Short Stories

Best Selling / Page 76

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

English (265)

Asian (15)

Hispanophone (11)

Nordic (7)

Middle eastern (5)

Germanophone (4)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (4)

Francophone (4)

Slavic (3)

Italian (2)

Lusophone (1)

Greek (1)

African (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (1865)

French (574)

German (34)

Spanish (416)

Italian (20)

 

Protection

All (1865)

DRM Free (37)

DRM (1827)

More options

Wound Ballistics

by Steven Manners

The short stories in Wound Ballistics explore the shifting psychology of men and women in their efforts to communicate. In Telescope, an anonymous narrator pulls back the curtain on an elaborate fantasy of revenge....


We, the Children of Cats

by Tomoyuki Hoshino

By turns teasing and terrifying, laconic and luminous, the stories in this anthology are drawn from sources as diverse as Borges, Nabokov, Garcia-Marquez, and traditional Japanese folklore, and yet they ultimately...


Battleborn

Dylan Thomas Prize 2013, Story Prize 2012

by Claire Vaye Watkins

Winner of the 2012 Story Prize

Recipient of the 2012 American Academy of Arts and Letters Rosenthal Foundation Award

A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" fiction writer of 2012

Like the work of Cormac McCarthy,...


Agnes Owens: The Complete Short Stories

by Agnes Owens

’A terrific collection,’ - The Times ’Her black humour and piercing observation bear comparison with the work of Muriel Spark,’ - Guardian ’It’s almost impossible to pick up this substantial collection...


Love and Hydrogen: New and Selected Stories

by Jim Shepard

I’ve been a problem baby, a lousy son, a distant brother, an off-putting neighbor, a piss-poor student, a worrisome seatmate, an unreliable employee, a bewildering lover, a frustrating confidante and a crappy...


A Thousand Years of Good Prayers: Stories

Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award 2006, Guardian First Book Award 2006, Frank O'Connor Short Story Award 2005

by Yiyun Li

Brilliant and original, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers introduces a remarkable new writer whose breathtaking stories are set in China and among Chinese Americans in the United States. In this rich, astonishing...


Repeat This and You're Dead

by Lawrence Russell

With gritty and unforgiving realism, these "short short stories" cast a harsh eye on the Ireland of the last half of this century.


Tales

by Edgar Allan Allan Poe

Tales, by Edgar Allan Poe, is a collection of twenty-five stories from the literary father of the mysterious and the macabre. These individual pieces, which include 'The Fall of the House of Usher'. And 'Silence:...


Things that Fall from the Sky

by Kevin Brockmeier

Weaving together loss and anxiety with fantastic elements and literary sleight-of-hand, Kevin Brockmeier’s richly imagined Things That Fall from the Sky views the nagging realities of the world through a hopeful...


Video: Stories

by Meera Nair

The ten exquisitely crafted stories in Video introduce a gifted new writer whose straight-forward, elegant prose and bewitching storytelling talent combine in brilliant miniatures of contemporary Indian life....


Sorry Please Thank You: Stories

by Charles Yu

The author of the widely praised debut novel How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe returns with a hilarious, heartbreaking, and utterly original collection of short stories.

 

A big-box store employee...


The Darts of Cupid: Stories

by Edith Templeton

When Edith Templeton’s stories began appearing in The New Yorker in the late 1950s, she quickly became a favorite of the magazine’s discerning readers. Her finely honed writing, honestly drawn heroines,...


The First Paper Girl in Red Oak, Iowa: Stories

by Elizabeth Stuckey-French

With the stories in her first collection, Elizabeth Stuckey-French establishes herself as a smart new voice in American fiction and stakes her claim to a territory somewhere on the edge of stability, where normal...


A Song for Nettie Johnson

Governor General's Award for Fiction 2002

by Gloria Sawai

In her stunning, Governor-General's-Award-winning debut collection of short stories, Gloria Sawai examines the heartbreaking lives of people on the margins.


The Early Stories: 1953-1975

PEN/Faulkner Award 2004

by John Updike

Winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

 

A harvest and not a winnowing, this volume collects 103 stories, almost all of the short fiction that John Updike wrote between 1953 and 1975. “How rarely it...


Sister Crazy

by Emma Richler

The sprawling Weiss family--as recalled by Jemima, the middle child in Emma Richler’s amazing debut--live an almost idyllic existence. The feeling among the siblings is so palpable that we cannot help but...


Strange People, Scary People

by Tally Harbour

Strange People, Scary People, is a collection of fourteen tales of terror and horror: the two aspects for which strange and scary people are famous. In its bowels, you will read of a strange, witch-like woman...


Animal Crackers

by Hannah Tinti

With bravura storytelling, daring imagination, and fierce narrative control, this dazzling debut introduces that rare writer who finds humanity in our most unconventional behavior, and the humor beneath our...


Flights of Love: Stories

by Bernhard Schlink

Bernhard Schlink brings to these seven superbly crafted stories the same sleek concision and moral acuity that made The Reader an international bestseller. His characters–men with importunate appetites and...


Dead Certain

by Mariah Stewart

From New York Times bestselling author Mariah Stewart comes a novel of sexy romantic suspense for fans of Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Karen Robards.

Three devious prisoners vow murderous revenge. Now...