Short Stories

Best Selling / Page 8

icon Subscribe to feed

Browse

Best Selling

New Releases

Our selection

Awards

 

Category

Delete Short Stories

 

Origin

English (284)

Asian (15)

Hispanophone (11)

Nordic (7)

Middle eastern (5)

Australian, pacific, oceanian and polynesian (4)

Germanophone (4)

Francophone (4)

Slavic (4)

Italian (3)

Greek (1)

Lusophone (1)

African (1)

 

Price

All

Free

Below $ 5

$ 5 - $ 10

$ 10 - $ 15

Delete Price range

From :
To :
OK

 

Language

English (1927)

French (581)

German (22)

Spanish (439)

Italian (24)

 

Protection

All (1927)

DRM Free (49)

DRM (1877)

More options

All the Anxious Girls on Earth: Stories

by Zsuzsi Gartner

All the Anxious Girls on Earth marks the debut of a startingly original literary voice. Zsuzsi Gartner's exuberant prose gives voice to unforgettable characters who survive by their wits as they cope with indifferent...


The Hidden Light of Objects

by Mai Al-Nakib

For fans of Alice Munro and Lorrie Moore.

A young girl, renamed Amerika in honour of the US role in the liberation of Kuwait, finds her name has become a barometer of her country's growing hostility towards the...


The Great Frustration: Stories

by Seth Fried

Channeling Steven Millhauser by way of George Saunders, The Great Frustration is a sparkling debut, equal parts fable and wry satire. Seth Fried balances the dark—a town besieged, a yearly massacre, the harem...


You Are My Heart and Other Stories

by Jay Neugeboren

A vibrant collection of deeply intelligent stories from "one of our most honored writers of literary fiction."


"In the Days of Serfdom" and Other Stories

by Leo Tolstoy, Louise Maude & Aylmer Maude

"In the Days of Serfdom" and Other Stories presents in miniature themes developed in Tolstoy's longer works. All the stories are compelling reading, but because of their general unavailability, they have been...


American Blues

by Evan Guilford-Blake

The Blues are rooted in the American mind and soul. Each era has its own, and each is both the same and different, just like the people who know them, and play them, and live them. Here are five powerful stories...


Something Was There...

by Hachette UK Various Authors

The latest stunning collection of short stories, including the winning entry of the 2011 Asham Short Stories Award, which was set up 1995 to encourage and promote new writing. It is the only short story competition...


A Careless Widow and Other Stories

by V.S. Pritchett

First published in 1989, here is England's leading man of letters-as old as the century-at the height of his powers, the incomparable V. S. Pritchett, whose brilliantly observed short stories have become classics...


Monday Lunch in Fairyland and Other Stories

by Angela Huth

This is a sparkling collection of short stories, dealing with love, loss and the tiny happenings that make up our everyday experience. Her most brilliant stories are about successful couples who own comfortable...


Another Kind of Cinderella and Other Stories

by Angela Huth

First published in 1996, this collection of stories tells of the ghost of a doomed romance haunting an Oxford undergraduate's idyllic summer affair; a tragedy of hopeless love and murderous frustration is played...


Bloodstock and Other Stories

by Margaret Irwin

First published in 1953, the first five stories in this collection are stories from Ireland, exploring the dark history of the country and the dogged optimism of its people.

The following four tales are of the...


My Place in the Bazaar

by Alec Waugh

First published in 1961, this collection of Thirteen stories has been compiled as Alec Waugh looked back over his career as an author, and takes from his writing those which he feels are amongst his most personal...


Late Night on Watling Street

by Bill Naughton

In this collection of stories, Bill Naughton portrays a selection of characters, including truck drivers, Irish itinerants and lamp lighters, in his inimitable pithy style. While each tale can be enjoyed on...


No Love Lost

by Margery Allingham

Comprising of two short novellas, The Patient at Peacock’s Hall and Safer than Love, No Love Lost is a thrilling work of suspense.

In The Patient at Peacock’s Hall a young female doctor, struggling to save...


Rattling to Ramsey: Isle of Man Short Stories

by Judith C Davis

Humour, character and dogged determination shine out from the characters in this mixed medley of short fiction set on the Isle of Man. Romantic, thought provoking and moving, this collection is a must for all...


Climbing to Cregneash: Isle of Man Short Stories

by Judith C Davis

Humour, character and dogged determination shine out from the characters in this mixed medley of short fiction set on the Isle of Man. Romantic, thought provoking and moving, this collection is a must for all...


Ocean of Words: Stories

by Ha Jin

Winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award

The place is the chilly border between Russia and China. The time is the early 1970s when the two giants were poised on the brink of war. And the characters in this thrilling...


The Celestial Omnibus and Other Tales

by E.M. Forster

This compilation of short stories by one of the twentieth century's preeminent authors spotlights journal and magazine fiction from 1900 to 1911. These early tales exhibit the first traces of E. M. Forster's...


The Gurkha's Daughter

by Prajwal Parajuly

A number one bestseller in India and a shortlisted nomination for the Dylan Thomas Prize, The Gurkha's Daughter is a distinctive debut from a rising star in South Asian literature. This collection of stories...


Hotel of the Saints

by Ursula Hegi

The bestselling author of Stones from the River and The Vision of Emma Blau renews her reputation as an extraordinary writer of short stories in this major collection that balances her reader on the magical...