of fourteen previously unpublished short stories from one of the most original writers in all of American fiction. In this series of perfectly rendered vignettes, written...


Byzantium

by Ben Stroud

Winner of the Bakeless Prize for Fiction, an imaginative debut that ranges from Havana to Berlin* A Kansas City Star Best Book of the Year * One of Publishers Weekly's "Best Summer Books"*

Ancient cities and...


The Helper

by Rekha Ambardar

Evan Lavigne has his hands full being a single parent to his young son and daughter, plus dealing with life after his wife, Tessa, drowns in the lake near their cottage. As if out of nowhere, a mysterious young...


Loverboys

by Ana Castillo

"Seductive ... full of infectious vigor ... these stories demand, above all, to be listened to."-New York Times Book ReviewFrom Ana Castillo, the widely praised author of So Far from God and The Guardians, comes...


Sourland: Stories

by Joyce Carol Oates

A gripping and moving new collection of stories that reimagines the meaning of loss—through often unexpected and violent means.

Joyce Carol Oates is not only one of our most important novelists and literary...


The John Fante Reader

by John Fante & Stephen Cooper

It's not every day that a writer, almost unheard of in his lifetime, emerges twenty years after his death as a voice of his generation. But then again, there aren't many writers with such irrepressible genius...


The Oranging of America

by Max Apple

It was my fascination itself with the English language that made me a writer," Apple wrote in an essay for the New York Times Book Review. Its endless suggestiveness has carried me through many a plot, entertained...


Marriage at Antibes: Stories

by Carol Azadeh

'The Country Road' moves heartbreakingly through the days of Cathy, a lonely eight-year-old in a Northern Ireland populated by her elderly neighbours and the vague menace of the security forces. In 'Bronagh',...


Death of a King

by Seamus deFaoite

A gypsy king dies, and a group of villagers seek to save him from the dishonour of a pauper's grave. The dispute over the inheritance of a well-field becomes a struggle between the 'old stock' and the 'new people'...


Heart Wrenching Crossroads

by Shailesh J. Khatri

This book has 3 short stories. One short story deals with an honest public official in a decadent society who is out to make him dishonest. Another story makes mockery of our educational system and the last...


The End of the Straight and Narrow: Stories

by David McGlynn

This debut collection received critical acclaim and is now available for the first time in trade paper. The stories in The End of the Straight and Narrow take on the inner lives of the zealous, their passions...


The Most Interesting Stories of All Nations

by Julian Hawthorne

It happened in winter, just before the holidays. Ivan Feodorovitch Lobnitchenko, the lawyer, whose office is in one of the main streets of St. Petersburg, was called hurriedly to witness the last will and testament...


What Purpose Did I Serve in Your Life

by Marie Calloway

By the author of "Adrien Brody," the controversial Internet piece, Marie Calloway effaces the boundary between life and narrative.


Transparency: Stories

by Frances Hwang

With a deceptively simple yet graceful style, and in the tradition of Lara Vapnyar, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Gish Jen, Frances Hwang captures the thousand minor battles waged in the homes of immigrants--struggles...


Shout About It from the Housetops

by Kurt Vonnegut

Look at the Birdie is a collection of fourteen previously unpublished short stories from one of the most original writers in all of American fiction. In this series of perfectly rendered vignettes, written just...


The Condimental Op

by Andrez Bergen

Noir, surrealism, comicbook asides and dystopian, hardboiled moments collide with snapshots of contemporary culture in Andrez Bergen's bag of tricks.